We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great one day, average the next” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brewers Fayre Drove

Brewers Fayre Drove
Ranked #22 of 34 Restaurants in Newhaven
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
in the wrong country
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great one day, average the next”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

First off, my parents love this place. They get on great with the staff especially a couple of them ad they always choose to come here. Personally I have found it great on some occasions and just average on others. The desserts are always lovely though. We did love the shared brownie/ice cream dessert in particular. Its great having a self serve soft drink and hot drink machines. Can get very crowded at times. There is a kids play area so you get a lot of mothers with their kids at times. I was there once when they had an emergency with a child having a fit and the staff dealt with it brilliantly. They always try to accomodate with requests on seating areas. The only real downside I have found several times is with the blond spiky haired woman working behind the bar. She could do with a serious attitude adjustment and maybe a smile once in a while as she comes across as quite aggressive, especially when they have so many nice, chatty staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carkedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    90
    108
    58
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newhaven
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fish and chip meal.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We went to Brewers fare for their fish and chip night.I was very disappointed.On the menu it shows a large portion of fish.They don't do it in the buffet.All they do is fish bites which are various types of fish in small pieces.They got our drinks order confused and the sweets were originally wrong.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greenynewhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Poor quality food and service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Arrived: got a table straight away. Curry night! Yum! But not! Greasy pupadoms, rock hard nann, cold curry. Mentioned to two staff I was not overly impressed, but got little response. Have put in formal complaint now to Brewer's Fayre. Wonder if I'll get a response from them?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewJHarvey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will not be going back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have used The Drove on a few occasions before as we live in the area and often have family stay at the Premier Inn, and this pub is convenient. We arrived at only 6.30pm to be told that the carvery had run out and there were several menu options which were not available. The lasagne I then ordered arrived and was stone cold in the middle and watery around the edges - I suspect it had been brought out of the fridge and simply microwaved for 3 minutes. When my partner complained, a sullen waitress offered to microwave it again, and when he asked for a fresh lasagne he was told "ok but it'll take a while".
By the time it arrived the rest of my party had finished their meals and no offer of a refund was made, and the manager never apologised. Then we waited a full 25 minutes for our dinner plates to be cleared.
Overall the staff were disinterested and unhelpful, and the food was sloppy. In the future we'll drive out to a rural pub with a better reputation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Oh Dear!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Came here for a family get together. Bad start with our pre booked table not being reserved, and went downhill from there really. Food was dreadful and we waited an age for it also! The staff were friendly and polite, but obviously at full stretch and under pressure, not their fault....bad management. This place needs a shake up.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hairnohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brewers Fayre Drove also viewed

Newhaven, East Sussex
Newhaven, East Sussex
 
Newhaven, East Sussex
Newhaven, East Sussex
 

Been to Brewers Fayre Drove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing