We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Braintree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Braintree
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Braintree
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Was everything I expected and more for £29 a night! Just a bit hot in the room. Normally wouldn't be an issue in the UK. Staff were extremely friendly and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was also an option - but I did not try it on this occasion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    109
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
126
166
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk vulcan
Level Contributor
156 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

back for another visit and shopping at Freeport. Staff are so friendly and helpful. rooms have been refurbished and are nice. Not sure about the cleaning materials for the bathroom - a bit of a funny smell....
good breakfast - great porridge

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tcauUkVulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Last weekend we had to visit our family in Essex, I was fortunate enough to pick the Premier Inn at Freeport village. I was very impressed with the location, it was a short drive away from a train station and Freeport village it was also next door to a large garden centre so the wife was happy. We opted for the all you could eat breakfast £8:95 and there was a continental style breakfast available too 6:95 as I remember. A great breakfast served by helpful friendly people. After visiting our relatives all day, we returned to our room at the Inn which was up to its usual good standard. There are only showers I think so if your are a bath only person check first. After a comfortable nap we thought we would visit Fowlers Farm vintage pub/restaurant. It was great, good food helpful staff and plenty of space. There was an outside seating area and we sat there and enjoyed the 29 degree heat. Could have been in Spain! I would highly recommend this Inn and the attached restaurant which we hope to visit again some day. Well done to all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

First visit to a Premier Inn as have stayed in some horrible budget hotels in the past but this was close to a wedding was attending.

Staff are so friendly that I can't believe it's part of a chain. They are a big plus point to this hotel I think. I travelled with my husband and toddler who we got a separate room with an adjoining door and everything had been provided. My child was even given a little colouring pack which was a nice touch.

Very clean, very comfortable and VERY good value for £30 per room advance.

Breakfast was quit nice and varied, fresh.

Only little gripe was that we were on the ground floor next to the entrance so did get woken by merry guests loudly returning and did hear noise from the next room. Think these people were being particularly noisy though. And we also went to the other PI which is on the other side of the roundabout so beware! Think there is a lot of confusion as they are so close!

Otherwise, great stay. Lenny Henry - you were right!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The staff here are what makes the difference- we had specific needs relating to travelling with a 96-year-old gentleman in a wheelchair, and once they were aware of this, they couldn't have been more helpful. Splendid service. Very nice clean room with comfortable bed as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee8057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronda, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Basic hotel made so much better by the staff! The young woman on reception was exceptional! Friendly and efficient. The rooms are nice and modern with good tv's and comfy beds. Easy parking. Nice garden centre next door!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlumpyRonda_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for one night, to break our journey on the way home from an event. We stay at Premier Inn hotels regularly and this one met all our expectations. There were plenty of free parking spaces, which we consider important in our choices, due to partial disability. A very friendly staff member on reception and an efficient check in process had us quickly installed in a ground floor room to the side of the hotel which borders the garden centre. This meant that the room was very quiet and we had a view of hedging from the window. In the extremely hot temperatures this summer, the staff had made sure that the curtains had been kept drawn to keep out the heat. A large, 3 speed fan was also available in the room and we found that it was quiet enough to run it throughout the night to keep cool. It ensured that we got a comfortable and good night's sleep, as per their good night guarantee.

The room was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. The shower had a super large hand hold and little texture spots on the shower tray to increase safety. The shower pressure was a little low, but we are used to a power shower at home, so most showers don't have the pressure that we are used to. The bed was very comfortable. A sheet was provided if you didn't want to use the duvet in the heat. Pillows were excellent.

We had breakfast the following morning and as usual, there was plenty to choose from. Good range of cereals, breads, muffins, croissants etc. Fruit, yoghourt, juices, and beverages. You ordered your cooked breakfast and it came up hot and tasty.

Will definitely recommend this hotel to others and will stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigardafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
1.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 5 in Braintree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
5.3 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Braintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Braintree

Property: Premier Inn Braintree
Address: Cressing Road | Fowlers Farm, Braintree CM77 8DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Premier Inn Braintree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bag some bargains at the Premier Inn Hotel Braintree Freeport Village - peacefully situated just over half a mile from Freeport Designer Village. We're the same distance from the Freeport Train Station with fast links to Stansted Airport and Greater London. Business guests are also well placed here. Retail might be less on your mind though if you're on the guest list at wedding venues The Fennes, Gosfield Hall and Leez Priory. Or if you fancy history at Hedingham Castle or some outdoor fun at Great Notley Country Park. Whatever brings you to Braintree, enjoy all the comforts you'd expect including an onsite restaurant, a spacious room and a comfy bed. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. Please be aware this Premier Inn only has showers. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Directions: From the M11 junction 8, follow signs to A120 Colchester & Freeport Shopping Village. At Galley's Corner Roundabout, take forth exit and then left into Wyevale Garden Centre. The hotel is adjacent to Fowlers Farm and garden centre. Transport and local information: Braintree Train Station 2 miles Riverside Sports 1 Mile Castle Headingham 8 Miles Stanstead Airport 16.5 Miles Cinema Complex & Bowling Alley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Braintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Braintree (Freeport Village) Hotel Braintree
Holiday Inn Braintree
Premier Inn Braintree Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing