We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb mothers day!”
Review of Flying Fish

Flying Fish
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in Newhaven
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb mothers day!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

What a perfect day. Took the family and was shown to the restaurant after all being offered a drink from the bar. Three course menu was varied but not long and complicated and had good options for meat, fish and veg eaters. Starters for our table included the prawns with chilli, Broccoli and stilton soup and pate all of which was very good. Mains were roast pork with the trimmings, breaded chicken in white wine, bacon and mushroom sauce and stuffed peppers (veg option). Pork was tender for loin but retained some fat with the only gripe being some yorkies being darker in colour. The chicken and sauce was excellent and the stuffed peppers were very good (even the meat eaters tried and enjoyed!). Although not advertised, the helpful waitress made arrangements for my nephew to have a kids meal. He decided to have sausage and mash. It turns out the sausages are made especially for the pub using local ale and they were meaty and full of flavour. All desserts were great including tiramisu, spotted dick and custard and a huge slab of chocolate fudge cake.

Throughout the whole meal the staff were friendly and attentive and quickly dealt with any requests we had such as extra gravy. All the food was hot and brought out at a good pace with us not having to wait or feel rushed, despite both the bar and restaurants being full.
I would certainly recommend the flying fish and can only compliment the manager and staff on an excellent job, especially as it was clear to all they were running at full capacity.
I have booked to go back this weekend and am looking forward to trying the fillet steak and gourmet chunky chips!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freddie222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaFlyF, Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your detailed, constructive and positive feedback. It's so helpful for readers on Trip Advisor to be able to read previous customers reviews from their experiences and you have provided a detailed, well balanced and informative view based on your visit.
We know that alot of people view sites such as Trip Advisor and The Good Pub Guide before visiting so we are grateful to you for taking the time to share your views with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    39
    17
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Mother's Day lunch”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

It is always so difficult to please everyone all of the time but my mother in law of 86 and my youngest daughter had a super meal at The Flying Fish.The food was delicious and the staff were extremely helpful and attentive. We have been for lunch mid week and evening meals and the standard is always exemplary. The Manager is always welcoming and makes you feel at home. We will be back ! Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Toptotty53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaFlyF, Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Many Thanks for taking the time to leave another review.
We all appreciate such positive feedback and it means alot to our team to know that their efforts have been recognised.
Please keep coming back - we love welcoming returning and new customers, after all that is what our business is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“fabulous mothers day dinner”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I am not sure why there is a negative review here......perhaps there was a dimension warp!! I had a wonderful mothers day meal with my mum and my sister. The food was lovely, atmosphere great and the staff were very attentive and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! Thankyou to all the staff who made our afternoon so enjoyable! I highly recommend the flying fish. Its a lovely place to be!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank angel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaFlyF, Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review - Fabulous Mothers Day!
I'm delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves, and especially like your Dimension warp comment!
Our wonderful team of staff are always happy to recieve feedback that truly shows that their hard work is appreciated so Thank you for mentioning them too.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back and trying our new spring menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Mothers Day.”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal in the Flying Fish on Mother's Day food great hot and well presented staff wonderfull very good atmosphere only problem was a loud woman close by who would not have been happy if she had won the lottery. Well done to all staff who went the extra mile and made it a special day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dentonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaFlyF, Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Many thanks for your review in which you have perfectly encapsulated Mothers Day.
Together with our team of staff we work hard to ensure that our business consistently offers the type of experience that you have written about.
We hope to welcome you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely place summer and winter, great service, good pub food.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We went here when visiting my mother for lunch after a friend of hers had recommended to try it. Both times in June 2013 & sat in the back terrace garden and November 2013 inside was good and the food was great, good choice and very enjoyable. It had changed owners apparently in between the two times we went but it was still lovely both times. It was nice to see a familiar face as we had the same waitress who was very helpful. The tables had a good amount of space between them which gave you your privacy. Would definitely recommend it. We parked just down the country road a bit but only 3 mins away as there does not seem anywhere outside to park.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judeandstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaFlyF, Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review.
We are very proud of both our garden and newly refurbished interior. It is great to hear such positive feedback and yes you are right we have had the Tenancy of the pub for approximately 15 months now and look forward to moving from strength to strength.
We do hope you will join us in the garden for our New Al Fresco menu where even a little live acoustic jazz may be playing!
We hope to see you soon and that on this visit our car park isn't already full!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Fish also viewed

Newhaven, East Sussex
Newhaven, East Sussex
 
Newhaven, East Sussex
Newhaven, East Sussex
 

Been to Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing