We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Pevensey B&B and Inns
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We would not normally choose to stay in rooms above any Pub but we needed 2 rooms for a last minute trip to Hastings over the Xmas period and booked in a hurry. The Bay Hotel had the only reasonably priced rooms available for 3 nights close by. The staff were friendly and pleasant and the breakfasts were served promptly and were well cooked and well presented and set us up for the day. The rooms were basic but the beds and towels were clean and the showers were hot and toiletries were provided. Yes, The Bay Hotel is tired and dated in most respects with some drafts, some peeling paint and wallpaper, noisy extractor fans in the toilet and some road noise and limited heating in the rooms but it was cheap. The Hotel was quiet throughout our stay ~ maybe it was out of season. I was a bit concerned about what I had signed up to in haste based upon the many bad comments that I then found against this Hotel. Thankfully, the Bay Hotel was perfectly OK. It was functional, cheap, clean and a lot better than I feared and we got a great deal for 3 nights B&B for 3 adults of only £24pppn !!!

Room Tip: It might be a good idea to check beforehand about any seasonal activities or functions that could re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandBCramlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    32
    25
    16
    25
See reviews for
24
58
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

As a large family group we chanced upon The Bay Hotel for a meal. it seemed more like a pub that did food than a hotel per se, but we were grateful they not only allowed our 10 year old son to eat in the main bar area but also allowed our dog in too.....dog owners please note! as in England this feels increasingly rare though it is normal in France.
They had a two for one deal on main courses that made the rather expensive prices a lot more attractive. My son had the homemade burger which he pronounced delicious! My Mother had the steak and ale pie whch was a sort of puff pastry affair with lots of fresh looking vegetables and the other 4 of us had the medallions of beef in a stilton sauce that tasted lovely though the steak was pretty tough!
All in all though would recommend as a family friendly hostelry.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in an very convenient location. A very short distance from the sea front and with a variety of shops and amenities. Very reasonably priced but you do get what you pay for.
Yes the rooms are in need of a make over and the place could do with being freshened up but the staff are friendly and helpful and the essentials are clean and fresh.
Bedding and towels are clean and in plentiful supply. Toiletries are provided. The breakfast was served within minutes of sitting down and was cooked to order. Good choice of cereals and jams, tea/coffee and juice and a full cooked breakfast with toast.
There is ample parking.
All in all if you overlook what's not perfect you'll get good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuleJo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I have stayed in the bay hotel a number of times over the years and have always found it to be value for money not perfect but then it’s not £100 a night and is one of the only hotels in the Eastbourne area that will accept a 1 or 2 night booking clean friendly and reasonable, food is ok staff very helpful.

Room Tip: I have stayed in lots of the rooms over the years and I think No 7 is the best in house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bootsMorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I wish we'd have looked on trip advisor before booking this hotel. When we arrived and realised it was a "pub" We felt like just turning around and walking away - but we paid for it online so we didn't want to lose our money. But what a place. I am not a fussy person, so if I book a three star or two star accommodation I pretty much know what to expect, but even so the place should be clean no matter what star rating it is. First of all it should be given a zero rating for it's entire presentation. Can someone in the hotel inspection field reading this please pick up the phone and review this place again because it is falsely represented.The whole place looked like it hadn't been hoovered since it opened - whenever that was, the bathroom shower was mouldy and when the beds were made they didn't even look to see if anything was still left in the bed before they made it ! We had as baby who was playing with toys before we left to go for the day and when I went to bed that night I pulled back the cover to get in and muslin cloth and a toy was still in the bed ! The breakfast was disgusting, I couldn't even eat the sausage as it had such a disgusting flavour, I have never tasted something like that before - it could have been cat meat for all I know - honestly. The toast wasn't even brown - it was hot bread so I had to tell them to brown the bread. The so called "kids" play area was absolutely filthy - the balls in the pit were dirty and you could see that without going in it. I did not take my baby there. Finally - another important point - they do not tell you they've got DOGS - I found out the hard way when we checked out and I sat on a chair in the pub and two dogs came running out into the bar area and one jumped all over me. I was trying to protect the baby so I got scratched. The owners were no where to be seen. My Husband had to run over and shoo the dog away. I love dogs so I haven't got a problem with them having dogs, but they MUST tell people if they have dogs. But anyway when my husband complained to the landlady when she appeared she apologised in a very dutiful manner as though she felt that's what she should say, rather than being genuinely sorry and said that was the only time the dogs had a chance to come out. All in all we did not complain to the owners of a pub because frankly I know they just would NOT care one bit and as we were going they probably wouldn't do anything about it anyway.. So please DO NOT book this hotel. I thought I would never say something like this but honestly I would have been happier sleeping on the beach. It was just absolutely disgusting. It should be avoided even for one night. For the price you pay you will find something much better - trust me it's not worth the disappointment.

Room Tip: There aren't any good rooms because the place is filthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luci1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Bay hotel is not a practical one. It has a bar attached to it that calls last orders at 10.30pm because it is not busy. Too bad if you are a resident. they turned round and told us we could have a drink and take it to our room.
The place is not clean. The ladies toilet - toilet bowl cleaned but floor not swept nor mopped. The extractor fan full of dust.
Bedroom - bed not remade each morning. Duvet thrown over without the sheets being straightened or pillows fluffed. Plastic glass provided fell off the bedside table and was not picked up for three days. Bed linen not changed for 5 nights. We had to put out the sign that says make up room. Never heard of such a thing.
Breakfast - poor. Sausage not very well cooked. No offer of extra toast or other available breakfast choice like black pudding. Only new about it when we over heard another guest asking for it.
On a plus side, the menu was nice. We had two good meals.
Too expensive for what we got.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benjiLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We are not an overly fussy couple, nor ones who like complaining, but complain we did when we discovered our room – room 11 – was not en suite as booked. We were not told this upon booking in, but left to discover it for ourselves. As they were fully booked a room change was not possible, and we were offered a miserly sum as compensation that we refused to accept. With the promise that they may be able to arrange accommodation elsewhere the next day, and it being late, we had no choice but to stay the night.
The room itself is described well in another review which must be read, but we would add that the duvet itself was burnt, the window sills and curtains were filthy, the mattress was so worn out that the springs actually hurt to lie on, the wardrobe was so narrow it was totally unsuitable for a couple, and negotiating ten steep and unlit stairs in the night for the bathroom was downright dangerous. We insisted this was fixed straight away. The bathroom is across a passageway that leads to other rooms and seemed adequate except it had only one ring for hanging two towels. After a very uncomfortable night made worse by banging doors we descended to breakfast.
The hotel itself is really like an open plan inn. Reception is behind the bar, and meals are provided in the lounge area which is an extension of the bar area. The whole downstairs has a stale odour and is in much need of decorating and freshening up. Breakfast is served on bare tables. It was adequate, but we both left the lukewarm sausages.
Outside, two or three signs declare that all rooms are en suite, yet all four staff purported that they had done nothing wrong. They laid the blame with the agency that had sold us the room as they had advertised it incorrectly! However the agency that took the booking made it clear the contract was between the customer and the hotel as the hotel group is paid directly. This is a trap anyone booking through an agency – perhaps a late bookings agency - should bear in mind. No alternative accommodation could be arranged, and with much annoyance we were stuck for our second night.
I shall never know if it was legal liability that worried them or the threat of yet another slating review on this and other websites, but that evening, and without asking, we were given a 50% refund in cash for which we were relieved and grateful.
They ruined our short break, and we would certainly not recommend this hotel to anybody. A break we were so much looking forward to resulted in much disappointment, anger, aching limbs and tiredness.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francisbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pevensey
1.0 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
207 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Eastbourne Willingdon Drove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#5 of 8 in Lewes
234 reviews
3.6 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
952 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 2-4 Eastbourne Road | Pevensey Bay, Pevensey BN24 6EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Pevensey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pevensey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Pevensey, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing