We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay & very friendly staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greyhound Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Wadhurst B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay & very friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

7 of us stayed here for 1 night on the 3rd August for my dads 60th birthday.
From the very beginning the staff were friendly & welcoming.
The accomodation was clean & ideally locatated outside the pub in a converted barn, we had 3 rooms & all were ideal sizes with tea & coffee making facilities.
The bar is reasonably priced with a mixture of locals & visitors with a lovely beer garden to the rear.
We ate in the restaurant & the food was amazing..... Fresh local tasty produce. Again throughout the evening the staff worked very hard & made sure we had everything we wanted.
We all had breakfast before leaving Sunday morning & once again freshly cooked amazing english breakfast with tea, coffee & fresh juice available to us.
Thank you for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cranium77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    19
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
16
17
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

A group of old school friends and I stayed here recently for a friend's wedding. It was a very nice little place, with a lot of old English Character. The staff were very friendly and helpful, 3 members of our party are totally blind, and the staff were very accommodating to our needs.

Location:
The Inn is situated right in the middle of the small town of Wadhurst, and there is a good shop, 2 minutes walk up the street, for newspapers, and other essentials.

The Room:
We had the family room (1 double bed downstairs and 2 singles upstairs) we found the room to be very clean, airy and idea for us. It was cleaned to a very high standard, on both mornings of our stay, with fresh towels, tea / coffee replenished.

The Breakfast:
In a word – fantastic. Plenty of choice, lots of it, and cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penfold77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We visited The Greyhound in Wadhurst during a group trip to East Sussex. As former publicans who worked hard to build our businesss we were shocked to see how poorly the landlady treated her regular customers. She practically ignored the people who were obviously local patrons, instead directing her undivided attention to visitors to the town. Amazingly, she appeared oblivious to the sissatisfaction ofthe bery people who make up the majority of this pubs takings. Certainly a convincing imitation of Coronation Street's Annie Walker of the 70's series - snooty to say the least!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wadhurst hotels

Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed for one night and was pleased with what I found.

The rooms are convereted forom the old coach house and dont look at all appealing from the outside, however they are fine for a comfortable stay albeit a little basic. Cant help but feeling that with a bit of TLC these could have some real character as they are complete with original wooden beams.

The pub was loveley and all of the staff made you feel very welcome. Food was spot on (The eggs benidict was cracking!)

Would certainly use again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My sister and i stayed for 2 nights for a family wedding the room was very clean and bed comfy although first night the room very hot as windows not been opened and weather boiling after opening window and down for a pint things cooled down nicely left window open during all our stay. The legendary breakfast lived up to its name and was wonderful plenty of choice and cooked to perfection. The staff were warm and friendly and very helpful. Would def stay again had a lovely time.

Room Tip: If weather hot ask staff to open windows before arrival as can be hot and stuffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the pub so to return must say something! The rooms are in what would appear to be a converted coach house or garage, they are clean and tidy and well fitted out and perfectly sufficient for a night stay. Our mattress was very thin and we tended to roll to the centre, the ensuite was again clean with plenty of hot water but only a shower available. Breakfast started at 7:30 and was extremely good, all in all good value for money.

Room Tip: Floors are very thin, ask for a room with no above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogbrain30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimereux, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Our second trip to this traditional pub in the lovely town of Wadhurst. On both occasions the food and beer were excellent and the staff welcoming and accommodating. Lovely warm open fire. An ideal base to visit the beautiful Kent countryside and surrounds. Our 1 yr old granddaughter loved the whitebait! Pleasant garden for when the sun shines.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadhurst
5.7 mi away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
5.7 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Best Beech Inn
The Best Beech Inn
#1 of 8 in Wadhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Vine
The Old Vine
#2 of 8 in Wadhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Property: The Greyhound Inn
Address: St James Square, Wadhurst TN5 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wadhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wadhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greyhound Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Inn Wadhurst, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing