We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great country pub for lunch”
Review of The Best Beech Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Best Beech Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Wadhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I visited the Best Beech on the recommendation of the greengrocer in Wadhurst as the best pub for lunch in the area and he wasn't wrong.
The car park was virtually full which was a good sign and the pub and restaurant was full of locals and we received a warm welcome from the landlord. The service was friendly and efficient.
The food was excellent, I had vennison stew from the specials board and my sisters had the vegatarian option, which they rated highly. The beer, Harvey's, was well kept and the house wine also good.
The gents toilet needs a refurbishment but the overall decor is good and matches the country pub theme.
If you want a good country pub with good food and drink with a lively atmosphere then I can recommend the Best Beech.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Arrived at 7pm and ordered a drink before booking in and were welcomed so warmly by the landlord. This set the tone for the 3 nights we stayed! We were treated like family and they couldn't do enough for us.
We only ate in the evening once there but the food was lovely, the menu suited all tastes and very reasonably priced. The cooked breakfast was also nice, it was quality not quantity.
The bedroom was a reasonable size as was the bathroom. They were comfortable but in need of a little tlc.
Overall great stay and would return without hesitation

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I can only imagine that other reviewers are friends or family of the owner. Their opinions do not match those of myself and my wife in any way. We booked and paid two months in advance for a three night stay, and were met by a lady who showed us to a dilapidated room at the back of the premises above the kitchen. The dressing table would have looked tatty in a junk shop, and the wardrobe was unbelievable. NO hanging rail, just a series of random hooks fastened to the back and under the shelf. Virtually impossible to suspend more than six coat hangers because some of the hooks swivelled round and the hangers fell off !. There was only one bedside table, and the bedlinen was creased as if already used. There was a flimsy curtain separating the bathroom from the bedroom, and the towel rail, towel ring and over-basin shelf were loose and coming off the wall. The toilet window had just a net curtain and was overlooked by the attic window of the house next door. The shower cubicle door jammed shut and was almost impossible to open from inside, in fact my wife couldn't do it without my helping by lifting it from outside. We have been to places that are a little run-down, but the atmosphere has usually made up for the decor problems, and we were prepared to forgive, forget and enjoy our break. Unfortunately, our forgiving nature was severely tested after our second evening meal, when we were told by the waitress that we had to settle our bill before retiring to bed. The previous evening, we had drinks and a meal, and all was to be charged to our room, but now suddenly we were told that we should have paid at the table, and were required to do so immediately. Having paid the bill as requested, and made it clear that I regarded their treatment as unfair as we had already paid in advance for our bed and breakfast, I was told by a man lounging on the bar, who I assume was the owner, that other guests had left without paying, and he had no alternative but to ask people to pay as soon as they had finished eating. I told him that I had trusted him with my money two months previously, and he had no reason to think that we were untrustworthy and would leave without paying. The following day we stayed out until the late evening, and retired without visiting the bar. That night the curtain rail in the toilet fell down, a fitting tribute to this second rate establishment run by a publican who doesn't trust his patrons.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestBeechWadhurst, Owner at The Best Beech Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I can assure you that all our reviews are written by independant people all of whom have stayed at the Best Beech. We make every effort to assure that our guests have a pleasent stay with us. We do ask for people to settle their bills at the end of the evening just in case by mistake guests leave without paying, which has happened to us sadly. We are a country pub with rooms, which is reflected in the prices we charge, we are not a big multi national hotel chain with facilities to charge things to peoples rooms and settle at the end of their stay. We are a family run business and always try to go the extra mile to make guests feel welcome, comfortable and have all they need, as is reflected in all our other reviews. We have undertaken some works in the room following the points you raised. Sorry you felt this way, but again thanks for taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The new team make you feel very welcome. They have got a bit of work to do to bring the decor up to scratch but they more than made up for that with the warmth of the welcome and the great breakfast! The food is locally sourced and the thick cut bacon was some of the best we haveever tasted.
They are vry dog friendly too with helpful advice on where to walk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestBeechWadhurst, Owner at The Best Beech Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Many thanks for the review, really appreciated

Spence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at the Best Beech following a family party in Lamberhurst in August. We looked to stay closer but were noot disappointed at all with this wonderful find. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and we booked a family room and were actually given two adjoining rooms. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bed linen was crisp white cotton and so comfortable. Tea and coffee making in the room too along with freeview TV. Our room did not have a shower but a large bathroom with shower attachments on the bath (useful for washing your hair!!)
Breakfast was very good value too and was plentiful and delicious. Fruit, Cereal, cooked breakfast and toast
The location was quiet and peaceful and an excellent find.

The staff were very helpful in arranging us taxis to and from the party we were going to. We would have no hesitation in going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Having heard the best beach had been taken over we decided to go for a spot of lunch. We walked in and was welcomed by the barmaid who was friendly and very attentive.. It was clean and had a nice atmosphere.. We had our food that was average.. And not presented very well..looked like it had just been thrown on the plate.. Also the ciabatta could of been cut in half... But The prices were very cheap compared to the local pubs in the area overall we were very happy and would go back

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Turtle455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed with The Best Beech Inn over the August bank holiday for one night and from the moment we arrived to the checking out we knew we’d made the best choice for the area. The owners were so friendly and helpful and make the atmosphere. We and our Whippet dog were made to feel incredibly welcome. We learnt that the new owners took over the Best Beech Inn only 10 weeks previous to our stay and they have worked really hard to get it up and running and refurbished the bar, restaurant and rooms to a very traditional country retreat. The room and en-suite were perfect, very comfortable and both the dinner and breakfast were excellent. We will definitely be checking in again when next their way. Thanks for great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Four poster room, really spacious with TV, drink making facilities, good bathroom/b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadhurst
5.1 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
5.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
889 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#8 of 8 in Wadhurst
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Little Tidebrook Farm
Little Tidebrook Farm
#2 of 8 in Wadhurst
24 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bell Inn Ticehurst
Bell Inn Ticehurst
#1 of 3 in Ticehurst
334 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bewl Rookery B&B
Bewl Rookery B&B
#1 of 8 in Wadhurst
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Best Beech Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Best Beech Inn

Address: Best Beech Hill, Wadhurst TN5 6JH, England (Formerly The Best Beech)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wadhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wadhurst
Price Range: £65 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Best Beech Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT 2016. The Best Beech is a beautiful country inn located on the outskirts of the village of Wadhurst in East Sussex. The Best Beech offers a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere and is the ideal place to catch up with friends or relax with family. The restaurant offers traditional dishes and uses local suppliers wherever possible. In addition The Best Beech offers six well appointed en-suite rooms, all equipped with flat screen televisions, and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Best Beech Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Best Beech Hotel Wadhurst
The Best Beech Inn Wadhurst, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing