We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bell Inn Ticehurst
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
T & J Motel(Flimwell)
Free cancellation until 03/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star & Eagle Hotel(Goudhurst)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Cranbrook)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One Warwick Park Hotel(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
Free cancellation until 31/05
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anand Lodge(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
195
96
38
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
96
38
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslove nestthe pubcopper bathvia secret escapeslog burnerquirky roomsprivate roof terracelight shadeswhitebaitunderfloor heatingbeautiful venueribeye steakdouble showerspiral staircasefollowing morningcooked to perfectionsunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We visited The Bell on Thursday evening as a spur of the moment decision. Food was very good, not huge portions but excellent quality and a good varied choice.I had to order a portion of chips after tasting one of my husbands, they were so nice. Staff were really friendly, and although we didn't have a lot of time to spare, we will definetly return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nevin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

You get a very good idea from the gallery on the web site. The Bell is quirky and unusual. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the massage, breakfast and our evening meal. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. One small point - out room was on two levels - someone with impaired mobility would have problems with the connecting staircase.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to post such a positive review. You are quite right about the room being unsuitable for people with mobility problems and guests should be asked about any special requirements when they book. At the moment it is not possible to accommodate people with sever mobility problems but we are planning more rooms on ground level from the middle of 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The restaurant and pub were packed and way, way too hot. We were sitting far too close to the next table and the noise was so great that we couldn't chat to one another comfortably. The staff were lovely but the food was a real let down. We had a rib steak for two which was served on a platter with two small containers of chips and a half tomato each. The meat was chewy and there wasn't much for two people. The meal was £30 the glasses of wine were £6.90 per glass. It was so hot my partner began to feel ill so we left quite quickly to get out into the fresh air. A real pity but an expensive mistake for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review, your feedback is invaluable to us. I have spoken to our head chef about the meat and he explained that it was fore rib, not a rib eye. This has the rib eye but also the top of the rib which can be slightly tougher. All weigh between 750gms and 1 kilo. This is a generous portion for £30, effectively a rib steak dinner for £15 a head. The measure of wine you were served was 250 ml, which is the equivalent of one third of a bottle.
I am sorry you were uncomfortably hot. We have to warm the pub so that it is inviting at the beginning of the evening. Unfortunately, when it gets so busy, temperature control is a challenge but we would have gladly opened a window for you. I am delighted that you found our service good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was really looking forward to staying here on the 31st October, which was a surprise for my husdand. We arrived in the afternoon and had a few drinks which was very pleasant. We went to our room as we had a table booked for dinner and a band were due at 8pm. The furniture and fixtures and fitting were very lush, expensive and good quality. What let the room down were the sticky cup circles on the bedside table which had not been cleaned, old brush from a previous "stayer" on the dressing table, and balls of human hair rolling round the floor! Also in the morning when I went to use the cafetiere it has not been cleaned and had the last person used coffee bag in it! Did I complain NO.. the main reason was because I didnt want it to spoil our night!!! We went for dinner was was lovely if somewhat pricey.. very dissapointed that the singer/band did not start until 10pm when it was advertised from 8pm. We were very tired and went to bed. Breakfast- ok.. i do not wish to be rude but the lady covering breakfast was a little scary.. the breakfast was cold but i was too affraid to say! The things I am writting here I was happy to voice when we checked out but it was the same scary lady from breakfast so I was a decided to stay quiet.

THE BELL- you need to address these simple and basic things.. unusual and quirky is fine, dirt and unclean is just not acceptable.

I would suggest people visit the Bell and give it a go, but at £105 for a room and breakfast, I want better, expect better and have been to better.. if you enjoy the BELL- try Judds Folly- far better value, equally great food if not better and a good very good standard of room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stiggy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback which is essential in our continued drive to improve what we do.

It is disappointing that you didn’t feel able to share your experience on check out, we will of course raise this with the member of staff concerned.

It is inexcusable that your room was in the condition you found it and we cannot apologise enough. We take pride in the appearance of the Bell, and cleanliness is paramount to the presentation of our rooms. This is an area we have consistently excelled in, so it is frustrating that on this occasion this was not the case. We will investigate this immediately, with a view to put in place necessary checks to ensure our rooms are always ready for a guest's arrival.

Unfortunately the band, who came from Brighton did not have with them a crucial piece of equipment. One of our team who has a band rallied round to find the necessary replacement that allowed them to play but it was much later than advertised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Such a lovely pub to chill out and stay in. The staff are super friendly, the food is great and the bedrooms are so well appointed... very comfy bed, enormous proper baths. Great place and smack bang in the middle of lovely countryside. Will 100% be back

Room Tip: ask for a room not directly over the kitchen as I was marginally disturbed from my drunken beauty sleep by the lovely staff starting prep for breakfast service but really... only if you are a light sleeper take this advice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trj88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks for taking the time to review, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews