We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just spent one night at Dale Hill. Rooms were spacious and bathroom modern and clean. Restaurant meals were excellent and was treated very well as a vegetarian and slightly difficult to feed visitor.

All of the staff were friendly, cheerful and so helpful, literally nothing was too much trouble. 6 of us stayed and had a lovely time. Will definitely recommend and plan to return ourselves - Thankyou. S Lade

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I am pleased to read that you were well looked after!! Thank you for leaving your review on the Tripadvisor site and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for one night. A really smart, clean hotel. The bedrooms are huge and so are the beds, food excellent and the service was first class.The grandchildren had a great time in the pool which also was maintained to a high standard. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have good views of the surrounding countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toneshirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for placing your review.

All elements of your stay were enjoyed and exceeded expectations that is what we strive to achieve at Dale Hill for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you for your return stay.

Best Wishes
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

stayed at the hotel on a groupon 2 course dinner and breakfast for 1 night.Our room was nice and big with huge bed and modern bath and shower.Dinner was ok had to wait quite a long time between courses considering there were only 3 choices, and was a bit disappointed with the mcdonalds style chips, would have thought the chef could have come up with a home made variety.Breakfast however was excellent, good choice and good service.Did not use the leisure club but pool looked good and very clean.Had a nice stay overall,room was very quiet and staff very friendly, would come again but probably not for dinner

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our bedrooms to your liking and the service received was friendly and efficient. We are currently reviewing our menu offering in readiness for the spring and summer and I am sure you will find something more to your tastes when you next stay with us.

We are looking forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards
Carl Rundgren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We've just had a 3 day break staying in 3 different hotels. We can honestly say this was the best for both quality and service. The room was lovely, food amazing and service 1st class. We couldn't fault it and will definitely be back. Thank you for your excellent customer service

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Huckers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Well that is a fantastic review and very high praise indeed. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay at some point.

Best wishes
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed hear for a night away with included meal via a Groupon deal. Didn't realise it was a golf course, but the hotel looked nice enough.
First disappointments were that the pool was very small, looked much larger in the photo, and the gym was a room with just a few bits of equipment.
The room needed a couple of fixings replacement (wardrobe door handle, stained toilet seat) and the bed was actually two singles joined, which was disappointing.
Dinner was included but we didn't realise it was two courses so were charged extra for pudding. Bizarre choice of music for Saturday evening dining, a mix of dodgy seventies pop including "I am a cider drinker" by The Wurzels!
Decor is very old traditional, which is nice enough but a matter of personal taste. Pictures of golf courses everywhere and many of them faded from the sun.
Breakfast stock running low just before end of service, but they cooked everything to order that we needed, but eggs needed to go back as they were ordered and cooked before we ordered sausages and mushrooms.
Free wifi was reliable but we kept having to log back in dispute a 24 hour voucher.
Overall, very helpful staff. Nothing worth complaining about but overall it's looking a little tired which could be improved by a little more attention to detail in the rooms (and some more appropriate music in the restaurant!).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Drummly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Drummly

Thank you for posting your review. Firstly I must apologise reference the fittings that were not up to standard in the bedroom. These were overlooked by the housekeeping team and should have been picked up in room checks. I can assure you these problem areas are being fixed as we speak.

As for the music. The choice is made by our restaurant team on the night. I can understand where you are coming from that the type of music you describe may not have been in keeping with the meal, so this CD has been removed from the rotation. If you do find you don't like the music in future, please ask a member of team as it is very easy to change to something else.

Your Groupon Voucher clearly states there is a 2 course meal included so I don't quite know where the confusion came regarding this.

I do hope that clears up the issues that you encountered and I hope that we may see you back for another stay at some point.

Regards

Carl Rundgren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Booked the Groupon Deal with two other couples for a weekend break to celebrate my birthday.
The guys played golf (£30 round for Hotel Guests on Woosnam Course) course was very damp as a result of the ongoing rainfall, and in my opinion the course should be closed, I expect that the damage being caused by continuing to stay open will seriously effect its condition in the Spring.
The girls had a afternoon tea in the Lounge Bar, which they enjoyed.
The Spa facilities/Pool are quite small.
We were unlucky to receive a very small standard room (132) which did not have a bath or wardrobe to hang clothes (it had a small open plan rail), our friends however who were on the same deal, had large suite style rooms, just unlucky on this occasion I guess.
We had a bar snack in the afternoon (Bruschetta with Chorizo, Goats Cheese & Olives) which was very tasty, and the staff were helpful in setting up the TV to watch the England Rugby Match.
Dinner was served in the upstairs Restaurant after meeting in the nice Lounge Bar for pre-dinner drinks whilst ordering from the Menu.
Unfortunately the Menu was very restrictive, three starters, mains and deserts, with a choice of two or a £6.50 supplement for the third course.
For example starters were, Salmon, Liver Pate, or Red Pepper & Tomato Soup, taking into consideration that I don't eat Fish or Pate, not much choice !
The Special Breads and Butters were a great addition.
Mains were Rump of Lamb, Sea Bass or Mushroom Tagliatelle.
However despite the restrictive menu, the food was well presented and very tasty, the Menu should have at least five choices in my opinion.
The Wine List was ok, but typically overpriced in a Hotel Restaurant.
Breakfast was Buffet Style, with little to complain about, no problems or complaints.
Had a good time, wouldn't rush back with so many other Hotels offering similar deals.

Room Tip: Dont stay in Room 132
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIMPIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Limpit

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at Dale Hill. There has been an extraordinary amount of rainfall that has fallen in recent months, but please do not worry about the condition of the golf course for the spring and summer ahead as the greenkeeping staff will get the course back to pristine condition. We have managed the traffic around the greens so the areas that are affected will be re-turfed in the spring.

I believe that the groupon deal you purchased represents very good value for money, and to offer a five choice menu for dinner would be too costly to run.

If you do choose to stay with us in the future then please do not hesitate to get in touch with me as I would personally like to look after your next booking with us.

Kind Regards

Carl Rundgren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed just one night here. Couldn't fault it. Staff, room, food and location all excellent.
Food in particular was amazing. We had dinner in the restaurant as well as afternoon tea. Everything cooked to perfection with fresh ingredients and lots of flavour.
Would I return....absolutely!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindabaker67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at Dale Hill. It is pleasing to see that all aspects of your stay exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you for your return visit.

Best wishes
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticehurst
15.9 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,264 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
14.2 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
T & J Motel
T & J Motel
#1 of 1 in Flimwell
22 reviews
15 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
978 reviews
5.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Dale Hill, Ticehurst TN5 7DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ticehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticehurst
Price Range: £77 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dale Hill Hotel has a lot more to offer than just two delightful golf courses as you will soon find out. It has all the first-class facilities that you would expect of a four-star hotel and a few more besides. With 35 en-suite bedrooms, an award-winning restaurant, an informal brasserie, several bars, comfortable lounges, Sky TV in the bar, conference and banqueting facilities, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and air-conditioned gymnasium, it’s simply a great place to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hill Hotel And Golf Club Ticehurst, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing