We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stay at lots of Premier Inns around the country, and this was my first visit to this hotel. It was an excellent experience - the staff were friendly and professional and the room was equipped to a high standard.

Best of all was the price - as I'd booked it some weeks ahead it cost a mighty £29!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisatobm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

We used to live in Newhaven and I know we will be back time and again to the Premier Inn at Newhaven. We received a very warm welcome and the Receptionist offered my little girl a pillow for her toy dog, which delighted her! The rooms (which I think have been recently upgraded) are clean, comfy and have everything you need. The family room in which stayed was really big. The hotel is near to a main road and I didn't really hear any outdoor noise. There is a nearby Sainsburys next door too, if you need supplies/petrol. Returning to noise, I occasionally heard an internal door close (and noted that the fire doors seemed quite light and you had to not swing them open/back too hard, otherwise you'd have slammed the wall and woken everyone up!). We ate in the restaurant for dinner and it was ok - nothing special. Breakfast was good and hearty and I tend to not particularl favour PIs where the restaurant isn't actually on site (and instead in a next door franchise), however this one was as good as the ones that are on site (sometimes the franchises don't always have Costa Coffee for example, but this one has). We visited near to Christmas and there was a Father Christmas who the children could visit (for free) and this was another lovely touch. Newhaven itself is a very good location for visiting Brighton, Lewes, Eastbourne and isn't a million miles from Tonbridge Wells either. We will, of course, be back lots as it is our old home, but aside from that, I'd recommend this PI as it does what PIs do best - value for money and comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

premier inn do it again . just returned from a great weekend in newhaven. why do people moan,its a great budget hotel chain and far supirior to the prices they charge.have stayed in dozens of premier inns and all are great value. newhaven is like them all, great staff.great value this weekend we are away again and of course it will be premier inn

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowarmyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We were visiting family in Lewes & wanted somewhere nearby to stay overnight. Having stayed here in the past we had no hesitation doing so again & booked 2 family rooms. They were attractively decorated & clean & spacious. We all slept really well & would love to purchase the pillows they use as they are the most comfortable ones ever slept on. We were greeted by a friendly man on reception & found the other staff to be the same. Breakfast in the restaurant next door was brilliant. Very welcoming Scottish gentleman showed us to our table & explained the options. The food was well cooked, varied choice & plentiful. It was a lovely added touch having 'Santa' walking around talking to the children. Our granddaughter had a lovely picture with him. Would definitely use again. :)

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank BobbiTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very much a standardPremier Inn in terms of the rooms and layout, but I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Despite being a busy weekend when I visited,my room and the hotel generally was spotlessly clean, I couldn't fault the house-keeping. The hotel is on a busy road, but I didn't hear a thing, obviously excellent sound-proofing. I use public transport and it is located a short walk from Newhaven Town railway station and just across the road from the Denton Corner bus stops and there's a little footpath by the Brewer's Fare sign. This is on the main coast route linking Brighton and Eastbourne, a lovely ride through beautiful scenry. My ony gripe is that Premier never give directions for non-drivers, they simply assume everybody will arrive by car, their maps are useless for pedestrians.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davey511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Bed was comfy but lots of strange loud creaking noises from the ceiling or windows during the night and the water pressure of the shower is the worst I've ever encountered. very weak.

Perhaps we were unlucky

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com so we can investigate further. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

If you're looking for a hotel to visit Brighton and the surrounding areas I would recommend Newhaven. Great transport links by bus every 10 mins Mon-Sat then every 15mins on Sunday.Great value.I would use the Sainsbury's cafe for breakfast. Quiet location rooms clean and staff very pleasant. Plenty of parking,

Room Tip: Ground floor if you don't mind using stairs only one floor, no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sooty42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newhaven
2.6 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
100 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
233 reviews
4.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
850 reviews
6.4 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
254 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel

Address: Avis Road, Newhaven BN9 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newhaven
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Price Range: £45 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Brighton and Eastbourne town centres, a short drive from the beautiful South Downs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel Newhaven
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing