We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newhaven Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Avondale(Seaford)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Horse Hotel(Rottingdean)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
57
42
28
11
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
42
28
11
29
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The place is not too bad, is definitely close to the harbour and to the city centre. I was travelling with my parents and a pet and we stayed in a triple room (double bed and a bunk bed) which was decent in size and quite cosy. BUT: the bathroom was horrible - not in a good condition at all- and the room was maybe a little smaller for all of us, it would have been a nice double room.
Main disappointment: there is no close and reserved parking area as promised on the B&B website, which was quite a problem as we didn t feel comfortable (or safe) in driving around looking for a parking (we come from Europe and we are used to drive on the other side). The guy from the hotel had to take us to the parking area, and it's not free.
Thumbs up because they accept pets and breakfast is good in quality and quantity,
A little too expensive compared to what is offered, though.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side, so a little noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flavia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here a few months ago when our friends were getting married in Wells.
The first disappointment was the parking. We have a rather large truck and there was no hope in hell of us getting it up the narrow alley way behind the B&B in the hope that the one space parking facility they had was vacant. Luckily for us it was a Saturday evening and parking in the local town car park was free over night and on Sundays (and just a minutes walk away)
We were shown up to our room by a rather busy looking man. The room was slightly dated and the bathroom tiny, but it was clean, light and airy and had everything we wanted for just one nights stop over. We also had a fridge in the room so we walked the 100 metres into town and stocked up on some snacks and drinks.
I'm not sure what it was about this place, it kind of reminded me of Fawlty Towers with just 2 members of staff running around doing everything, but I kind of grew to like it!
Breakfast was bizarre. A very sweet lady showed us into the dining room and where we could get cereal and toast. Then she started running back and forth to the kitchen bringing all kind of weird and wonderful 'breakfast' foods. Including... cold boiled eggs, samosas, little chinese party nibbles, cold cuts of meat, cheeses, kiwi and tomatoes and chocolate jammy dodgers.
It was kind of fun sitting there waiting to see what she'd bring next.
It's not the Ritz by any stretch of the imagination but if you're just passing through (very popular with cyclists) or want to stay in Newhaven without spending too much then it's fine. Excellent sleep quality, amusing staff (not always for the right reasons, but still...) and an excellent location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank little_lizzy_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The place was dirty, towels had holes in them(think they were supposed to be white they were grey) We got samosas and spring rolls for breakfast along with fairy cakes and a boiled egg. the coffee machine was old and dirty. We only had one night here on our way to France. Will not stay here again and would strongly recommend against anyone else thinking of going to this B& B. This place does not even deserve 3 stars. Wish i had read the trip advisor reviews before we booked.

Room Tip: Don't go there
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here (as many do) while doing the London to Paris bike ride. It is very conveniently located, and they are quite happy to store bikes securely.

We had a warm welcome and were shown straight to our room, which was of a good enough standard. The only let-down in the room was the rather poor shower, and the noisy toilet! The beds were very comfortable.

All the staff were very friendly, and the breakfast good.

The room was a little too hot, but as it was pretty much the warmest weekend of the year (May 2012!) and South facing this is only to be expected.

Overall good rating, and ideal location for cyclists

Room Tip: Get a rear facing room!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

the rooms were clean enough but the dining room was very dusty the car had to be parked in the surrounding road even though the web site stated car park at the rear.No cooked breakfast
cold boiled egg is not my ideal breakfast. For £118 for two nights i would expect a full english.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews