We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brickwall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedlescombe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had our wedding reception at the Brickwall and it was amazing. We chose the hotel as we often meet family there for Sunday lunch and have also had family birthday dinners there. It has a lovely atmosphere and the staff are so friendly and helpful.
Natalie and Aldo are brilliant, from day one they helped us to organise everything and ensure that it all went smoothly.
On the day the restaurant looked amazing and the drinks in the garden room were really well done. The food was great and the all the staff were friendly and efficient and the service was quick (they were also catering for a big birthday dinner in the evening but you wouldn't have known!)
Our room was very comfortable and the hotel itself is a great place to eat and stay, it is also in a lovely location. We enjoyed relaxing in the bar after a walk in the surrounding countryside. The car park is also a decent size which was great for our wedding guests.

We couldn't have wished for a better venue, we will definitely be returning for our wedding anniversary next year (if not sooner to try out the pool in the summer!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V_Bainbridge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    70
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
56
109
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We celebrated my wife's 40th birthday at the Brickwall with dinner with friends then stayed overnight at the hotel. The food was very good value at £30 for 3 courses and service was excellent (silver service).

The hotel room also was very good value with a super king bed and clean bathroom. Breakfast served in the main restaurant with cereals, toast and cooked breakfast included.

Highly recommended for a special event.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely room, smart, clean and tidy with brilliant staff. The setting is perfect on the village green in beautiful Sussex. Very reasonably priced, too. Hard to pick a fault, would have liked better weather to test the pool. Hotel is dog friendly, too.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen10715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Only spent one night but I would certainly return here. Superb breakfast! Friendly staff and reasonable price too. Lost one star only as we were above the bar and because this place is wonderfully old it certainly isn't sound proof. All went quiet on the dot of 11pm though...Zzzzzzz

Room Tip: Not room 4 above the bar if possible, but I'm sure they will advise you in future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nipanddip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just spent five days at the Brickwall. The twin room en-suite was large, clean and well up to expectations, albeit the room looks as if its due for an update on the wall paper and interior designs, but that aside the room was great. The Breakfast and evening meals were to perfection and one little addition was the benefit of Gluten Free bread supplied for our friend for breakfast.. Not many hotels do that. All the staff have a smile on their faces at all times and are always very helpful. The owner and senior staff also are present to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one. The owner is mad on Golf so beware? The hotel is only a few miles from Hastings and a couple from Battle

Room Tip: Rooms in the new section are better. Don't have one in the main building over the kitchen as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradders829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were looking for a hotel that was suitable for someone using a wheelchair, and Brickwall was listed on several sites specifically for 'Hotel with Disabled Facilities'. Brickwall also has a wheelchair symbol displayed. But it is really not physically suitable for a wheelchair. To get from the bedroom to the restaurant there are several steps, so we had to go outside, round the building, through a garden gate (sometimes locked), and through French windows (sometimes locked or blocked by tables). Having said that, the staff were lovely, helpful, friendly and courteous, and went out of their way to help get round the physical obstacles. So we managed. And very much enjoyed our stay, as the rooms were nice and the food was delicious. I would recommend it in general, but do not think it should be advertised as disabled-friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel. We were given a very good bed, breakfast and evening meal deal. The staff were a credit to the hotel, in particular the waiting staff who were very professional and friendly. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedlescombe
1.7 mi away
Claverton Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#3 of 5 in Battle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
3.2 mi away
PowderMills Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
Sedlescombe Golf Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedlescombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in Battle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brickwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brickwall Hotel

Property: The Brickwall Hotel
Address: The Green, Sedlescombe TN33 0QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Sedlescombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedlescombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brickwall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickwall Hotel in Sedlescombe, on the outskirts of Battle, is a charming 16th century Tudor Mansion in the heart of the East Sussex countryside. The hotel is conveniently situated just off the A21, within easy reach of Hastings, Bexhill on Sea, Rye, Tenterden, Eastbourne, Tunbridge Wells, the A259 and M25. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Brickwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickwall Hotel Sedlescombe
The Brickwall Hotel Sedlescombe, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing