We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprisingly good day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newhaven Fort

Newhaven Fort
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Newhaven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An award-winning attraction offering an exciting and varied day out for the whole family. A Victorian coastal fortress housing exhibitions, displays and a program of special events. There is so much to see and do: stunning cliff-top views and on-site gift shop; experience the air-raid simulation, climb up the ramparts to see the breath-taking view across the English Channel, treat yourself to a delicious lunch in the cafe, or have fun in the adventure playground.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A surprisingly good day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I took my 18-year-old daughter here and she was surprised at how much there is to see. The introduction film covers the fort's history in a light-hearted manner, making it interesting and memorable. From here you work you way around the varied exhibits inside the casemates, and there really is a lot to see - from a model of the fort to divers finds to a mock WW2 air-raid shelter experience. A walk around the ramparts provides great views of not only the fort from various angles but also across the sea, Newhaven harbour and surrounding countryside. Great for photos. There is a café, shop and kids play area. The only down side is that there are a lot of steep slopes and steep steps down to the estuary making access difficult for the less mobile.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    66
    12
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for a historic visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I took my 90 year old Dad there this week, as my Grandad used to live in the Fort in the 30s and my Mother always talked of her experiences there. We have not been there for a few years. He is in a wheelchair and although it says wheelchair friendly, unless you have muscles like Popeye it is quite difficult to manoeuvre. The entrance is up a steep incline and I would not have got up there if it wasnt for the staff. They could not have been more helpful for our whole visit.

My Dad enjoyed the experience and I think this place appeals to young and old. The new ourdoor activity area and care is certainly a great improvement for younger visitors.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yammynicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great fun and something for everyone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Set on castle hill above Newhaven the Fort is a layer cake of history.The twentieth century coastal battery at the site of Newhaven Fort stands on the remains a coastal artillery fort of mid 16th century date, which was rearmed in the mid 18th century and during the Napoleonic Wars.

The fort was modernised in 1901-1902 and again in 1914. During the Second World War the battery was augmented In 1940 with 12-pounder guns which were installed to combat E-boat attacks. The South Battery was remodelled between 1941-1943 to mount three 6-inch Mk. XXIV close defence guns.Stood down by 1945 the Fort was finally decommissioned in the 1950's.

Eventually saved and restored it is now open for all to enjoy.The appeal of the Fort has much to do with the diversity of what it has to offer .

Opening Times for 2014

Newhaven Fort is open every day of the week from 1st March to 2nd November. The Fort opens from 10.30am - 6pm from March to September, with last admission at 5pm.

From 1st October to 2nd November the Fort will be open from 10.30am to 5pm, last admission at 4pm. Dogs welcome on a lead.

Admission (2014) is £6 Adults , £4 Children with a Family ticket (2 Adults & 2/3 Children) £18.70 .For all the details and the latest news of special events the Fort has a really good web site at http://www.newhavenfort.org.uk/index.htm

This has all the details along with details of disabled access /facilities etc.

The staff are really friendly , helpful , engaging and try to answer any questions thrown at them .The two young ladies in the The Searchlight Café were especially helpful leaving no stone unturned to find the clotted cream for our cream teas.The cafe is sensibly priced and affordable.However there's plenty of space to have a picnic and there's a fun looking play area for younger visitors.

The Fort has a diverse and eclectic range of exhibitions some are a little quirky but no less interesting for being so .Many of the exhibitions have aspects designed to engage younger visitors . Apart from these there are many tunnels ,stairways ,galleries and gun emplacements which also seemed to appeal to small people.

From the top of the Fort there are great views of the coast , surrounding town ,harbour and countryside ,affording great photographic opportunities .

Sometimes overlooked by visitors to the area Newhaven Fort is a hidden gem just waiting to be discovered, it's worthy of inclusion on anybodys "must do list" whether you live in or are visiting East Sussex.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very good day out. Well worth the entrance fee. We spent the whole day there looking at all the exhibits etc. There are exhibits on the Blitz and you can sit in an air raid shelter and experience the noise of bombs dropping around you. There are tunnels to explore and great sea views whilst walking round the ramparts. Great for all ages. Also there is a very nice cafe to have light lunches or snacks. I can recommend the jacket potatoes and the hot chocolate is one of the best I have tasted.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Day out with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Had a good visit enjoyed the exhibitions. Air raid shelter was a fun experience. World war 2 exhibition was very good. Visited cafe for lunch good choice of food and drinks both hot and cold. Fantastic views of the coast line.

Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newhaven Fort also viewed

 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Newhaven Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing