We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalk Farm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalk Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willingdon
Devon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

My sister-in-law had her 60th Birthday Celebration here at Chalk Farm Hotel. It is a beautiful, cosy hotel, there is a lovely bar area and then a restaurant area for the meal. The food was fantastic. It has a lovely cosy, personal feel and the staff were really friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to people.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingston1Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    14
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
9
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

As a guest I went to chalk farm I was very impressed with the high level of standards , every room had been excellently prepared with ever minor detail attended to , the staff were excellent with us and I would highly recommend this hotel whether or a short break a family or business function or just a lovely meal out :) it also has a lovely garden with home grown vegetables and some animals, and the prettiest views and garden x

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina220980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
javea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I have just stayed at this lovely hotel for the fifth time.
The staff are always so friendly and helpful, the bedrooms are clean and comfortable and the newly renovated bathroom was luxurious.
Full English breakfast was quite superb...beautifully cooked and well presented.
Wilingdon is a delightful Sussex village at the foot of the South Downs.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Thanks to Annie, Hamish and Becky for your welcome and kindness.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but my favourite is room 8. Overlooks the front garden, plenty of space and a fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We have used this Hotel for many family occasions, birthdays, family weddings etc: It was where George Orwell wrote Animal Farm, It has an ambiance that you only get from a well loved happy home, It is quirky and old and atmospheric, I adore it. The setting is glorious nestled in the South Downs and has a beautiful garden. It has a garden centre and tea rooms and is run by a charity. It also serves very good food. Annie the manager and her staff are very pleasant and accommodating and helpful , An utterly charming place, I can't wait for our next family event. Thank you Annie and Chalk Farm.

Room Tip: Most are really good with some lovely views of the downs or garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Chalk Farm was recommended to us by friends who were putting on a 60th Birthday party at the Hotel. We studied all details of the hotel prior to booking in and it looked great. We were not disappointed one bit on our arrival and found the staff warm and friendly. Becky was the most welcoming person i had met for a long time. Very polite and would do anything for you and always with a smile..Thank you Becky x
We had room number 7 which overlooked the working farm with a lovely hillside backdrop and sheep in the fields.
The beds were comfortable and we both slept like logs. The room was clean and well decorated and towels were provided.
The price was reasonable and the bar prices were good. £3 for a pint.
Breakfast was full English if required as well as much tea/coffee as you want. Cereals, toast, fresh orange juice, jams and spreads were all there for you.
There was a buffet provided for the party which was fantastic. Lots and lots of food. Sandwiches, chicken, sausage rolls etc.. All really fresh.
The gardens are lovely, with a wide variety of interesting shrubs and flowers and there is even a plant nursery behind the hotel which is open to the public.
All in all,, can't knock this hotel one bit and look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sibucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We booked Chalk Farm for a funeral reception for a family member.
The reception by the staff was outstanding and very understanding for a sombre occasion.
Buffet food was plentiful and of great quality. Tea and coffee was supplied on demand and replenished on call.
I could not fault the staff on their service and attitude, which was second to none.
I would definitely use Chalk Farm for any other occasions, and did recommend it to our neighbour, who also had a sad loss. They were very happy with the venue and asked to pass on their thanks.
Well done Chalk Farm. You made a sad occasion very easy and a pleasurable experience.

Martin Koch.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East sussex
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Our party of twenty six recently visited the hotel for a celebratory meal to celebrate our Grandad reaching the tender age of 90 years young! The venue was very attractive from the outside and didn't disappoint inside either.
We had a lovely three course meal which was fantastic value for money, served by friendly staff, all of whom made us feel very welcome.
A number of our party who had travelled from afar stayed overnight and reported that the rooms were very adequate and comfortable.
I would not hesitate in recommending this lovely hotel/restaurant and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willingdon
3.1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
2.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalk Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalk Farm Hotel

Property: Chalk Farm Hotel
Address: Coopers Hill, Willingdon, Eastbourne BN20 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne > Willingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalk Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chalk Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalk Farm Hotel Willingdon, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing