We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Simply Indian

Simply Indian
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in Wadhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
East Sussex
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Really good Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A very good Indian restaurant in the village of wadhurst. Would certainly recommend it - menu is varied and the various dishes we've had have all been good. Nice atmosphere and certainly popular as frequently busy. Reservation recommended for weekends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaWooldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    38
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wadhurst
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“DONT EAT THERE ON A SUNDAY!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Thought we would try it again on a sunday evening due to the last time we had it on a sunday it was terrible. So went for a take away with the usuals like the chili chicken,mushroom rice etc. it was £36 pounds of total disappointment. Dont get me wrong we have eaten there on a friday and the foods has been very good but i think maybe they dont have the main chef on a sunday. Think he might be knackered cause of playing football down the park every sunday lunchtime

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank whippets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and quality service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

First visit to Simply Indian, and i can say it was a wonderful experience. With great food and quality service we went home very happy. Chicken Korai and Gazor Lamb had so much taste to it, that we ordered extra pilau rice to finish our meal. Defiantly will be back and will recommend friends/family.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamun34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rather bland indian food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I found Simply Indian produced shocking bland food. We had about 7-8 dishes and none were particularly tasty. I would also say that the food was rather oily tool, as the were little pools of fat. You can't even smell the spices. Maybe, they did not put much in hence the lack of taste.
It is the first time I've come across a bland curry in 40 odd years.

To be honest I think most people could cook better at home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank stargate128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Shocking service and ordinary food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Ok it was a Saturday night but it wasn't full. It took 45 minutes to get our starter and then they tried to serve us the food which the next table had ordered! When our food eventually came one dish was wrong and another dish was mild when we ordered medium as it was too mild last time we had it there. My lamb balti was ok and the chicken sagwalla was also ok but the channa masala is bland. Why do they then ignore you when you want to reorder drinks? Are they trained to not look at the tables? I think they've dumbed the food down too much and are getting complacent about service. And there's nowhere to park!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JeremyKnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simply Indian also viewed

 
Wadhurst, East Sussex
Ticehurst, East Sussex
 
Ticehurst, East Sussex
Wadhurst, East Sussex
 

Been to Simply Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing