We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful surprise!”
Review of Bell Inn Ticehurst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bell Inn Ticehurst
Ranked #1 of 2 Ticehurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
TOUILLON, Burgundy
Level Contributor
185 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is the first time we have visited the Bell Inn and it was for a tasting/dining experience. Ralph Hochar of Chateau Musar was our host ably assisted by Chef Richard Kirkwood. Ralph provided the fantastic, and little known but incredible, Lebanese wines of his family whilst Richard presented some truly sublime food - what a combination.
Service in the hall was excellent and the two 'R's' explained their wine and food combinations to perfection. The fact that eleven o'clock arrived before we knew it says everything!
Amazingly, you can actually buy Chateau Musar in the pub downstairs. Don't hesitate as it is magnificent.
We would definitely go again!
Well done the two 'R's' and your team!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PROLLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We were all delighted with the way the evening went and really apprecaite you taking the time to post such a delightful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    88
    37
    16
    8
See reviews for
40
201
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Bell has bags of character - the rooms are unique - we stayed in The Then and Now. Each room has wifi, apple TV and everything you'd need for a comfortable stay. The bed was luxurious and the decor fascinating. One slight issue - the shower over the roll top bath makes it very difficult not to flood the place in this particular room.

We ate in the Bell's restaurant - the menu was great, and the staff took great care to cater for special dietary requirements. The pub is cosy, has a lovely wine list and friendly staff. There's also a beautiful garden to relax in with a glass of wine.

There isn't much in Ticehurst itself - a couple of village shops, but it's easily accessible from London - take a train to Wadhurst and then it's a short taxi ride away.

Highly recommended as a venue to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Each of the seven rooms is unique - check out the website to see the one that tickles your fancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globalgirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bromsgrove
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was a fun place to stay, especially as I love to have eclectic furnishings in my home! I spent ages wandering around and marvelling at what the owner had brought together. The Bell (apparently.....) is set in the delightful, busy little town of Ticehurst, near to Scotney and Bodium Castles, which we were visiting on our way to the Kent coast. I say busy because the local store opposite had a huge delivery at about 5am in the morning, and plenty was going on at all times of the day (and night). From the tepee with massive zebra skin in the garden ( just to play in!) and the sign written jag parked out at the front, to the old saxophones as urinals and pillar of old books holding up the ceiling in the bar, the adornments in the pub were brilliant! The large room was similar - the bathroom lovely, with gorgeous old tiles surrounding the claw footed bath. Not sure I liked the lack of privacy with an ancient louvred panel not screening my ablutions from the other half but I kind of forgave them. Great bed - lovely nights's sleep although hubby found it noisy with the 'debating room' right beneath us and road outside busy. Dinner in the delightful spacious bar a little disappointing (hence quite empty on a bank holiday Saturday night) but attentive waiters. Quite a locals drinking place too which is nice. Breakfast fantastic, at a long sunken table.......ok as the only ones there. Not many folk like sharing a breakfast table with strangers.
All in all would defo go back....except could pass on the silly trees indoors and the profusion of 'sayings' written everywhere (one or two would have been preferable!!)

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room off the road, or not over the 'function' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Well, it certainly is different! The Bell is right in the middle of Ticehurst with its own car park to one side and a great seating and garden area to the back. Inside the pub and our guest room were very spacious and full of unusual and quirky objects and paintings. Lots to look at and enjoy - but almost too much, especially the wordy bits.
We had a good meal in the restaurant with very attentive and helpful staff, the beer was good and the bed very comfy. Breakfast at the long table was also good though we would have preferred to eat at individual tables.
Very well situated for a stop-over on our journey from the Midlands to Kent. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Bell on a Thursday night, and were totally impressed by the helpful, enthusiastic staff. The room was quirky and fun without being over the top. We ate in the stable bar, and had a superb tasty meal. If you get a chance to stay at the bell, you should absolutely do it, this is how a hotel should be run, well done all at the Bell, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Get the "moon wild room" it's got a fantastic copper bath big enough for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarehamJezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

One of the things I miss about the UK now that I live abroad is the good old English pub, and in particular, a pint of bitter beer. Whenever I return to the home country I always make a point of popping in to The Bell since I can think of no where better to satisfy my need for the archetypal English pub. The building is perfect, full of quirky charm, the staff are friendly and interesting to chat to, and the food is great. But above all it is the beer that brings me back. Recently I enjoyed sipping a pint or two in the shade of the garden, sheltering from the heat of the British summer, and my attention was drawn to yet another example of their ingenius design features, a window box made from a renovated drain hopper. Whatever next? - well, I will see when I am there again.

As British pubs go, it doesn't get any better. What's not to love?

Room Tip: Try as many of the ales as it is healthy to do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oska F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Only there for one night - we were on our way to the tunnel over to France - great stop over. Brilliant start to our holiday. Food was great and the room was fab. Love the story of why there is part of the silver birch tree in each room.
We also booked a treatment - I had a facial and my husband had a massage - was carried out in our room - was very relaxing - a very experienced therapist - would recommend.
the mens urinals are a must see ( french horns! ) glad I don't have to polish them though!
Breakfast was fab - best poached egg I have ever had - perfect.
There are just so many quirky things to see - staff were lovely too.
Would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticehurst
0.7 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
15.6 mi away
The George in Rye
15.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
12.6 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
7.6 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Inn Ticehurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Inn Ticehurst

Property: Bell Inn Ticehurst
Address: High Street, Ticehurst TN5 7AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ticehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ticehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Inn Ticehurst 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bell is a truly quirky hotel and pub in the heart of the village of Ticehurst, East Sussex. Bedrooms in the main building are warm and comfortable, some featuring a copper roll top bath. There are four lodges built around a fire pit in the garden and include the extraordinary Love Nest. The restaurant serves modern British prepared from local and seasonal ingredients, whilst locals gather in the pub for local real ales and a roaring fire in winter. Weddings and celebrations a bit of a speciality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Bell Inn Ticehurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn Ticehurst East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing