We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat.....”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Comfortable, clean and spacious rooms. A very good breakfast, eat as much as you like, English and continental, fresh fruit , dried fruit, yogurts, cereal etc. With Brighton only miles away,you can get a family bus ticket for £9 (for two adults) and travel back and forth as much as you like, including getting around Brighton. Excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 03kris63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    285
    106
    31
    27
See reviews for
269
324
43
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

If you're used the the Premier Inn brand then you will accept that the accommodation is of a good but not luxurious standard at competitive prices - Premier Inn, Newhaven is just that with the bonus of extremely friendly and helpful staff thrown in.

The tip given earlier by a TA reviewer to drive in through Sainsbury's supermarket to find the PI was useful - thank you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iona007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouen, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

as a platinum plus member of Holiday inn, ive stayed at over 100 hotels this year so with no holiday inn close by, i stayed here with great reluctance but also with an open mind, upon entering the property, i was greeted by Gabriel, a very pleasant gentleman,
it was 11,30pm at night
i was unable to book online but the rate was £79 if i could book that way, hotel rack rate was £81
breakfast was an extra £6.25 so thats a staggering £87.25 for a nights sleep and a breakfast.

the reception area was very untidy and the carpet in reception grubby and dusty,

well i chose to stay, and was offered a ground floor room, at least i could have a shower,
firstly there is no telephone in the room, and you get a whacking 30 MINUTES FREE INTERNET, by the time i had faffed around trying to get connected, a little box pops up and says you need to buy more credit from reception, useless, off to bed i went, geez the bed was so hard it was just like lying on the pavement, plus the noisy fan in the bathroom growling for 20 minutes, next morning finally arrived thankfully, and after little or no sleep i had to work, went into bathroom and thats when i spotted a few happy wood lice having a mating party on the bathroom floor, out with the camera i managed to snap one before it fleed behind the bath.

overall, i wouldnt stay there out of choice again, its not premier by my standards, in fact its not even travelodge, and they are bad too,

the final upshot of this was i had a full refund of my monies paid from the reception.
but really this kind of standard should not be allowed in any hotel, let alone a Premier Inn

Room Tip: check the rooms before you buy it if possible 11 x 13 amp sockets in each room, but no phone
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunn1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

As a mother of two kids under four years, I am happy to give this place five stars. The staff are excellent, from reception to restaurant - they are the reason this place has five stars! The restaurant has fairly standard fare (c'mon, it's not pretending to be a michelin-starred establishment) and does what is says on the packet. The family room easily accommodated us all and was immaculate. Even better - soft play centre adjoining the restaurant, meaning that my restless toddler could go nuts while we had dinner. Breakfast the following day was excellent - again, superb staff who could not be more helpful. My daughter left her stuffed bunny in the room, I contacted reception and it is in the post. Well played Premier Inn!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

If you are looking for a proper decent meal then the restaurant is not for you there are a lot better places to eat in and around the town, this is just pub grub
And it's literally just that if you just want a snack it's ok

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed over the weekend and had two rooms , with our 10 year old daughter with us in our room and then my nan in another room. Well the rooms were very comfortable and clean, shower gel was in the bathroom that was handy and had clean towels brought to us for the next day. The beds were very comfy with extra pillows. We had two nights with breakfast included both mornings and the restaurant was very well run by the manager David who was very helpful and even said he could help us arrange our next visit. We are looking at going back next year maybe easter time and staying for 5 days . It is very convenient for the buses which the bus stop is just across the road as we went to brighton in the days and was only 30 min away.

Room Tip: We asked for top floor which was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Great location stayed here 3-4 times now. Service is always great and the rooms are refurbished and modern. Stuart in reception particularly helpful with self check in and additional room cards. Breakfast in restuarant next door always good!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gordonm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newhaven
2.5 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
95 reviews
4.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
White Horse Hotel
White Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rottingdean
532 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
167 reviews
7.2 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#15 of 44 in Brighton
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Address: Avis Road, Newhaven BN9 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newhaven
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Brighton and Eastbourne town centres, a short drive from the beautiful South Downs ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel Newhaven
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing