We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place has no interest in repeat business” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodbine House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ticehurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodbine House
Ranked #3 of 3 Ticehurst B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place has no interest in repeat business”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

The property looks fabulous in the charming village of Ticehurst, however the rooms were cold (as the heating was turned off at 9pm) and there was a scramble to get to the bathroom every morning as the hot water ran out before all the guests had been able to wash. Not what you expect from a place which charges top rates for a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcm321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed at Woodbine House for two nights either side of a wedding. Although we chose it because it was within easy walk of the wedding venue (Swallow's Oast), the place itself was reason enough to stay. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, the shower was one of the best I've ever had and the breakfast was sensational (the local sausages were amazing). Pauline is a gracious and welcoming host who gave us space and time to enjoy her home. Nothing could have beat sitting in her light filled, aga warmed kitchen with a pot of tea watching song birds flit around her garden after a hectic weekend. The village itself is a gem and I really hope the second hand bookshop around the corner keeps going forever - I could have browsed for a whole day. All in all - highly recommended - in fact - I couldn't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Front rooms are very light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hewes_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Early June 2010 we just happened to come through Ticehurst and the local Butcher pointed out this B&B.
As we roam G.B. and France during the summer months (both of us are retired and enjoy touring in our classic open two-seater) we have been able to compile an impressive list of of wonderful experiences; however, our stay at The Woodbine House
now ranks in the "top two!"
A beautiful, stylish and tastefully decorated house; the rooms and beds deserve superlatives and the care, good taste and attention given to a wonderful and elaborate breakfast forced us to rearrange our list of favorites!
Even if it would mean a considerable detour, we shall happily go the extra mile to repeat our great experience of staying at the Woodbine House! Highly commendable!
Hans& Tonia Brevoord, Holland.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E-typical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Staying at Woodbine House for bed and breakfast was a taste of Heaven! The house, situated in a quiet and charming village was immaculately clean, filled with light, spacious and a treat for the senses. Breakfast was memorable -not only because of the fresh and locally sourced foods, beautifully presented, but because of the relaxed and warm atmosphere in the house and the graciousness of our hostess. She could not have been more helpful and added an extra dimension by her awareness and sensitivity to the needs of her guests. Everything about our stay was perfect. We were enriched by the whole experience and would heartily recommend Woodbine House to royalty.

Helpful?
Thank Suzyshreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticehurst
2.3 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
1.7 mi away
Bell Inn Ticehurst
Bell Inn Ticehurst
#1 of 3 in Ticehurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shoyswell Cottage B&B
Shoyswell Cottage B&B
#1 of 4 in Etchingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#7 of 8 in Wadhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Vineyard Inn
The Vineyard Inn
#2 of 3 in Lamberhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Vine
The Old Vine
#2 of 8 in Wadhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbine House

Property: Woodbine House
Address: Woodbine House The Twitten | Ticehurst, Ticehurst TN5 7FA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ticehurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ticehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodbine House is a delightful early nineteenth century house situated in the centre of Ticehurst a charming East Sussex village. It has been recently restored to a high standard. Courtyard garden and views across to the medieval church. Everything possible has been done to ensure a comfortable stay, delicious breakfasts served with homemade preserves. Easy access to beautiful gardens, London, the east coast and castles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodbine House Ticehurst, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing