We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ruined trip” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ruined trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We arrived at Newhaven premier inn to find no one at reception, eventually someone appeared and rushed us through without even mentioning the good night guarantee or booking an evening meal.

During the night we found that the room was getting hot so we lowered the temperature controller only to find it did not work.

Next day we found that an item had been taken from our room, we reported it to the duty manager you said she had started an enquiry to why and where the item had gone. We reported our loss to customer services and an enquiry was promised. To date we have heard nothing from either the hotel or customer services.

We have stayed at many premier inns and are used to great service, this was not and have no intention of returning to Newhaven, it appears our complaint has not been taken seriously which is what we expected

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mayn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion you feel we have failed to achieve this. I understand the hotel management team investigated the loss of your husband’s library card whilst you were at the hotel, checks were made but unfortunately this was not located. Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact us on talktous@premierinn.com. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    265
    93
    25
    22
See reviews for
240
300
43
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

You always know what you are going to get with a Premier Inn and this one was as good as they come. Staff were great, really helpful. The Dove (?) next door where the food was really good. Eating alone is not fun but the staff their were amazing and made both evening meal and breakfast a pleasure - thank you.

Room Tip: Beware flooding in car park when it rains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telscombe Cliffs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Chose the Premier Inn to stay with family- the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good and even provided freshly made porridge on request.
Would recommend if you want somewhere a to explore Brighton and the surrounding area which has free parking and a quiet location

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoDutchGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap d'Ail, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We arrived in the UK on the late evening ferry from Dieppe France. So bit tired and easily finding our way there. The hotel is ideally situated not so far from the ferry terminal area. Excellent for us as we needed an overnight stay before driving up to the north the next day. Nice reception, very courteous receptionist who was very helpful for looking after our car which was quite loaded with luggage. The room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Very comfortable. Breakfast was in the pub next door, which was copious with a lot of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Cost Data : Pre-booked and prepaid Fri / Sat nights (39/45 pounds respectively)

Normal high Premier Inn standards - notice the TV's are getting bigger which is good. Very convenient for Seven Sisters Country Park / Birling Gap / Beachy Head / Eastbourne and the walking on that part of the South Downs Way. The hotel is approached via the entrance road to Sainsburys so there is a supermarket on the doorstep (and petrol station). Adjoining pub restaurant.

We were given a room at the front overlooking the restaurant/hotel entrance. Friday night no problem, but on Saturday night, there were some over active revellers with challenged spacial awareness perception making an alcohol induced racket outside the restaurant until the early hours which disturbed our sleep. We mentioned this when we checked out, and without any hesitation, were offered that night's room cost back under their 'Good Night's Sleep Guarantee'. I would have preferred the good night's sleep but can't argue with the way they treat their customers. It won't stop me staying here again, but I will ask for a quiet room at the back next time !

Room Tip: See main text - ask for a room at the back if you like a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Large quiet room (a welcome relief after the Paris Est Novotel where we had been staying) with plenty of space for me and 2 children aged 12 and 15. Gabriel at reception was warmly welcoming and got our stay off to an excellent start. Bathroom fully functional (again a contrast to France). A little hard to find, and the Costa machine was disappointingly out of action at breakfast time, but overall I would stay here again any day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbtest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Rooms clean and comfortable, no A/C in room (not a big problem in UK), The Parking Lot was almost completely flooded after it rained.
Price varies a lot from day to day and depending when you book.
Buffet Breakfast is in Pub attached, it is Ok but you can do better in Seaford.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbob300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newhaven
2.5 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
7.2 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
4.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.7 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Address: Avis Road, Newhaven BN9 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newhaven
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Brighton and Eastbourne town centres, a short drive from the beautiful South Downs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel Newhaven
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing