We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, great atmosphere, Best Pub in Wadhurst”
Review of The Greyhound Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Wadhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is probably the best Pub in the village of Wadhurst, with its open fire and great ales it's not one you should miss.
Staff are friendly, there is a large beer garden and the food is good.
Never too busy so it's just a nice place to go for a meal and a drink.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

The rooms at the Greyhound are actually in a converted barn that adjoins the pub and offer small but clean accommodation - by small I mean that there was just enough space for twin beds and the chest of drawers - cloths had to be hung on coat-hangers on the coat rack or over the interestingly placed tie bar (meant to hold the front and back walls together!) in our room.

We did have a problem with our shower fitting - great water pressure and temperature control but could we get the shower head to stay up in it's mounting ...? There are also issues about the position of the only mirror (in the shower room) and the nearest plug socket - more than the length of the average lead on the hair dryer, straightening tongs, etc. (This is clearly a lady thing!)

Overall though we were happy with our accommodation and the breakfast in the pub was excellent and freshly cooked to order - where else are you likely to get eggs benedict unless in a fairly high star hotel and the scrambled eggs on toast were just like I would do at home.

A last word of warning - try not to get the room closest to the road as traffic noise can be very noticeable!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortsmouthDiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The accommodation in this 16th century inn is not in fact in the hotel itself; it's the converted stables to the side of and in front of the hotel. It fronts on to what is referred to as a 'dining terrace', but which is merely a number of tables in an unattractive pebble-covered open space next to the High Street. As such, the terrace and the room, were quite noisy. The website says the stables have been "lovingly converted" but there's not much evidence of that. The room itself was large enough but felt pokey, in part due to the expected exposed beams and low ceiling, but more because of poor lighting and a very inadequate tiny window. The room is large enough to have a small bench or table to sit at but has neither, and only one chair. The bathroom is tiny, smelt musty, lacked a towel rail, and the floor linoleum was badly fitting and not stuck down. The towels were child size. The room heater - quite efficient - could not be turned off. The bed was comfortable and the linen fresh. There was a nice welcoming touch with a large selection of teas in the room, and fresh milk was provided on request. The dinner meal didn't appeal - a small menu of mostly fried offerings. The only options in Wadhurst (a not especially attractive village) are two Indian restaurants, or you can opt for a trip to nearby Royal Tunbridge Wells where there are inumerable choices available. Breakfast was quite adequate - juice, cereal, toast and a small range of cooked meals, which we both thought was tasty and fresh. Overall we were very disappointed and didn't think the experience was worth the 79 pounds we paid for B & B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumbo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here when going to a wedding in the village. The pub itself is lovely and has character, the rooms were very well presented and had everything we needed. The highlight was probably the breakfast, where we had all manner of choice from full English to eggs benedict to porridge. Great value and lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saffronrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Had a lovely lunch at the Greyhoound. First time we've ever been, won't be the last!
Beautiful food, big portions! The food arrived quickly and it was excellent quality. The staff were very helpful and the atmosphere was just brilliant.
The locals were all friendly and they made us welcome.
I would very much reccommend the greyhound and definately the sticky toffee pudding!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

stayed overnight whilst visiting relatives. lovely place. stables tastefully converted for accommodation. good sized room with very comfortable bed and adequate bathroom. couple of minor items needed attention which we mentioned to the proprietor but did not detract from our stay. spent a pleasant hour or so in the garden in the sunshine which was really restful. no meals served the evening we stayed there but had a nice meal up the road within walking distance. decent breakfast with good choice. good value all in all. would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFW5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and never got round to writing a review. The food was excellent and the menu varied, the room comfortable and clean. We were unfamiliar with the area but sought some excellent advice from a handsome barman who kept us entertained all evening. Thank you, will stay again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wadhurst hotels
1.5 mi away
Little Tidebrook Farm
Little Tidebrook Farm
#3 of 8 in Wadhurst
25 reviews
4.6 mi away
Forest Edge Motel
Forest Edge Motel
#2 of 8 in Wadhurst
27 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old Vine
The Old Vine
#5 of 8 in Wadhurst
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Best Beech Inn
The Best Beech Inn
#4 of 8 in Wadhurst
79 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bewl Rookery B&B
Bewl Rookery B&B
#1 of 8 in Wadhurst
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Address: St James Square, Wadhurst TN5 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wadhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wadhurst
Price Range: £56 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greyhound Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Inn Wadhurst, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing