We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and Cyclist friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newhaven Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newhaven Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Newhaven B&B and Inns
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and Cyclist friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We arrived at Newhaven Lodge having cycled almost 70 miles en route to Paris via Newhaven/Dieppe ferry. It is easy to find, conveniently located (walking distance to the town centre and restaurants) and a quick cycle to the ferry terminal.

Annie made us very welcome and stored our bikes securely. Our en-suite rooms (on the top floor) were clean and comfortable, and the applicances (TV, kettle, hairdryer) all worked fine. We all had full english breakfast, it was good and very nicely presented - a great start to our trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    41
    26
    10
    27
See reviews for
33
41
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night as visiting area for family party. Grubby room, damp bathroom (not ensuite and we weren't made aware of this at booking) and unpleasant cooking smells throughout. Stained bedcover. TV had no BBC channels. Would not recommend.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newhaven hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Not the sort of place I would stay at, but had to get to a 50 birthday and Brighton was completely booked up that weekend.
The owner was very accommodating, you really could not fault her. The rooms are very small and the parking facility not very good, with very rude neighbours, who will come out and shout at you if you park anywhere near their area!
The rooms are really in need of updating and could be cleaner.
The breakfast was not nice at all. If you do go there, I suggest you stick to cereal and bring your own teabags!
If you got to their website don't be fooled by the pictures of the rooms, nothing like it at all.
Sorry to say, will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

After reading so many positive reviews for Newhaven Lodge on Tripadvisor, I really was expecting good things from this place, but having now stayed there once I can't say that I'll be rushing back.

First of all, the good points - the room was clean and comfortable and had everything you would need. The new people running the place seem friendly enough. That's about it, really. Oh, and the WiFi is free and works. And the location is very convenient for the ferry.

The rest is not so encouraging - the TV did not have any BBC channels, the decor could best be described as tired and old fashioned, the bathroom was cramped and slightly smelly, the breakfast was okay, no more. Our room was at the front on the ground floor and the traffic noise from the very busy road is quite terrible - ear plugs definitely required and even then there's only so much noise ear plugs and double glazing can keep out. Lack of parking is a bit of an issue, but I suppose that can't be helped.

Finally, the new people running the guesthouse were not yet able to take card payments. That would have been fine had it not still stated in the information in the room that all major cards are accepted. I did not, therefore, appreciate having to make a last minute escorted dash to a cash machine to get cash out to pay when we wanted to leave to catch the ferry!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room at the front unless you like traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank th1rdday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed two nights in the ground floor double en-suite. The room is tiny! just about big enough for the double bed and access either side. The decoration was rather crude and the en-suite a shower, loo and sink. The good things are that the facilities were clean and breakfasts adequate. The staff (only just taken over the place for two weeks) were helpful and keen. The bedding is very average. The TV has only ITV (stick-it note explains poor signal area) that would be improved with sattelite. The exhaust fan didn't work and the bathroom window was locked. A rather damp environment. All in all very average. Will I go back - no thank you, especially at £70 per night. I hope the new management team get on top of this place. There is no parking and the unrestricted local streets are in competition with others!

Room Tip: Don't go for the ground floor double en-suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Very good value accomodation. Bedrooms were clean and modern with lovely touches like mints. A bit disappointing there was no tv reception, but apart from that everything else was good. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and staff were very welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallJackieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed there last week as a group of six cycling from London to Paris on a hot day, so badly in need of some TLC. Phil and his staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable with towels, toiletries, TV, tea & bickkies and even a welcoming chocolate. Good powerfull shower too. The full english breakfast is a must if you are cycling, served bang on time and good quality. Entertaining collection of clocks. Its a 2 minute cycle to the boat so very convenient. Definitely recommend it.

Seamus

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigwizard666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newhaven
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
4.6 mi away
White Horse Hotel
White Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rottingdean
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
8.7 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newhaven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newhaven Lodge

Property: Newhaven Lodge
Address: 12 Brighton Road, Newhaven BN9 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newhaven
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run B&B close to the Newhaven to Dieppe and Le Havre ferry terminal, and a few miles east of Brighton. All rooms come with tea, coffee, biscuits and color tv etc. Family room share options and on site parking is available if pre-booked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Newhaven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newhaven Lodge East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing