We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kilns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kilns Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Brentwood B&B and Inns
Istanbul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Golden Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My Husband and I had a party for thirty guests at the Kiln on 7th September - the quality of the
food was excellent and the service was the very best that anyone could wish for - everyone said
that they could not believe that a small hotel would be of that high standard. Many thanks to
Patrick and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    77
    27
    16
    19
See reviews for
56
68
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night during a business trip. Great location just off the m25 but really does feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, very quiet! The room I had was not to the lavish standard the website would leave you believe but it was clean and comfortable, and very much good value at £77 for the night. I had dinner in the restaurant which I have to say was delicious if a bit overpriced, and I was a little shocked to be charged for two glasses of tap water. Overall a good stay with some minor dissapointment.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Second visit here (the first over a year ago) and I would return if in the area again and need a friendly and professionally run place to stay. Its not a part of any chain and locally-owned. A converted house with no more than 15 rooms I guess, some recently added to the house 'motel style'. Small bar and restaurant quite popular with guests and some outsiders too and bookinga dvised. Great English breakfast though limited buffet for those that can't indulge in the morning. Quality coffee, the bar sells the draft Guiness 'in the can' (which I have never seen elsewhere). No room service and a weird excuse why-if their is spillage it takes a day to clean it up and they lose a night's income! They must have had some messy eaters in the past.....No double glazing so a bit of road noise if you are front-facing. Nothing around about so need a car, 10 mins from Brentwood where there is also.... not much! The Thatcher pub nearby looks quaint but not as promising as it looks but thats another story!

Room Tip: Room 3 is a nice size (double) but front-facing so a bit of noise and the extractor fan is not very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Lovely quality food, served by bright, friendly, efficient and knowedgable staff. Its very hard to find fault, my scallops were divine, my wife and friends all enjoyed their food just as much, we had a really nice time and will visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed at The Kilns with my husband as part of a wedding party and although the room and shower room were small, it was clean and comfortable. We ate at the restaurant and the food was excellent. But what struck us more than anything was the warm and friendly staff who couldn't have been more helpful and made our stay memorable. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night here in Room 5 as I was in the area for work.
Plenty of parking and the public areas are a modern design and welcoming.
I had a single room which was clean and minimalist in design but very small, for just one night it was OK but it would have felt too cramped for a longer stay. The ensuite shower room was small but very clean and nicely fitted out.
The bedroom was well equipped, I had a comfortable bed, the electric fan is a nice touch in the hot weather although as it turned out not very effective.
I ate in the restaurant, which was nicely laid out but on the expensive side, the food however was good. I think they could benefit from a light bar /snack menu or perhaps a restaurant discount for resident guests. I think that for a guest travelling for work on a weekday, the gastronomic menu is a little extravagant. The buffet breakfast included in the room price sounded fantastic so I didn't order a cooked breakfast (extra cost), however I must have been the last down in the morning as it had been wiped out by the other guests and not replenished so it wasn't as good as I was expecting.
Overall a good looking, comfortable hotel with friendly and polite staff. I would stay again but pay the extra for a double room and get up earlier for breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0tech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My sister, my niece, and I, spent a most memorable evening at the Kilns. We were put at our ease from the moment we entered the reception by Patrick who informed us "that we were there to be looked after". Then came Jammie, our smiling waiter, for whom nothing was too much trouble, he was polite, pleasant and very professional. Our meal was second to none, we all enjoyed every mouthful, our compliments to the chef!!!

Our room was clean, well furnished and equipped, with good lighting. The beds were VERY
comfortable and we all had a good nights sleep. Ample soft whiter than white towels and great
showers finished off our short stay. We were made to fill so welcome that none of us wanted
to leave. The only problem we had was that our taxi firm let us down (nothing to do with the
Kilns) but thankfully for us Donna on reception stepped in unprompted and put herself out to
find us the cheapest cab home. What a service!

It was evident that all the staff pulled together in a friendly and harmonious manner and took great pride in their jobs, the attention to detail was refreshing and hard to find these days.

Thank you all so much for a very enjoyable one night stay. I would just like to add, I have never
bothered to write a review before, but felt that you deserved to be praised. WELL DONE.

Mrs. Church.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joycamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
2.7 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.0 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Devonshire Hotel
Devonshire Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hornchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.3 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Romford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kilns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kilns Hotel

Property: The Kilns Hotel
Address: Warley Street | Great Warley, Brentwood CM13 3LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kilns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built Circa 16th century, The Kilns Hotel is a classical Grade II listed Queen Anne’s building having undergone many period changes over the years. A favorite with business travelers and people visiting friends or just Brentwood.The hotel retains much of its original charm and character. However, much of its period features have been lost over time but has now evolved into an extremely comfortable, modern and contemporary style petite hotel with an air of sophistication, rarely found outside central London.During your stay, you can experience our excellent food and selection of fine wines while dining at The White Napkin Restaurant and Bar (Essex Food & Drink Awards 2010/11 finalists) which can be used by our residents, and is open to non-residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Kilns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kilns Hotel Brentwood, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing