We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff but room smelled old and musty”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old House

The Old House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old House
Ranked #4 of 4 Braintree B&B and Inns
Weedon Bec, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Helpful staff but room smelled old and musty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The owner made me feel quite welcome when I arrived but demanded payment right away which took me aback slightly but not to worry. I was given a room with a four poster which was clean and tidy but oh dear the smell of damp and general old house mustiness was overpowering and I had to open the window to let in some fresh air. The breakfast was OK. Would I stay again? Sorry but no.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for 1 night over a weekend - a charming house with original features. We stayed in the ground floor Pine Room with fabulously comfortable four poster bed and en suite with a generously sized shower. There was a good choice of breakfast types in the dining room lounge, we both plumped for the English Breakfast which was enough to keep us going until a late lunch. Our hosts were most welcoming - if we ever visit Braintree again we will be sure to make another booking :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiv8jenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in November, we thought it might be three but I'd inadvertently double booked a night and it was more convenient to stay at the other hotel. The hosts were terrific when I suggested that we'd pay half the fee is they were able to re-book. Well when it came round to paying for the last night they didn't even mention or charge for the cancellation.

The House itself is period, in fact Bradford Street, where the B&B is located is on a road with one of the finest collections of period properties in all the UK. The central location is first class with off street parking. The B&B is a few minutes walk to the Braintree & Bocking public gardens and only a 5 or 6 min walk to the towns main retail district.

The Old House is beautifully maintained and clean and I'm very particular in this regard. The rooms were sizable, but not all have an en-suite. The first night we had an en-suite room, but the second had a personal bathroom available across the landing.

Beds were comfy.

The Breakfast in the front room was very agreeable. The Husband wields the frying pan while the lady of the house, takes the orders, while you helped yourself to cereal and fruit juice from the side table.

So all in all a very enjoyable stay with honest & friendly hosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

First stayed at this spot for our wedding night nearly twenty years ago ! Really enjoyed our stay then and again this time .
We booked our original wedding night room , with the four poster . The same owners are still in charge and we were greeted with a big smile and a warm welcome. The room was still great and nice and comfortable . The en-suite was modern and looked new.
Breakfast in the morning was lovely however the sausage was too heavily flavoured for my wife, good for me , I liked them and ate hers !
Overall an enjoyable stay . Again !

Room Tip: We've stayed in the Pine Room twice and had a great night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmsleysxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at The Old House last weekend for a wedding at the Fennes which is v. closeby. Although the pictures are good they don't really do the hotel justice. We stayed in the room pictured (with the two red arm chairs) and it was huge, with lovely old furniture and an absolutely huge bathroom. The room and bathroom were both spotless and the bed was very comfortable. There was nice attention to detail with teas/coffees and a kettle in the room as well as soaps and shampoos in the bathroom. The rooms were located apart from each other so we never heard any other guests or felt like we were disturbing them in the corridors. Breakfast was cooked to order and was extensive, full english with vegetarian option, cereals, toast, teas/coffees and juices. The owner was also very friendly and extremely flexible. She allowed us to get access to the rooms from about 11am so that we could get ready for the wedding etc. So all in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilda1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

The Old House is a delightful old house that has been beautifully maintained and modernised. Our beds were very comfortable, lovely fresh linen and a yummy breakfast in the morning. Sue is a polite lovely lady who made me feel very comfortable. The only room for improvement is the shower could do with a bit more pressure, but that is probably a huge task in a house of its age.

Room Tip: If you like a lot of character in your B & B, this one has centuries worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

I booked this b&b as it was a friend's birthday party locally and then read the reviews....and then I felt the fear. However, I can cheerfully report back all the good things other people have said this year about this place. No crazy owner in sight waiting up for you, no being turfed out on the stroke of kicking out time. It is located fairly centrally, it was easy to find and the website was clear when explaining room choices, prices and bathroom options.
Our room was spotless. The bathroom was either brand new or it is the cleanest, most sparkly bathroom I have had the pleasure of using (with two shower heads!!! One normal and one huge one that makes you feel like you are standing in a rainstorm!!). Two towels per person, the big one was huge and fluffy (my pet hate:tiny scratchy towels) The only let down was the breakfast. There was enough of it but I'm not a fan of everything being fried (why fry a potato smiley face?!?). It is an old place so yes it is a little murky in places and the floors are a bit slopey, but this is all part of the fun staying somewhere old. Over all, I would go back if I ever have to go to Braintree again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
0.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 5 in Braintree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree
Premier Inn Braintree
#1 of 5 in Braintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coggeshall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.8 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House

Property: The Old House
Address: 11 Bradford Street, Braintree CM7 9AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Braintree
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old House Braintree, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing