We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with excellent road network nearby.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Braintree
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel with excellent road network nearby.”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Stay here for business usually every two weeks.
Clean place and my preferred choice when working around these parts.
Only snag is my room tonight (126) has noisy air-con, not the norm though.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel if your in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griltig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    123
    61
    17
    10
See reviews for
63
96
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for a family wedding in November 2012.

As we’ve stayed at this location before, I can draw comparison from when it was a Hampton Inn. I preferred this hotel when it was Hampton Inn as the rooms seemed better the public spaces seemed better and the breakfast was much better. One thing that is still excellent, is the staff. They’re friendly and helpful – I don’t think that you can ask for much more than that. Having said that, rates seem to have beco0me cheaper since it became a Holiday Inn Express.

The biggest grumble I had is that I booked this hotel when it was still a Hampton Inn and about 6 weeks before I stayed, I received an email from Hilton saying that this hotel would no longer be a part of the Hilton portfolio and that the new operator would honour my reservation. There was no mention of the new operator – we had no idea who this was until reviews started appearing on Trip Advisor. There is no reason that Holiday Inn shouldn’t have contacted all booked guests by email, to confirm what the hotel now is.

We stayed with a child, which was the first time we’ve stayed in a hotel since our three-month-old was born. We requested a cot, when booking (this was not transferred to the Holiday Inn booking and had to be requested again). However, it was happily provided. I don’t know what is normally provided in hotels for babies – but we were provided with a travel cot and no sheets or anything. Knowing that our son would not sleep in there anyway, he slept in between us in the main bed, which was plenty big enough for this to happen.

The room is fairly standard – the beds are really comfortable, complete with tea & coffee, TV (with many channels) and a good shower. The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment.

All in all – its OK and at the end of the day it is a hotel on the side of an A-Road, so you're not going to stay here without a reason. (You can't hear the road by the way). Although, whereas the Hampton Inn was worth the extra money you’d pay for a Premier Inn, I would probably only stay here if the rate was attractive enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

We arrived earlier than expected and were checked in easily despite being a couple of hours early than you are supposed to be. Rooms were clean and spacious. Queen size bed was a nice luxury. Everything as expected from stays in similar hotels before. Staff were very friendly and quick to make sure everything was ok. There was no noise from the dual carriageway despite it being so close I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrswhymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I needed a hotel urgently as my house was sold and I couldn't get in to the new place, so I booked in here for four days. The staff are lovely and very helpful, but there were some issues in changing to Holiday Inn Express as it is now.

There was no Wi-Fi, although the signal was there, no one had the code to log on, and the number on the help sheet in the room was "number unavailable" So I had to buy a dongle. I have emailed their HQ about this, but they say it will take up to 14 days to reply to it, which is hardly customer service.

The room was clean, although the hand wash was empty and the shower bracket was broken, so it could not be angled. The room was of a very good size, for this type of hotel.

The breakfast was not up to expectation, the sausages must have been vegetarian as they seemed to have no meat in them. Scrambled eggs and beans accompanied them, although the last morning the beans were off the menu. I had one evening meal which was awful, not a chef in site and from the microwave.

I won't say don't stay because I think once the transformation has completed it will be better and the staff will have to stop apologising for what isn't working, or missing.

HIE, need to make it look a tad more cozy, it was like walking in to a modern hospital, very clinical, and look after those staff, they are an asset.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyandgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Bit of a strange on this, I stay at HIE's all the time but this one feels different.

The reason of course is that is has just been taken over from Hampton Inns so the room design is different and, I have to say, not as nice, certainly not as nice as the new design HIE.

Check in was very friendly as was check out. Didn't have breakfast as had early flight from Stansted (about 15 minutes drive at that time in the morning). Did order from the dinner menu the night before though and I got a stuffed crust Chicagotown pizza that you buy in the supermarket, anyway it was fine.

I guess the biggest issue, and I presume this will only be a temporary one, is that there is a large travelers camp right outside the hotel. Apologies if my concern upsets anyone and I don't wish to perpetuate stereotypes, but there was a lot of dog barking etc coming from outside the caravans and this kinds of made me a bit nervous about the car but they had posted a security guard to patrol the area overnight so I am sure everything was safe.

I guess I will try it again a few months and see if it has settled more into a HIE groove!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank animalthatswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABERLOUR
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Only stayed 1 night. We have 2 dogs and notified them on booking. Ground floor room supplied with plenty of room for dog beds. Really helpful staff. Meals could be taken in our room. REALLY comfy bed and a great night's sleep. Hotel became a HI Express in Nov 2012, Lots of fresh painting and exceptionally clean and tidy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

At the end of the day, this is exactly what it says on the tin: a chain hotel, situated on a dual carriageway, on the outskirts of a town struggling to cope with high drugs/crime/unemployment, illegal immigrants and very near to an International Airport. You can't really expect (especially at these prices) to be getting any sense of luxury here. That said, it does fit the bill - sometimes all you need is a 'stopping-off point' - if you have an early start from Stansted, or you are desperate for that bargain from the sales at the Designer Outlet near by, then obviously this may well be the answer to your dreams. There's a friendly face on reception, a well-stocked bar and fairly well-equipped rooms. More importantly for many perhaps (especially given its fairly 'remote' location - in terms of safely accessible places to eat on foot that is) is the free hot breakfast that is included.
Particularly disappointments were the air-con not working and the hot water ran out in the morning (a common issue apparently) and the dirt in the 'common' areas. The rooms could benefit from a refurb and overall this isn't a place I'd feel safe to be in if I was alone (female). However, as I said, for some occasions I can see this place would be suitable as a place to stay. I wouldn't have a ground-floor room. Who knows who's lurking around this car-park at night?

Room Tip: Stay on the side away from the dual carriageway (noise), but on the second floor for safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wowzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
1.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 4 in Braintree
367 reviews
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
9.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
276 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
136 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rivenhall Hotel
Rivenhall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Witham
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Braintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Braintree

Property: Holiday Inn Express Braintree
Address: Panners Roundabout Notley Cross, Braintree CM77 7AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Braintree 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary comfort meets historic beauty, welcome to the Hampton by Hilton Braintree. From its designer shops and traditional pubs, to its breathtaking gardens and rolling countryside, the area surrounding the Hampton by Hilton Braintree hotel is just waiting to be discovered. Our hotel is an ideal base for London Stansted Airport and exploring Essex and the surrounding cities, such as Chelmsford, Colchester, Cambridge and Newmarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Braintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Braintree Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing