We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wedding Guests”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at Dale Hill . The first being before my sons wedding and the second the night of the wedding. Excellent room and the bar stayed open until 2 am although the wedding was at Swallows Oast just up the road.. No fuss and very good service. As a none golfer it was fantastic to wake up in the morning and look out over the golf course. The breakfast was a delight and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Thank you for making the occasion even more memorable .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is great that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and great to hear that your son's wedding was a success and we played a part in the success of this event.

We very much hope you may return for another stay at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    131
    50
    10
    2
See reviews for
54
165
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Looked after extremely well on an overnight golf break. Excellent dinner. Very understanding as golf on Sunday was rained off and they gave us a no quibble credit for a free round then set us up with some games to amuse ourselves in the afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Great review, I am pleased that the alternative Wii Golf game was enjoyed by your party in the lounge. It was a pity that the weather intervened but we are looking forward to welcoming you back for the other round at some point soon.

Best Wishes

Carl Rundgren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights for a friends wedding which was close by. The hotel itself was pretty decent with big rooms, reasonably clean, comfortable beds and what you would expect from a 3-4* hotel. The service was excellent, room service really quick. Breakfast was fantastic with all local produce. We never used the gym or pool just because we didn't have enough time. There is a great run round a local lake (Bewl Water) which you could also walk or cycle if you wanted to.

The only down points were - no minibar and the shower kept running hot and cold.

We also took a taxi into Tunbridge Wells which was about GBP25 each way and took about 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the golf course. We were in 222.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for posting your comments following your break at Dale Hill. Its great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your kind comments to all staff involved.

With regards to the taxi services from the hotel, due to our location being very rural, taxi journeys can be more expensive than those experienced from a town center. I am surprised about the in room shower experience, these are very powerful and most guests comment on how good these are. We have investigated and not found any faults.

You mention about the running trail at Bewl Water, well we have our very own path at Dale Hill that winds itself all the way around the golf course and this can also be used as a running/walking trail and has very impressive views of the Weald.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again at some point for another stay.

Kind Regards
Carl Rundgren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

a wonderful over night stay with breakfast and 2 rounds of golf, cant speak highly enough of the accommodation ,food, organisation, friendly staff , always smiling and helpful, and 2 fantastic golf courses, sorting out the next visit already. A place not to be missed .

Room Tip: any rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear David S

Thank you for your review, its great to hear from satisfied guests and 5 star reviews are what we strive for. We are looking forward to your return visit and if there is anything I can do to make your next stay that little bit more comfortable then please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Best Wishes
Carl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Both courses are good and the Woosnam is outstanding with both in good condition. Hotel room quite basic and food was average and hotel very quiet so groups of golfers you'll need to make your own fun. Overall a good value trip

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickygees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear mickygees

Thank you for your review. Our Green Keepers have worked tirelessly over the summer and all their efforts have produced two courses that are in excellent condition. I am pleased that this was very much enjoyed by your group. As for after golf fun, we do have a pool table in our lounge bar to settle any after golf scores and if you would like further fun for your group in the future, then we can on request set up a game of Wii Golf for you in our lounge which always seems to go down well with visiting groups.

I don't have any other entertainment to offer I am afraid (but we are a small hotel in the middle of the countryside so probably understandable) but these options seem to appeal to most. Alternatively if you do like a bit of night life, Tunbridge Wells is not far away and we can arrange taxi transfers to town for you.

I would say that your assessment of our bedrooms and food is a little unfair but review sites are there to share opinions such as yours. I would like to add that I think it would be very difficult to find a hotel at a similar price locally with the quality of the accommodation, food, service and golf experience that is on offer at Dale Hill. I am sure that you will try us again at some point in future and I look forward to welcoming you back and I am sure your next visit will be most enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Carl Rundgren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our first impression of this hotel was very positive. We checked in in the evening and the receptionist was very friendly. The room was lovely, very well equipped and spacious and we both slept well in the very comfortable bed . In the morning my eyes were swollen with an allergic reaction which I thnk must have been caused by dust. This hadn't been noticeable at night but in the sunlight the next morning was very visible - when I picked up an inhouse magaine it actualy made a small cloud! The U bend could do with a good scrub too. (Room 115)

Breakfast was very nice and good quality although my husband was disappointed that the beans listed on the menu were not available on the buffet and we had to wait 45 minutes and two reminders for toast.

Overall this wasn't worth the £130 we paid for one night b&b. On the plus side the staff were all very pleasant and the surroundings very attractive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnyvinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for alerting me of the issues you experienced with the cleanliness in room 115. We are normally very proud of the cleanliness of the bedrooms in the hotel and I would like to apologise if you did not find the room up to the standard you would expect. I have tasked our Head of Housekeeping to urge the cleaners to concentrate on the areas you mention in your review and I am sure that this will make a difference to any guests that stay with us moving forward.

I am pleased that in the most part, you seem to have enjoyed your stay with us and had a good sleep experience. I do hope that you may give us an opportunity in the future to impress you.

Best Wishes

Carl Rundgren
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I used Trip Advisor to find this hotel, when looking for accommodation in East Sussex and I have to say I wasn't disappointed. Good value, clean, comfortable rooms (with everything you would need) and efficient staff. Would definitely stay here again should I need to. A great find! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katmag72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us at Dale Hill. Having found the hotel through this very website, it is brilliant to read that we lived up to our billing and the ultimate compliment is a 5 star review, we hope to be able to welcome you back again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticehurst
15.9 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
16.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
4.7 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
11.9 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
9.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Dale Hill, Ticehurst TN5 7DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ticehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dale Hill Hotel has a lot more to offer than just two delightful golf courses as you will soon find out. It has all the first-class facilities that you would expect of a four-star hotel and a few more besides. With 35 en-suite bedrooms, an award-winning restaurant, an informal brasserie, several bars, comfortable lounges, Sky TV in the bar, conference and banqueting facilities, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and air-conditioned gymnasium, it’s simply a great place to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hill Hotel And Golf Club Ticehurst, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing