We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch outdoor”
Review of The Middle House

The Middle House
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Mayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice lunch outdoor”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

After a hike in the surrounding countryside , we stop there for a plough and lunch . It was very good crisp salad , tasty chutney , nice assortment of cheese and freshly baked bread . All for a very reasonable price , especially fir this quality of food .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    56
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice old building and friendly place”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The menu has a larger selection than you would expect. Seems to attract many local people, has a friendly atmosphere.
The food is good, it was very busy so we had to wait a little.
Nice place

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Went with friends recently. Wonderful old Tudor building. Staff very friendly and down to earth. Good choice of food. They 2 guys had kangaroo and the girls had lamb and sole. All very well cooked. Big portions so I was glad I didn't have a starter. Dessert was yummy. Definitely not a tourist trap and I would de commend it to anyone visiting the area

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had the best Sunday lunch ever here. The staff were friendly and the food amazing. Can't wait to go back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KnysnaGregorys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine rural Sussex pub”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I've never eaten here, but enjoyed a pint of Harvey's Sussex ale a few times. Good atmosphere, nice staff. Excellent location in the middle of Mayfield high street; you get the feeling the village was once a much more important place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Middle House also viewed

 
Mayfield, East Sussex
Burwash, East Sussex
 
Mark Cross, East Sussex
 

Been to The Middle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing