We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Brickwall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sedlescombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The hotel is in a quiet village, has ample parking, friendly and helpful staff, is very clean and serves excellent meals, very good value when taken as a half-board package. Only slight downsides were old fashioned bedding and furnishings and a very weak shower (but there was a bath). Many attractions are within easy reach of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardinalpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

A most welcoming hotel after a long drive from home, 5 hours. I was going to visit Sissinghurst Garden with some friends and was recommended this hotel in Seddlecombe. Very nice friendly staff, they could not do enough for us. Lovely view from my bedroom window over the garden. I would like to enjoy a breakfast like this every morning!! We were going to celebrate a birthday and we spend a very pleasant evening in the diningroom enjoying a superb meal and excellent service .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbro f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Located in a wonderful countryside location. Very good breakfast, prepared with care by friendly staff. Clean and well equipped rooms. Free wifi for all guests. Convenient and safe private parking. Good restaurant, as well as a good pub in front of the hotel. Nice environment for walks on public foothpaths. Recommended for a stay in East Sussex. Only drawback is that the hotel building is quite old and interior decoration is quite dated, compared to modern continental European standards, but we noticed that is generally the case in the whole region.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmanuel-BE-9800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Having attended a family wedding reception at the Brickwall I would highly recommend them. Being involved with the planning, last minute changes during the two days we were there was fantastic. Feedback from our guests on the food, rooms and staff - everyone said they enjoyed it.
The team definately made it a special day for not only the bride and groom, but all family and guests that attended.
Thank-you for making it a memorable day!
JoAnne

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Ahotel where nothing was too much trouble.
All the staff were friendly and knew exactly what was required to make the guests feel at home.
Everything in the rooms was replenished daily and the roomsere spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: We were in the four poster room. The bed is a little small but it did not detract from the ambience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We visited The Brickwall Hotel after dropping the kids with the grandparents and heading for a rare breakaway. The hotel is in a beautiful country village with a nice pub next door. Room was clean and comfy and staff were really nice. However we were disappointed with the quality of the food, husband ordered a fish platter starter which had crab sticks (cheap imitation fish) - and we were only 8 miles from the fabulous fish in Hastings!! This shouldn't have been allowed!! The food is not cheap either at the hotel. My starter had potato salad (out of a pot - not home-made) which was crazy. Back in our room later that evening (around 10.30) you could hear a pin drop next door. Walls were paper thin! you could hear people's TV's and hear them sneezing (both on telly and the actual guests! Overall we were quite disappointed as we don't get out much!! :-((

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Lovely food, beautiful location and they managed to cater for the every whim and need of a large family party from a 6 month old, through a 5 yr old with a disability, to teens and up to the more sedate birthday boy of 70!
Thank you all for a memorable afternoon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downssideup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedlescombe
1.7 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
432 reviews
3.2 mi away
PowderMills Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
1.3 mi away
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedlescombe
267 reviews
8.8 mi away
The George in Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brickwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brickwall Hotel

Address: The Green, Sedlescombe TN33 0QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Sedlescombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sedlescombe
Price Range: £99 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brickwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickwall Hotel in Sedlescombe, on the outskirts of Battle, is a charming 16th century Tudor Mansion in the heart of the East Sussex countryside. The hotel is conveniently situated just off the A21, within easy reach of Hastings, Bexhill on Sea, Rye, Tenterden, Eastbourne, Tunbridge Wells, the A259 and M25. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brickwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickwall Hotel Sedlescombe
The Brickwall Hotel Sedlescombe, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing