We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Temptation ”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Willingdon
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 May 2024 via mobile

Temptation on my doorstep. No matter what the time of year I am always tempted to pop into the Red Lion. Can always guarantee a warm welcome. Excellent service and good food. No matter how busy the staff are they are always helpful. Just popped in for a drink but its never just a drink. Always tempted by the food on offer whether its a snack or a meal. Today was no exception. A simple drink in their beautiful garden became a drink plus snack..Maybe blinded by the beautuful weathet and it being a local it was simply a delight. The atmosphere was wonderful, the weather perfect, the drink hit the spot and the food as always was brilliant.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank chriskM5612ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2024

As always brilliant & friendly service, food first class, especially the roast & chefs pie. My 89 yr old Mum in Law has been coming here for 70 years, and love it!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2024

Been several times and consistently excellent food .
Love eating here as food is really superb - very friendly and helpful waitress last night - 13th Feb

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katey e
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2024

Another excellent meal at the red lion. Freshly cooked fish and chips and delicious belly of pork, with polite and attentive staff. What more do you need from your local.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2023

We visited on a weeknight in December and ordered off the Christmas menu. The traditional Turkey dinner arrived, it was 1 and a half thin slices of turkey, 1 overdone pig in a blanket, some hard veggies (peas were like bullets), a thin slice of stuffing and 3 soggy watery potatoes. It felt like it was not freshly cooked and it was a very disappointing and tasteless meal. A lot of people look forward to a meal out but we would not recommend this meal. The pudding came with ice cream, it was pure ice like it had been dug out of a tub that had been defrosted several times. In general the food was definitely not up up to the price that was charged. I think these things could be easily rectified by the management.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank S7689CVjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.