We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed there mid week for one night and the hotel seemed deserted. They had problem with their boiler systems, so they upgraded us to a suite at no extra cost. This was great, the room was large with view of golf course. The bar area was big but no music. The website says 'several bars' but there is only two which. People running the hotel seemed quite bored. Golf course was great! Took buggy round an interesting, hilly course - but no halfway house. 18thhole bar no atmosphere so had lunch at local pub - The Vineyard, which was lovely.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CClarke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear CClarke74

I am most surprised by your overall score on your review. You mention your room being great (very large and with views of the golf course) and also that the golf course itself was great.

The negatives were that there was no music playing in the lounge (which I apologise for, there should have been some music on in there) and that you only found two bars (There are in fact 4 bars around the hotel, one of which is a function bar and opens when we have large functions taking place. But there are 3 that are open everyday, the lounge bar, the spike bar and the 18th). You mention The 18th having no atmosphere, just to clarify that the 18th Restaurant and Bar overlooks our 18th hole and is a quiet area to enjoy a bite to eat whilst enjoying the views over the Weald and the golf course. This obviously did not appeal to you and I am glad that you were able to find a nice pub nearby where you could enjoy an afternoon out.

Other guests review us very positively on bedroom size, quality of leisure facilities, the golf courses and friendliness of staff. I believe you did enjoy these areas of your stay with us and hopefully you may be back for another stay at some point (and perhaps find all our bars too).

Kind Regards
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Organising a day out for my 10 year old daughter and her friend can be hard work, but a day at the pool at the Dale Hill hotel was just the tonic. They had a great time splashing around in the small but perfectly formed pool. And I relaxed poolside. Afterward we headed up to the brasserie -called the 18th hold - the food and service was great and efficient. At a cost of £8 per adult and £3 per child, it was a very inexpensive day out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

It's been great having families using our pool facilities over the holiday period and I am glad you had such a lovely time with your kids.

I am sure we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The location is about 2 miles off the A21 which runs from the M25 down to Hastings on the south coast. Large reception rooms on 2 floors. Modern decor. The staff were extremely efficient and pro active. Bars serving alcoholic drinks. The car park gets quite full on a weekend especially if the weather is good. A nice location for entertaining guests. I cannot think of any negative points about this hotel and golf facility. A very popular place.

Room Tip: Rear of the hotel looks out over the golf course. Front is looking over the car park which has flood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sittwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Dale Hill and we hope to be able to welcome you back for another stay at some point in the future.

Regards
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I recently arranged for 17 of my golf customers to play golf and stay at Dale Hill. I had played the Woosnam course myself in the past so I knew it was great quality, but I had not stayed at the Hotel before. They looked after us superbly, the service was brilliant and the meal that was included in the golf package was delicious. The rooms were spectacular and all the golfers loved both of the golf courses, even though unfortunately the greens had just been treated. Considering the hotel was supposed to be full, it felt really empty and all the staff were attentive and helpful, I would thoroughly recommend Dale Hill for a 2 round, golf weekend with dinner bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfgolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

It was a pleasure hosting your party, and we hope to see you back at Dale Hill again soon.

Best Wishes

Carl Rundgren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay on a Groupon deal. Bed breakfast & 2 course evening meal with use of the spa. Nice room, good size bathroom. The spa facilities consisted of a small room with some gym equipment, a small but pleasant pool & a sauna. Towels were provided by the Hotel. 2 course evening meal was good, the 3rd course was an average of £6 per item. Limited choice but we'll presented & tasty. Breakfast was lovely, anything not already within the buffet area was freshly prepared to order. The staff were all very pleasant friendly & helpful. The only downside was the bar prices. £7 for port & lemon is a bit extreme. The boys played the Woosnam course £25 each - good course. An enjoyable stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Fauts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for posting your review.

I am pleased you found the ambience of the hotel and your overall stay most enjoyable.

Our Bar Prices are checked regularly with our competitors and are in line or are cheaper with these competitors and other venues of a similar standard.

Regards
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed via Groupon and extended for an extra night. The room was spacious and very clean. Bathroom was also large with a separate bath and shower. Saturday night service and food were of a very high standard. Drinks in the bar are not cheap but the atmosphere is relaxed and calm. Pool is very small although perfectly formed, the changing area is cozy. Sunday night without the Matre D (James?) was slow, sadly the menu was the same as the previous evening, and lacked control which affected the overall feeling of professionalism. Monday morning we were told that breakfast began at 7 am. Sadly again without the Matre D was woeful. We had to leave at 7.30 and we watched the waitress bring out individual items after 7 am, it was painful to have to request plates etc. leaving at 7.30 the cereals were still not on display. Overall we loved the hotel, accommodation and restaurant. However the slow start will preclude us from risking an extra night in future!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank charliechucklechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear charliechucklechops

Thank you for posting your review following your stay at Dale Hill. It seems you had a stay of two halves by the sounds of things. It is most unusual as our standards of service are normally very consistent throughout no matter whom is working.

Breakfast on the Monday should have been ready for you from 7am and I am sorry this was not the case. There was a member of staff off ill that morning but still no excuse and we should have dealt with that situation better.

The rest of your stay with us seems to have exceeded your expectations and that is what we aim to achieve for all guests staying at Dale Hill. I do hope you will give us another chance to impress in the future.

Kind Regards
Carl Rundgren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed for one night recently and go to say it was a great experience. I was fortunate to play a round on the old course for a very reasonable £15, the course is in very good nick considering recent weather we have experienced. The back nine was a bit tricky to judge as a lot of holes you are playing blind as the name of the resort suggests there are quite a few hills, it is a great course and would love to play again now i know where I am going.
My room was lovely and spacious and had a beautiful view over the course, the bathroom had separate bath and shower and was huge and very clean.
The evening meal was the highlight of the stay though, i opted for the 3 course meal as part of my stay and I would recommend anyone staying here to do the same, each course was absolutely delicious and although the portions didnt appear huge it was very filling. The table staff were excellent, they didnt hassle you but were very attentive.
Breakfast the following morning was also to a very high standard, a full English which was perfectly cooked, not too greasy and just the right amount.
I definitely look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devonmark79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your round on the Dale Hill Course. It is a parkland style course with a great mix of holes and some big changes in elevation as you pointed out in your review.

Your positive comments regarding the food and service in the restaurant were wonderful to read and I have ensured the whole kitchen brigade read your comments. We are always striving to achieve more and I am sure your next stay with us will be just as enjoyable, if not more.

Best Wishes
Carl Rundgren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticehurst
15.9 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,234 reviews
14.2 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,472 reviews
4.7 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
713 reviews
11.9 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
21.8 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Dale Hill, Ticehurst TN5 7DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ticehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticehurst
Price Range: £79 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dale Hill Hotel has a lot more to offer than just two delightful golf courses as you will soon find out. It has all the first-class facilities that you would expect of a four-star hotel and a few more besides. With 35 en-suite bedrooms, an award-winning restaurant, an informal brasserie, several bars, comfortable lounges, Sky TV in the bar, conference and banqueting facilities, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and air-conditioned gymnasium, it’s simply a great place to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hill Hotel And Golf Club Ticehurst, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing