We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$168
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Eastbourne Willingdon Drove(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$74
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Cooden Beach Hotel(Bexhill-on-Sea)
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Strand Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$88
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Best Western York House Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Glastonbury Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$56
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
East Beach Hotel(Eastbourne)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
35
41
30
20
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
41
30
20
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel puban updatedouble roomincluded breakfastfresh towelswelcoming staffnight's sleepfull english breakfasteasy parkingsunday roastfeel very welcomegreat atmospherecooked to perfectionlong weekendeast sussexpevensey castlejayne
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Its an old pub with rooms. Cant expect much but my room was tiny, the windows didnt close properly, the thermostat for the radiator was broken off in the on position and when i woke up the celing aboth the window was leaking. Needs a LOT of renovation. The tap beer tasted wierd too, stick to bottles...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lumberjack2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We are sorry you dint enjoy your stay but on check out we did explain about the leak that happened that we couldn't predict and as for our beer we, pride ourselves on our cellar management and have a vast amount of people in our pub everyday who comment that our beer is good. As you would have noticed the hotel is having a refurb at the moment and all the little snags etc will be fixed. Thank you for your feed back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very tired looking hotel which is really just a basic pub with rooms. My room had the stained bedding mentioned in one of the other reviews, ripped net curtains with some very questionable stains on them, no bedside lamp, one small towel holder in the bathroom and (strangely annoyingly) no soap dish in the shower (think about it: it's really annoying). Whole place feels like it needs a lick of paint and a deep, deep clean. If you read back on trip advisor (I hadn't before as someone else had booked for me), there are some consistent themes and maybe it would be worth taking some note...

It's my first one point score on trip advisor but I'm afraid it is deserved.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank eggiesabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We are sorry to hear your stay was not a pleasurable one. We have taken your concerns on board and will act on them asap but had you voiced your concerns whilst staying here we would have tried our best to rectify them but as everyone on departure said their stay was nice we thought everyone was pleased .We have a vast amount of people through our door and the majority of them do go home having had a pleasurable stay .Sorry again yours was not Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Contrary to the poor reviews given of this hotel, apart from noticing that there were many spelling mistakes, I have stayed in all manner of hotels all over the world, both on business and for pleasure , I can safely say that for me and my two sons, the Bay Hotel has been very friendly indeed and most accommodating of our needs. Valerie and Steve couldn't have been more helpful and friendly - our rooms and linen were spotless. Regarding the 'dated' look - naturally work cannot commence during the summer months and is being undertaken at present - despite all the rather pathetic negative comments, it should be noted that the Bay Hotel is full to capacity for the forseeable future and I and my family will be very sorry to leave and will surely return when we are this way again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed there because it was such a cheap hotel for the night and thought that it would be okay.

But no.

The staff were impolite and aggressive when i wanted to make a complain about the bedding. I didnt expect to go to the hotel to find stains on the bed covers and sheets, Hairs in the bathroom and a dirty toilet.

I know the rooms were quite cheap but to be honest i would have rather slept outside!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobby1111England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Having read your comments we are sorry your stay was not to your liking but had you raised the issues whilst staying we would have addressed them immediately. We did not receive any complaints concerning your bedding if we had we would have acted on it. We always strive to give our customers a warm welcome and a comfortable stay and we have a vast array of people stay with us and almost everyone goes home having enjoyed their stay. We feel that the comment concerning the staff was derogatory. Sorry again your stay was not an enjoyable one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Smelly rooms, carpets not cleaned, old decor, ripped wall paper, swearing in the bar and breakfast area. It is a local pub with rooms above. I don't class this as a hotel. It is on the corner of a busy road. There was nowhere to hang our wet bath towels. We had an old antiquated TV which ran through a analogue convertor and we could not get it working. Best suited to tradesmen (electricians, plumbers etc) who frequented the pub. They probably like sky TV and don't mind cramped rooms. The Hosts were not too friendly either and quick to take our money up front. Totally unsuitable to anyone but tradesmen seeking a cheap stay. Avoid this place and sleep on the beach!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gaz94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We run a friendly hotel here at The Bay and payment on arrival is the norm in any hotel, we did show you your room on arrival and you did agree to stay. We have vast amounts of guests from all walks of life that stay at our hotel and the vast majority of them go home having enjoyed their stay with us. If you were unhappy with your stay whilst with us we would have been happy to approach the problem there and then but we surmised as you stayed that everything was fine. Once again we are sorry your stay was not to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews