We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely Christmas Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kilns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kilns Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Brentwood B&B and Inns
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
“A lovely Christmas Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

How this place managed to deliver the high quality Christmas Dinner with all the problems of flooded roads around them escapes me. Lots of people were delayed as the A127 was shut along with several roads surrounding, and many only passable with care due to the amount of rain water, this meant that we had to have an extra drink waiting for our table to be ready as others who were late had to finish their dinners, it was no great problem for us as we just enjoyed the company in nice surroundings in the lounge, the poor waiting and bar staff were really snowed under, but managed to keep a smile on their faces, tho it must have been hard. The Christmas dinner was excellent, our veggies were perfect, and the portions generous. I hope the staff got a wee bonus for managing what could have been a disaster, it was much appreciated by our party of 9,

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    76
    26
    16
    19
See reviews for
55
68
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Christmas day lunch £52.95 . What a disappointment. Understaffed/inexperienced.
Menu - Starters not served altogether first two served warm soup with a hard roll next two served 10 mins later. Mains - Meats ok and generously served but the presentation and accompaniments rendered the meals completely unappetising i.e. roasted vegetables were black. We decided to vacate the place at this point. The bar was laden with dirty glasses and the staff very stressed. Not an Xmas Decoration in sight as the Proprietors believe Xmas should not be celebrated!! That being the case then charge EveryDay Prices and NOT cash in with Festive Rates. The Kilns Hotel should at least have the decency to warn potential customers what they will be getting so that customers can stay away!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilns, Owner at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Sylvie B,
We do remember you from our staff feedback, you appeared to be a little disgruntled when you arrived and remained that way until the time you left. We put it down to the bad weather and the difficulty people were experiencing to just arrive here on the day. You may recollect the weather conditions caused serious delays as many local roads, including the A127, being closed by the police due to flooding. Many of our guests were seated as the arrived, over an hour late in some instances. In addition, you may not have known that we were let down by agency staff which put our staff members under more pressure than we would have wanted. However, as the service industry requires, even on Christmas Day, our staff were here, on time ready to serve you. They are ALL experienced and they performed well in light of the situation.

In respect to the food we offer, whether that be special occasions such as this or our usual week day menus, we pride ourselves on the highest quality food served, excellent presentation and a fair and reasonably priced dining experience. We think our reputation speaks for itself and after investigation find no reason here to defend that. We try our best to please everyone but realise it is impossible at times no matter how hard we my try. This is an example of that fact. WE are always unhappy when our guests are not pleased with their experience here and always invite constructive feed back. Both the manager and a director were working that day and it would have been nice to have had the opportunity to correct anything you found not to your liking, but we were not given the chance to do that. Instead of ungraciously finding the time to write what we feel is an unfair description of our event. Nevertheless, you should remember that although most of the main courses we served you was eaten, you neglected to mention in your comment we did deduct 50% off your food bill in good spirit.
 
With regards to your comments about the owners personal views or beliefs regarding Christmas, we find this an irrelevant statement “Not an Xmas Decoration in sight”, as our regulars know, and yourselves on arrival, our premises is not large enough to house ‘in your face’ decorations, nor do the management or owners like tacky paraphernalia, hence our decision on décor for the occasion was subtle with poinsettias, flower arrangements, candles and LED lighting. In respects to anyone’s beliefs, we would not impose the beliefs of others on those enjoying a festive celebration. Guests bring their own festive spirit with them, and enjoy the occasion as they would with others.
 
We understand that we have to be thick skinned in this industry because, unfortunately, we understand that people will complain no matter how the situation was solved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I have had lunch twice at the Kilns and dinner once. At all times the service was impeccable (a very helpful chap whose names escapes me) and the food was superb. The bill is very friendly too! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank njaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I've just left the kilns, stayed for one night, had a lovely time. Room was lovely very clean as was the whole hotel, food very nice and the staff where very very good. Well worth a stay or a night out for a meal.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

This a great little find tucked away just off the A127 Southend Arterial Road near Warley,Essex.
We arrived Sunday afternoon and was greeted by the Manager who served us drinks in the nice bar / lounge area.
Our friends then arrived and after another drink the waitress took us through to the restaurant where we ate our delicious home cooked Sunday roast with all the trimmings(beef,lamb and pork on menu),our meals where really hot on hot plates a must in my books.
This was our first visit here and we will go back - they also do a steak night too which looks really yummy with a great menu.
The Kilns is tastefully decorated to a very high standard the bar and restaurant is good too with very good prices.
We didn't stay here just ate but if our meals where anything to go by its a great place to stay too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJB_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Took my mum for afternoon with a glass of champagne Food was excellent.Staff were friendly ,helpful,with a special personel touch.Was so good going back for overnight stay on one of their friday steak nights Cann't wait

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzy_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

On a positive note, this hotel was in a fantastic location for transport links and close the venue we were going to.

When we booked we couldn't get one of the bigger double rooms so we went for a twin and pushed the beds together... which worked fine and was a decent alternative. The room itself was clean and the bathroom was okay too. The TV controller didn't seem to work very well and even with a replacement from reception it wasn't much better. Still, didn't watch a lot so it wasn't a big issue. I was expecting a lot of road noise, considering we were on the end of the building in the extension and how close the building is to major roads. Pleasantly surprised at how quite it was though.

Before heading out we stopped for a drink at the bar. While small it seems quite nicely stocked with a good selection of drinks.

Both my wife and I were looking forward to breakfast as the brochure mentioned freshly baked croissants and pain au chocolat's to accompany the continental breakfast. Breakfast runs until 10am and we arrived at 09:40 to find that there were no freshly baked pastries. I mentioned this to the man on reception (I assume the manager) and he was a little annoyed that this had happened as they should have made more. The continental breakfast didn't offer a massive choice anyway so we opted for a cooked breakfast for a small supplemental fee. So, after a little disappointment, i.e. no nice pastries, the cooked breakfasts were very good and set us up nicely for the day.

I get the feeling this hotel could be a truly great place to stay with just a little more attention to the detail. It was still very nice and we're already considering another visit, so that's a good endorsement. We've been told that rooms 2 or 3 are the large double beds and if we stay again we should try to book one of them. Looking forward to it.

Room Tip: We've been told that if we book in advance rooms 2 and 3 are the King-size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron_Galbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
0.9 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Devonshire Hotel
Devonshire Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hornchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
5.4 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kilns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kilns Hotel

Property: The Kilns Hotel
Address: Warley Street | Great Warley, Brentwood CM13 3LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kilns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built Circa 16th century, The Kilns Hotel is a classical Grade II listed Queen Anne’s building having undergone many period changes over the years. A favorite with business travelers and people visiting friends or just Brentwood.The hotel retains much of its original charm and character. However, much of its period features have been lost over time but has now evolved into an extremely comfortable, modern and contemporary style petite hotel with an air of sophistication, rarely found outside central London.During your stay, you can experience our excellent food and selection of fine wines while dining at The White Napkin Restaurant and Bar (Essex Food & Drink Awards 2010/11 finalists) which can be used by our residents, and is open to non-residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Kilns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kilns Hotel Brentwood, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing