We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A CONVENIENT AND COMFORTABLE STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Braintree
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A CONVENIENT AND COMFORTABLE STAY”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We were visiting the area for a wedding; staying just two nights. We wanted it as a base, as a motel rather than a luxury stay. The hotel is smartly furnished as was our room. The room had the same set out as a Travelodge but the fittings were newer, smarter and well maintained. Of course there is quite a cost difference.

I was very disappointed to have a shower but no bath. I will be more cautious and specifically ask when booking with Holiday Inn in future. The whole hotel was extremely clean and well ordered. There was no plug for the bathroom basin but I always carry one in my luggage (yes, I am anal retentive). The desk staff went the extra mile and were very pleasant indeed.

Breakfast was rather poor on both days. However, oddly both days were different in approach. Day one there were no croissants or bread rolls but there were very nice mini muffins. The second day no mini muffins or anything really but some tiny croissants arrived after about 15 minutes -- they were rather leapt on by hungry visitors. Tinned grapefruit was OK but fresh fruit would have been better. Is the scrambled egg available in hotels actually made of egg, often it doesn't taste like it is and that was the case here.

I got a good deal for this stay and overall we were comfortable but there are some things needing attention asap.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leloroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    124
    63
    17
    10
See reviews for
64
97
17
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bampton, Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed there last night. The hotel is in a strange place a long way from anywhere. Transport is required for a decent meal. Staff were first class and very helpful. It's difficult to find many faults as generally the place isn't that bad. But the beds are very uncomfortable and the pillows are a bit rubbish. This morning it took ages to get hot water to the shower and even then it barely trickled out.

Here's the worst bit though - the 'breakfast'. There was maybe 20 guests in the breakfast area and there was one, yes just one, tiny croissant, some yoghurts (but nothing to eat them with), some manky looking sausages, dried up scrambled egg and some sloppy beans. There were guests wandering about looking for something to eat and giving up, just having a drink. No staff arrived to assist, or to review the need for food, at any time I was there, which was about 30 minutes. I do feel that offering breakfast and then providing nothing is counter productive.

Still, the staff made up for any negatives. Shame there wasn't more of them.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Braintree, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear SteveLee_12,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words intended for the staff. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the bed and pillows, mos especially with breakfast. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here as it was close the a wedding we were attending. Was very impressed with the room. The bed was very comfortable, the wardrobe, dressing table etc were good quality and finishing touches like pictures and lights were very tasteful and well thought out. Also little things like shower gel dispensers in shower, notepad and pen in the room - small things but thoughtful! Breakfast was a buffet service, which had a good mix of cereals, pastries and cooked food, which was very nice. They had a good bar and thought the lounge area with sofas etc was a lovely relaxing area. Finally, the staff were friendly, helpful and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

firstly as a gold member of priority club i stay in many holiday inns i do prefer the holiday inns more than the express as you have better bars and restaurants?but saying that its the staff who make an hotel?and from my first impressions i am well happy! lovely smiling receptionists who dealt with my check in brilliantly!! it used to be a hilton hamptons?its lovely and clean and has a snug little bar area?sarah is such a lovely lady full of the joys and willing to help!! am very impressed by the whole place! i know that major chains can be souless places?but i will without doubt stay here again as the staff are lovely!!also the young lady hazel very friendly and down to earth?but yet still very proffessional! when in in braintree i normally stay in the premier inn a120?but from now on i will be staying here! the prices in the bar are very reasonable 3.80 for a pint of becks i find very reasonable indeed so take a hint from a seasoned traveller try the braintree holiday inn express as you wont be dissapointed!thankyou again ladies for being yourself it makes a difference trust me!! kindest regards craig room 128 xx

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 237craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great location if you are visiting Braintree, England. The hotel looked like in was built recently. The price for the room was resonable and the staff friendly. The guestroom was modern and quite considering it is near a major road. Breakfast was great and inviting. Minor items noticed was hair in the bathroom from a previous guest and overflowing garbage cans at the entrance to the hotel. But this would not stop me from choosing this property again.

Room Tip: Always ask the front desk to have a look at the room before checking in. Saves time having to move l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahenyirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here three nights with my husband and father whilst visiting relatives in the area. It was surprisingly quiet and peaceful considering it is sandwiched between two busy roads. It has been built quite recently I think and the area around the hotel grounds itself, could do with a bit of a makeover. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient and our rooms were very clean and comfortable with everything we needed available. Myself and my husband found the bed fine but my father felt his mattress was too soft. Although the breakfast was plentiful and there was a good continental choice, the hot options were limited to scrambled eggs, beans and sausages (which were not very pleasant - pasty, soft and not much taste). and this was a bit disappointing as a cooked breakfast is always 'a treat' when we go away! Aside from this, it was very good value and I would definitely stay there again for a single night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salonta, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I reached this hotel only because the portal I was using at job provided me as the closest tot the airport of Stansted.
I was nice to meet a very nice team at this hotel, from the receptionist to the waiter in the restaurant. Nicely placed, quite, very clean and spacious, it worth to pay a visit if you are reaching this city. it had also a good price. in the end it was 20minutes away from the airport, but had a very good sleep there.
Big plus also for good WIFI connection (free); big and comfortable bed (soft/hard pillows) etc.
will choose again if needed in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farcas25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
1.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 4 in Braintree
374 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
143 reviews
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
8.4 mi away
Travelodge Colchester Feering
7.4 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Braintree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Braintree

Property: Holiday Inn Express Braintree
Address: Panners Roundabout Notley Cross, Braintree CM77 7AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Braintree 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary comfort meets historic beauty, welcome to the Hampton by Hilton Braintree. From its designer shops and traditional pubs, to its breathtaking gardens and rolling countryside, the area surrounding the Hampton by Hilton Braintree hotel is just waiting to be discovered. Our hotel is an ideal base for London Stansted Airport and exploring Essex and the surrounding cities, such as Chelmsford, Colchester, Cambridge and Newmarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Braintree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Braintree Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing