We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Well worth visiting!

We stopped by as we were in the area. I’m glad we did. It’s not a big place but it’s steeped in... read more

Reviewed 14 October 2018
GeoffC164
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
beautiful views

Because of the the fantastic views and history of the castle it is well worth a visit. Children... read more

Reviewed 14 October 2018
chigago
,
Pevensey, United Kingdom
Read all 375 reviews
  
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
128
159
77
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
159
77
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english heritage audio guide roman times outer walls second world war worth a visit landing place norman conquest car park steeped in history small exhibition lots of history interesting visit nice walk very helpful staff entrance fee tea room
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My friend Sue and I took our kids here as there first trip out in the summer holidays. I realised that it had been many years since my previous visit but once in had a trip down memory lane.The kids all under 7 had a whale of a time running around and investigating every nook & cranny.

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Great for history buffs where a trip to the inner castle if well worth a ticket. For those who want to take in the pretty surroundings and outer keep have free acess to do so. A nice walk around the outer walls and a beer in a local pub makes a lovely afternoon. The nearby cafe is currently closed although there is a large car park and pub close by.

Date of experience: December 2011
1  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Pevensey Castle is the site where William the Conqueror landed when he first arrived in England. The medieval castle ruins that you see there today are surrounded by 1700 year old Roman walls. The Normans set up wooden fortifications inside the Roman walls for their first castle in England. The stone castle, whose ruins occupy the site today, was built some time later, and was besieged 4 times at various points in time. It is incredible how much of the Roman walls remain today and what a large area they enclose.

Canadian and British troops were housed in this castle in WW2 and there are pillboxes built into the walls, which are disguised to look like they were medieval in origin.

The audio guide is decent and has an adult and child version. There is a small gift shop onsite. You are able to climb the ramparts in one spot, but you can't walk around the castle on the rampart. I agree with many of the reviewers who comment on the fact that the castle is in ruins, but that didn't detract from our visit. The combination of Roman, medieval and WW2 history, and the wide open places for our kids to run in the golden late afternoon sun, made this a memorable site for us.

It doesn't take long to tour the castle (hour, hour and a half maybe), so you might want to consider combining this visit with another attraction to fill up a day - e.g. a trip to Battle Abbey, where the 1066 Battle of Hastings was fought might be a good pairing with a visit to Pevensey. Both of these sites are run by English Heritage, so we used our English Heritage Overseas Visitor Pass for both sites.

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank Family_two_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Castle enthusiasts like me will quite enjoy it and access to the top of one of the towers is a bonus. People who aren't interested in medieval architecture should probably give it a miss.

Date of experience: October 2011
2  Thank ferrocene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Free audio guide included with the ticket helps you quickly understand the history of the castle.

Date of experience: July 2012
1  Thank KB_hoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews