We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip dinner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Skip dinner!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Good room, helpful staff, great breakfast, horrendous dinner. 5 stars as a bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    285
    106
    30
    27
See reviews for
267
324
43
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

stayed last week in the hotel, weather in May had been very hot. did not expect the hotel not to have air conditioning. As the hotel was full they had no alternative and as we were going to a wedding near by we had no choice but to stick with a room which was 25 degrees. if it was not for the lack of air conditioning the hotel stay would have been a typical good Premier Inn stay.

Room Tip: in hot weather look for a hotel with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smiley2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

After over 70 miles of riding all our riders were very grateful for the smiling assisatnce we received from the receptionist on duty when we arrived. Although we were later than planned on arriving all our rooms were ready and we were able to arrange prompt feeding of all 24 hungry riders. We are very grateful for their assistance in bike storage as well and their emails and text to keep us updated about our booking.

Can thoroughly recommend this hotel, especailly to those using the Newhaven to Dieppe ferry service as it is ideally placed for the port.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janed78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kesgrave, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

stayed at premier inn for one night 1week ago ideal for overnight before ferry crossing, and attractions in sussex convenient for brighton , room was decorated in good taste, breakfast self service ,hot and plentyful eat as much as required.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenandjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Warm friendly welcome as always at Premier Inn. Nice big TV in the room, I would estimate it at 37", although there was a distinct lack of channels, with no sky or BBC 24 hour news.

2 things I would like to say about Premier Inn in general, (I stay in them very regularly):

1. You are nearly there with the wifi, 30 minutes free is an improvement, but I want permanent free - Lump another pound on the room rate, so that my firm pick up the cost not me.

2. The breakfast offering is too limited. I don't want all you can eat, I may just want 1 egg, 1 sausage, 1 bit of bacon, a few beans and a cup of tea. I can't justify paying £7.95 for £3 worth of breakfast.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This was the first time we had stayed in a PI for many years and we were quite impressed by the standard of the room and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We upgraded to a family room even though there were only two of us so had plenty of space. We stayed for four nights while we toured the area, in particular walking on the South Downs. our room was very clean and comfortable, although wardrobe space is a little limited, particularly for a family room. Bathroom was clean and the shower over bath was good. We selected the continental breakfast and they were willing to cook me poached eggs even though they were not part of the continental menu. The dinner menu was probably typical of Brewers Fayre, i.e. chips and peas with everything, although they happily changed the chips for jacket potatoes for me, but the menu is rather limited in this way. We don't all like chips with everything. As I didn't want desserts, I selected soup for a starter, and it was the same soup all four nights. However everything we ate was cooked well.

I do agree with other reviews that the hotel was hard to find. Even with the aid of a sat nav, we finished our journey somewhere on the roundabout close to the hotel and it was only after going round again that we found the signs indicating a hotel close by which we eventually found by going in the entrance to Sainsburys.

Although the room itself was not over expensive, adding the cost of food on afterwards can bump up the cost and I have been in other hotels where breakfast is included and paid less.

Room Tip: It was worth upgrading to a family room for the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Now don't get me wrong, I like Premier Inn because they are cheap and cheerful. I use them if I need an overnight stop in the UK. On the plus side, the room was clean, quiet and comfortable so a good night's sleep was had by hubby and me. Basic facilities again as standard were okay. Where it is not consistent with other Premier Inns were on minor points. As those who visit Premier Inns will know the breakfast is 'OK' (that doesn't mean good). It is basic road cafe standard. At Newhaven you have to order veggie sausages; they are not served as standard as they are in others. The service was good; staff were mainly courteous and on task. I was unimpressed when a man waiting to be shown to a table was referred to as 'darling'. (not professional). We giggled at the spelling on the milk server. See photo and spot deliberate (?) spelling mistake. You only have one comfy chair per double room. Our comfy chair was broken. On arrival, we ordered a Financial Times for the following morning (Saturday). When it did not arrive the receptionist assured us that the there is no weekend FT. We begged to differ. Had she tried a little harder she would have found that there is and she could have got one for us from the nearby Sainsbury. Talking about Sainsbury; to get to this Premier Inn, the signage is so poor you can easily drive round the area and not realise that to get to it you have to drive in as if you were going to Sainsbury. No account taken that most people going to the hotel probably don't know Newhaven too well. Overall good for the essential stopover. Please improve the signage to the hotel.Don't forget they will refund you if you do not get a good night's sleep. This happened to my sister once (not Newhaven) and she got her refund.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back look onto a quiet,pleasant country view. (Room 38 was one). Room 35 is locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileendover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newhaven
2.5 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
94 reviews
4.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
White Horse Hotel
White Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rottingdean
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
208 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
167 reviews
9.8 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Address: Avis Road, Newhaven BN9 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newhaven
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Brighton and Eastbourne town centres, a short drive from the beautiful South Downs ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel Newhaven
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing