We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid Week Golf....a real treat.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mid Week Golf....a real treat.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here with 5 friends for one night - the great deal included 1 night dinner, bed and breakfast and two rounds of golf.
Woosnam Course....some challenging holes on a very good lay out....greens were excellent.
Rooms very nice...big fluffy towels.
Good menu selection at dinner ( beware some selections carry a supplement).
Dale Hill Course.....this being the shorter of the two course...back nine, some really nice holes.
Great value and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Well worth paying a little extra for room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for posting your review following you recent golf break with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience at Dale Hill and hope to be able to welcome you back for another stay at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    138
    51
    11
    2
See reviews for
57
175
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Golf trip for 24 people to Dale Hill for 3 nights 20-23rd May. From the moment we arrived the service we received from all the staff was excellent! There friendly, helpful and attentive approach at all times was particularly refreshing. The rooms are well appointed and spacious, many with terrific views over the golf course. The food was to a high standard and served in the impressive air conditioned dining room overlooking the 18th green. Whilst the drinks weren't cheap, they were in line with most 4 star hotels in this location and served in comfortable surroundings. Both of the golf courses were in great condition and a challenging but fair test for the group whose handicaps ranged from scratch to 24, the pro shop was well stocked and the latest electric buggy's supplied. I would have no hesitation in recommending the venue to any group of golfers. Well done Dale Hill!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilG345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear NeilG345

It was a pleasure hosting your group at Dale Hill last week. All the staff enjoyed looking after everyone and it is great that you all enjoyed what Dale Hill has to offer. I will ensure your compliments are passed onto the whole team at Dale Hill.

We hope that you may choose to stay with us again next year for your golf break, please be assured you will receive the same high level of service.

Kind Regards
Carl Rundgren
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed for one night and 2 rounds of golf on the Woosnam course. Nice comfortable rooms with pleasant decor. Good bar and restaurant. Friendly helpful staff. Woosnam golf course is a good challenge and very well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukemul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on the site. Its great to hear your stay was so enjoyable. I do hope we may see you back again for another golf break soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Let me start by saying there was nothing really bad about this venue it is more the fact that they appear not to know what they want the venue to be.

The 2 golf courses attached to the hotel were fantastic a credit to the green keeping staff
The hotel was presentable and well kept as you would expect of 4 star rated establishment.
unfortunately from this point the rest was very disappointing,
The staff were pretentious and surly especially the restaurant staff who gave the impression they really did not want us there.
Throughout our 3 day stay no enquiries were made as to whether everything was ok and if there was anything else was required.
however when 2 couples entered the restaurant the staff were fawning over them as if they were royalty.
The food while well presented was insufficient in quantity and not at all the type of fayre that 16 hungry golfers would hope to consume at the end of along days golf , many of us ended up ordering bar meals on the last 2 days prior to eating in the evenings.

In the bar the prices were nothing short of robbery as was the wine list price we all accept you will pay slightly more in a hotel but we were paying .60p per pint more than normal cost and the wine prices reflected massive mark ups on bottles of white or red £6.50 for a glass of wine £8.50 for a large glass

The breakfast was described as a buffet style but again the food was limited with insufficient food in the warmers for all to have 1 item from each when the waitress was ask if we could have some more eggs her reaction was if we had asked her to donate a major organ to a stranger, when placing yourself at table you then had to ask for tea or coffee this was not offered as one would expect on the last morning we were not even offered toast or tea or coffee and again the staff were very surly.

The rooms themselves are adequate and well presented with great showers which is always a bonus however one of the guys noticed there was blood on his supposedly clean sheets and on the carpets in the room he was assured this would be addressed it was not despite him approaching the staff twice.

My advice to the Dale hill owners Leaderboard Golf is to make a visit to the Marriot hotel at the forest of arden golf course and learn how to look after guest and to know the needs of your clients , we spent 3 great days there last year and the staff reaped the rewards with a sizeable tip at the end.

All of the guys who attended this trip are 50 somethings and most work in senior management positions or own there own companies so we are not talking a bunch of rowdy stag doers here maybe the DALE HILL MANAGEMENT need to enlighten the staff on not judging a book by its cover.

Room Tip: rooms facing the car park suffer from very high light pollution from light columns
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SSgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear SSgolf

Thank you for your review. I can assure you that the staff at Dale Hill are friendly and other reviews on this site can attest to that. There are always two sides to every story but I don't believe that it is necessary going down the line of describing specific incidents on this site but the only thing I will say for other readers of this site is that we definitely do not 'judge a book by its cover', but on this occasion some of the actions of this group were definitely more stag do orientated.

On the positive side, thank you for your kind comments about the golf courses.

Regards
Carl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for a weekend in March just to have a short break. Plenty of free parking and first impressions were pretty good. Receptionist was helpful and painless check-in. Upgraded our room to an executive room/suite and was very large. Cleaning in the room could have been better, cup rings on the sides and bits on the carpet.

The hotel basically looks like a golf club inside, with wall to wall wood panelling and heavy patterned carpet throughout, which gives the place a slightly impersonal feel and every room/corridor just blends into another. The bar area is large and the bar snacks are pretty good, but there's just no life in the place and no background music. I also think if you're going to have a staff meeting don't do it in a public bar where guests can overhear what's being said.

The facilities are okay, sauna, gym and indoor pool, though wouldn't be a hotel to visit if you like to spend a lot of time in the gym, as very small and limited machines. Pool was okay for a quick dip.

The restaurant is on the first floor, but again it just looks like any other room in the hotel, but just with tables and chairs set out, nothing that makes it stand out. The normal menu was replaced with a different menu (due to being out of peak season) and had a choice of 3 different dishes on the 3 course menu. The food was good, a tad small on portions, but nice overall. However I don't recall seeing that a limited menu would be in affect when booking, so perhaps this should have been clear on the website, as only really liking one of the dishes out of 3 mains, made the dining experience a bit boring. That said the duty manager (think his name was Rob) did go the extra mile and offered us a couple off menu, as a function in the golf club next door had some available due to cancellations, which we happily accepted and was appreciative of this.

All in all a nice enough hotel, but nothing that would draw me back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJarvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear TheJarvs

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club.

It seems our decor was not to your liking. Being a hotel and golf club, we would naturally have a golf feel in our decor.

Perhaps you may give us another chance to impress in the future.

Regards
Carl Rundgren
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed there mid week for one night and the hotel seemed deserted. They had problem with their boiler systems, so they upgraded us to a suite at no extra cost. This was great, the room was large with view of golf course. The bar area was big but no music. The website says 'several bars' but there is only two which. People running the hotel seemed quite bored. Golf course was great! Took buggy round an interesting, hilly course - but no halfway house. 18thhole bar no atmosphere so had lunch at local pub - The Vineyard, which was lovely.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CClarke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear CClarke74

I am most surprised by your overall score on your review. You mention your room being great (very large and with views of the golf course) and also that the golf course itself was great.

The negatives were that there was no music playing in the lounge (which I apologise for, there should have been some music on in there) and that you only found two bars (There are in fact 4 bars around the hotel, one of which is a function bar and opens when we have large functions taking place. But there are 3 that are open everyday, the lounge bar, the spike bar and the 18th). You mention The 18th having no atmosphere, just to clarify that the 18th Restaurant and Bar overlooks our 18th hole and is a quiet area to enjoy a bite to eat whilst enjoying the views over the Weald and the golf course. This obviously did not appeal to you and I am glad that you were able to find a nice pub nearby where you could enjoy an afternoon out.

Other guests review us very positively on bedroom size, quality of leisure facilities, the golf courses and friendliness of staff. I believe you did enjoy these areas of your stay with us and hopefully you may be back for another stay at some point (and perhaps find all our bars too).

Kind Regards
Carl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benenden, Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Organising a day out for my 10 year old daughter and her friend can be hard work, but a day at the pool at the Dale Hill hotel was just the tonic. They had a great time splashing around in the small but perfectly formed pool. And I relaxed poolside. Afterward we headed up to the brasserie -called the 18th hold - the food and service was great and efficient. At a cost of £8 per adult and £3 per child, it was a very inexpensive day out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlRundgren, General Manager at Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
It's been great having families using our pool facilities over the holiday period and I am glad you had such a lovely time with your kids.

I am sure we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Carl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticehurst
4.7 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
140 reviews
15.9 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,160 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,417 reviews
1.4 mi away
T & J Motel
T & J Motel
#1 of 1 in Flimwell
20 reviews
16.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Dale Hill, Ticehurst TN5 7DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ticehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ticehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dale Hill Hotel has a lot more to offer than just two delightful golf courses as you will soon find out. It has all the first-class facilities that you would expect of a four-star hotel and a few more besides. With 35 en-suite bedrooms, an award-winning restaurant, an informal brasserie, several bars, comfortable lounges, Sky TV in the bar, conference and banqueting facilities, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and air-conditioned gymnasium, it’s simply a great place to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dale Hill Hotel And Golf Club Ticehurst, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing