We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good wine, food, surroundings”

Sedlescombe Organic Vineyard
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: England's Premier Organic Vineyard. Established 1979. First producer of English Biodynamic wine in 2010. First English Vineyard to win an international award for RED wine (2013). Set in the heart of the 'High Weald Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty' and in '1066 Country' there are stunning countryside views from the vineyard and lots to see and do in the surrounding area. For individuals and small groups there is the pop-in Self-guided Vineyard & Woodland Nature Trail + Wine tasting or why not check out the range of 'Tour For Two' options that include catering and require pre-booking. All tours include a tasting of Sedlescombe's international award winning wines.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good wine, food, surroundings”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very welcoming, lovely walk on a beautiful day, wine was outstanding, lovely lunch. Great people run this vineyard and are very accommodating, very interesting tour. 5 star outing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 51stellar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    66
    31
    22
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grape experience”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My step daughter bought this experience for my husband's 60th birthday. We had arranged an overnight stay at a hotel as it was a bit of a distance for us but it was well worth it. We were not disappointed in fact it was customer service at its best. We were made to feel very welcome and the staff were all friendly and most helpful. I was driving so did not want to have too much wine so I was offered grape juice which was lovely. The afternoon tea was lovely and really nicely done with bone china cups and plates. We were not rushed at all and found it a lovely leisurely way to spend a Saturday afternoon. The wine being organic was heavenly with lovely flavours. We would have no hesitation in recommending this. It was brilliant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Susy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed experience”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I took my girlfriend here recently for part of her birthday treat.

When we got there they immediately asked to see our paperwork - We had booked through Living Social and this was an incredibly tedious and time-consuming process hampered by bad management, lack of social skills and having to spend time in their filthy caravan cum office.

The tour - well there wasn't one - basically we were asked to walk around a wet field on our own to see the vines - we didn't.

The wines and the wine tasting however were brilliant!

My advice - go for the wines but nothing more - don't expect a warm welcome or to be treated like anything more than a number.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bywaysgreen, Owner at Sedlescombe Organic Vineyard, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the trouble to write a review of your visit, and delighted that you enjoyed the wines and the wine tasting session.
My apologies that the rest of your experience did not match up or meet your expectations. Our team have discussed the issues that arose on your arrival apparently as a result of you not having a copy of the Living Social voucher to hand and not being able to access the internet to show the voucher number on your mobile (which was why our staff offered you the use of our computer in our farm office). It is necessary for all visitors seeking entry using a voucher to be able to show us the voucher so that we can record the voucher number in order that we can get reimbursed by the voucher issuing company.
Guided Tours are available (usually for group bookings) but these are not part of the voucher offer. We do make sure that the descriptions on vouchers state 'Self-guided Trail' through vineyards and woodland.
My apologies that you felt that the above difficulties could have been handled better on the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A quick tipple in the morning”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The owner of this vineyard is charming knowledgable,
and extremely patient as you sample various wonderful wines, liquers, and cider (beinbg duty driver) is not alot of fum.......but sitting writing a review with a glass of vintage cider is reward enough. Werll worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holden54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vineyard tour with ploughmans lunch”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had such a lovely time here. It was certainly on a smaller scale than we had expected, but nevertheless it was a fun and informative day out. We went on the self guided tour and returned to wine tasting in the barn. As explained already below there are 6-8 wines/ spirits to try, all of which were delicious. Particularly unique was the cherry wine! It is a lovely family run business and you are made to feel very welcome. The staff are knowledgeable and passionate about the vineyard, which makes it all the more enjoyable. The lunch was great, lots of cheese with chunky break, salad, pickle and pickled onions. The additional complementary glass of wine with the lunch is a lovely touch! The wine is fairly pricey, however it does reflect the hard work that clearly goes into the operation year-round. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sedlescombe Organic Vineyard also viewed

 
Bodiam, East Sussex
 

Been to Sedlescombe Organic Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing