We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling Food & Staff!!!”
Review of The Smugglers Rest

The Smugglers Rest
Ranked #31 of 35 Restaurants in Newhaven
Price range: US$0 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Smuggler's Rest in Peacehaven is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Appalling Food & Staff!!!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This restaurant's bar staff are viciously rude. The food here used to be good, but its now appalling, everything we order seemed to have come out of the freezer into a deep frying utensil,but some of the food when it arrived was frozen in the centre and it tasted as though the oil the fry the food in has never been changed!

The manager lets his staff run roughshod, it really should not be allowed.

This place needs an overhaul of staff from the manager all the down. Nothing nice about this place other than the natural beautiful scenary along the coast... how sad, that the management and staff are allowed to get away with this appalling behaviour.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    87
    66
    84
    131
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“waste of money”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

feel really let down by wasting my hard earned money of food that should nt be giving out such a shame as once this was a really nice place with good food think it should be shut down will not be going back there again ..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank matthew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good food. Friendly service and allowed dogs”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having just seen bad reviews on tripadvisior, we are totally surprised, we visited friends nearby and then went on to Smugglers Rest for dinner, I went in to ask if they took dogs, the young lady was just coming on duty she was she was very friendly & helpful.
We found a table and asked for the menus and if there were any vegetarian dishes of which there were 5 choices.
We all ordered different food and everyone commented on how nice the food was.
Ben who served us was charming and very helpful.
Meal was reasonably priced, we would return when in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“hidious”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Please do not spend any money on food here. Shocking. The worst food and customer service I have ever received. Awful. Avoid even if desperate.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

This pub has some serious issues with their staff and customer service! We live In the area and have just returned from yet another disappointing dining experience! We have given this place to many chances which is a shame because the interior is lovely but the lack of staff, manors and food quality let it down. It has such potential to be be a great place I hope 'vintage inns' sort it out soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetcherrypie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smugglers Rest also viewed

Seaford, East Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 
Peacehaven, East Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Hassocks, West Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Smugglers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing