We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, homely cottage and a warm welcome”
Review of Barn Owls

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newhaven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barn Owls
Ranked #2 of 4 Newhaven B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 May 2013

My partner and I stayed in Barn Owls Cottage just last week. It is just off the main road between Newhaven and Seaford so handy for sight-seeing but very rural and peaceful once you arrive at the cottage. Gill, the owner is lovely and gave us a really friendly welcome and she had provided a basket of goodies and milk in the fridge which was a lovely touch and also provided us with some eggs from her chickens during the week. The accommodation was very cosy and homely, the kitchen and bathroom all you could ask for, and the bed very comfortable. There was also a nice little sitting-out area with views over the countryside and there are footpaths right from the front door. We will definitely be back if we want to return to the area....... and thoroughly recommend this or one of Gill's other cottages or The Lodge B&B. Gill also provides overnight accommodation where possible to traveller's using the nearby Dieppe ferry. A wonderful week's stay, thank you so much Gill x

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZaksAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

Even though it was bitterly cold outside, to arrive "home" to The Lodge was a warm and welcoming experience. It's a lovely assortment of self-catering and B&B accommodations tucked away off the main road between Seaford and Newhaven so you're not so far from the larger cities of Eastbourne in one direction and Brighton in the other, but tucked away in the countryside.

Gill was amazing! Smily, accommodating and very kind. And she toasts a good crumpet too. Breakfast was a feast.

Should I find myself needing somewhere to stay in Newhaven again, Gill and The Lodge will be my first port of call!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BallyBlighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed in The Lodge and it was everything we hoped for. The room and furnishings were stylish, clean, and comfortable. We were a little worried that it would be cold but it was very warm and cozy, just as it seemed to be when we looked on the website. The bed was very comfortable and having breakfast delivered with a smile in the morning was just lovely. Breakfast was continental, with plenty of choice including fresh coffee and juice. Although it is just off the main road between Newhaven and Seaford, it is a very rural location. We were able to leave the car and catch a bus into Seaford, the bus stop is just outside the farm gate. The bus cost £1.50 and the cab back was about £6.

Seaford is a lovely seaside town with plenty of character. There is lots to do throughout the day and evening with a variety of restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

Been for our second stay to be near our daughter and this time she stayed with us
We were provided with a fold away bed and xtra bedding and had one of the loveliest stays ever with our two very welcome dogs
Will definitely return again next year
Lovely walks on doorstep and beach at Seaford where we caught makrel on the beach and barbe cued
Our dogs loved the lovely stan with his gentle nature
Thanks again guys

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed in Tawny Owls, a two-bedroom self-catering cottage. This is the best equipped cottage we've had in the UK - everything we needed was there. Plenty of space for us and our two under-fives, and we liked there being the lounge/kitchen between the double and twin room - just allows you a bit more privacy. My parents stayed in Barn Owls, which was equally well kitted out. Owners are lovely, and kindly left us a welcome basket with enough food for breakfast and some milk in the fridge, a nice touch.

Really well positioned between Brighton and Eastbourne. Newhaven itself is not much to write home about, but it's got a big supermarket just two minutes drive from the cottages, and the cottage itself is in a quiet and pretty location.

Notes for parents - not criticisms at all, but just to be aware - there is no carpet in the lounge/diner, so if like us, you have a baby and like them to have some time playing on the floor it will need to be in the bedroom rather than the lounge area. Also, they do allow dogs to stay, so be mindful if your children have a pet allergy.

If like us, you book on a rainy week, there is a really good leisure centre in Seaford which has softplay for under 10's during termtime, which is well worth checking out. Druisillas zoo and theme park is 20 minutes away, which our four year old thought was wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We were welcomed alongside our dogs when we came to visit our daughter who had recently moved to Brighton
We had a lovely stay and had best nights stay ever in a strange bed
Extremely comfortable
Dogs made very welcome and as a disabled traveller the barn was very easy for me to get around on my crutches
We will definitely stay again
Thanks guys for being so accomodating and friendly
Hope to return in February
Happy new year

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This B&B, although running alongside the main A259 between Newhaven and Seaford, is off the beaten track. Our room was a log cabin in the back garden and there was a warm welcome by the owners. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Lovely bedding and towels. Continental breakfast is provided which is ordered the day before and then brought to you in the cabin at the time requested which is a nice touch. Not over priced and would definitely stay again. Is ideal if catching the Newhaven Ferry and need somewhere to stay overnight.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SSidebotham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newhaven
0.0 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,813 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newhaven Lodge
Newhaven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Newhaven
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn Owls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Owls

Address: Foxhole Farm | Seaford Road, Newhaven, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newhaven
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newhaven
Also Known As:
Barn Owls Newhaven, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing