We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly Adequate for our needs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Perfectly Adequate for our needs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

We stayed here for one night on a cold November Saturday as simply needed a convenient overnight base. Everything was clean, tidy and in good order and the bathroom looked as though it had been recently refurbished. We did need to turn the heat up a bit though as although the corridors were blasting hot air the room was a bit on the cool side, not surprising given the outside temperatures.

The Brewers Fayre pub next door served a good evening meal and a decent breakfast, but I was surprised to find no heat from any of the radiators on a very cold weekend and the pub was decidedly chilly both for our evening meal and the following day's breakfast. We weren't staying long enough to complain but I would have said something to the management had we been in the area for any longer.

We have had some disturbed nights when staying in budget hotels previously but I'm pleased to say for once we had a good night's sleep and no need of the guarantee! (Which I wish some other budget chains had as I would have claimed back on several occasions!). Overall it suited our needs and the close proximity of the pub is a bonus. It would definitely make me seriously consider using Premier again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and convenience
  • Disliked — Accommodation ok but pub/restaurant rather cold given a freezing weekend
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyLocket_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    265
    93
    25
    22
See reviews for
240
299
43
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
256 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

Stayed for two nights in September.

Booking: The rooms I needed were not listed on the website - which gave the impression the hotel was close to capacity. When I rang just to check I was told there were hardley any bookings for that weekend!

Location: I know the area well so knew it is a good 30 minutes at least away from Brighton. Lovely area with nice villages etc.

Hotel: CLean. You know what you are getting with this chain.
I booked a family room - it is the smallest "family" room I have ever seen! If you have more than one child beware! Once a cot is in there you can hardly move.

Lots of noise from the hallway.
Lots of random bangs and machinery too.

Food: Its attached to a pub. Prices are cheap. WE had evening meal there - 3 of the 6 meals arrived wrong. Kids had beens which looked older than me!
There is an eat as much as you want breakfast. Buffet is good but you have to order hot food. It arrives in tiny portions - 1 rasher of bacon, 1 Sausage, 1 egg and some beans. You can order extra but then you have to wait for it, and it really seemed to upset the waitress that we asked for more - like we were being out of order.
Sausage was burnt.
Bacon was almost raw.

Brighton and surrounding areas have lots of nice eateries - I know where I will be going if there is a next time.

Staff: Staff during the night were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us.
Daytime staff - only exposure was checking it - I had to wait for a break in the staff's conversation before I was allowed to check in...

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Food, size of room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Acornise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2008

Just stayed here and it appears the standards *have* lifted to that of the rest of the chain. Good breakfast, clean and spacious rooms - great value. Water pressure seemed low in our room and the bathroom was a little old in places but wasn't enough for me to complain and take up the offer of the "happiness garantee".

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chevoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2007

I stayed here for a couple of nights recently.
The room had everything that you needed and the breakfasts were great in the Brewers Fayre next door.
We had a rear room and there was quite noisy wildlife outside during the night so we had to have the windows closed which made the room quite hot.
However, we were provided with a fan which made up for it.
The ladies on reception were very friendly and made our stay comfortable and inexpensive.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Hot rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2007

Disappointing for this chain which normally provides high quality budget accommodation that leaves its rivals standingy. This particular Premier Travel Inn has seen better days and is in need of a total refurbishment. While the rooms were clean and tidy, the decor, furnishings and equipment are dated and beginning to show their age. Many items were not in top condition, including the elderly tv with its broken handset, the ageing kettle and mugs which I couldn't resist washing before I used them and the rattly bathroom fan. Maybe the car park full of tradesmens' vans and road working trucks should have given me a clue. Still, it's a handy and cheap one-night stopover for those with an early ferry and there's a Sainsbury's right next door for bedroom picnic goodies, which is a better option than the Brewers Fayre attached to the hotel. Personally, while nt desperately unhappy with the hotel, I'll give this one a miss in the future if I can.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2006

My first time in a newly branded, all purple, PTI.
Extremely impressed. Basic, but very comfortable and very clean.

Small reception cramped with two ladies, one was training, she processed me and was very polite.

The room was a fair size with a comfortable, large bed. Lots of pillows, which I like. All the ameneties (TV, kettle, open-plan wardrobe) were in a cleverly designed unit which saved a lot of space. The bathroom was fine too.

The most notable feature was a large fake leather headboard with downlighters. It really made the room feel up market. A great piece of interior design.

No restaurant, but there is a Harvester next door (which I didn't use)

I paid GBP54 for one night. Very good value for the South coast.

If you want basic but tasteful for fifty quid you're sorted.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nujjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newhaven
2.5 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
7.2 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.8 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
8.0 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Address: Avis Road, Newhaven BN9 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newhaven
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Brighton and Eastbourne town centres, a short drive from the beautiful South Downs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel Newhaven
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing