We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea with friends”
Review of The Kilns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kilns Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Brentwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“afternoon tea with friends”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

we had a very nice afternoon tea 2 scones each with jam and clotted cream, sandwiches, selection of delicious cakes,and a glass of bubbly!
service was good and extra tea was had by all.
we went on a Groupon voucher which was excellent value.

would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelabuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    79
    28
    16
    19
See reviews for
59
71
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

First would like to say a big thank you to the staff you excelled your selfs.
Secondly to Deborah for making everything run so smoothly we had the perfect meal and the perfect day and nothing was to much trouble and we didnt have to worry about a thing!!

Thanks alot Mr&Mrs Mcturk ;-)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank turkish125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Date Rating



English first Any










































truckersgirl

London, United Kingdom



Senior Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews

Reviews in 13 cities




My friends and I went to the White Napkin restaurant fat this hotel for Christmas Day lunch and encountered a lot of the problems experienced by several other reviewers. We had been forewarned that we would probably be seated in a marquee but were assured it would be comfortably heated. Our table was in a corner right up against the sides of the marquee where a heater was placed.On reaching our table the heater was blasting out so much hot air that no-one wanted to sit on that side. We had a word with the manager and he turned it down for a while which then left us feeling very cold – consequently the entire meal was spoilt by one or the other of us keep having to turn this heater on and off.

I understand that temporary staff are brought in for these occasions but it seemed that they hadn’t had a lot of training – soup was served without spoons and the bread was served later. Main course arrived without roast potatoes which were served later so our meals were getting cold (having not been piping hot in the first place). Some of us who had the turkey did not get any stuffing so we had to ask for this. My friend found two pieces of string in her meal, told the waitress who just said sorry. She was offered another meal but by that time my friend has been put off! I would have thought this complaint would have definitely warranted an apology from management but that was not forthcoming.

Service was very slow and we had to wait a long time between courses. Dessert was served without spoons and these were then put in a heap at the end of the table. The serving of tea and coffee was also a shambles as teapots came first, then cups, then teaspoons followed by saucers. Milk had to be requested too.

I would like to say though, the waitresses did try their best but It was very obvious that they were overburdened with waiting on so many tables between them, getting quite flustered at times. The hotel have definitely overstretched themselves in creating more tables outside the original restaurant which has always had such good reviews.

Finally, where were our Christmas crackers?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truckersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilns, Manager at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention your views from your reservation with us on Christmas day.

Unfortunately on Christmas day we had to contend with a number of issues which were out of our control. These were serious enough for us to consider having to cancel the day. However, it was decided that doing so was unacceptable.

Without going into details, we realise that these problems are not the concern of our guests and we had to do our best under the circumstances to continue with the day.

We have received many good reviews and thank you letters directly from guests for Christmas day, Christmas-eve and also Boxing Day, and if you have eaten with us in the past you will know that our standards are much higher than those experienced by you on the day, and for this we apologise.

With regards to Christmas crackers, although we ensure the venue and table flower arrangements are kept elegant and seasonal we did inform all of our host guests when booking that if they wished to have specific decorations on their tables, that they were very welcome to bring these with them. Every year we have guests select us as their choice for Christmas and New Year specifically because we do not overly dress our rooms with decorations but opt for a more subtle approach. So we always try to find a happy medium to suit all guests and allow guests to bring decorations if they wish.

The Kilns staff work very hard and we take pleasure in spending time with all our guests, it is always our priority to ensure you have an enjoyable dining experience with us and we hope that you will give us opportunity to prove ourselves to you if you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Our friends have been talking about going here for a long time and they were regulars. We paid reasonable price for Christmas Day but that does not mean you should get sub standard quality. Firstly no where to park when we walked in we found out why, the place was clearly over stretched cashing in on Xmas day ! We had to squeeze through he bar eventually being able to get a drink but with no glasses so the barman was washing them up in front of us resulting in cold drink hot glass so did not stay cold for very long.
Took over an hour to be sat have to say felt sorry for the waitress as you could feel the ambiance in the marquee was bad with 50 unhappy customers. The marquee was boiling hot then freezing cold so was very uncomfortable. We eventually got our food which was ok couldn't see what our friends had been raving about and they were very embarrassed having recommended it. There was no decoration in site in our glorified tent! Xmas day was ruined by a greedy business. The only good thing about it was the company. Will URGE not to go !

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilns, Manager at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention your views from your reservation with us on Christmas day.

Unfortunately on Christmas day we had to contend with a number of issues which were out of our control. These were serious enough for us to consider having to cancel the day. However, it was decided that doing so was unacceptable.

Without going into details, we realise that these problems are not the concern of our guests and we had to do our best under the circumstances to continue with the day.

We have received many good reviews and thank you letters from guests for Christmas day, Christmas-eve and also Boxing Day, and if you have eaten with us in the past you will know that our standards are much higher than those experienced by you on the day, and for this we apologise.

We are sorry that you had difficulty parking. We had arranged for over-flow parking in the carpark opposite the venue, however you may have missed the signage for this.

With regards to Christmas crackers, although we ensure the venue and table flower arrangements are kept elegant and seasonal we did inform all of our host guests when booking that if they wished to have specific decorations on their tables, that they were very welcome to bring these with them. Every year we have guests select us as their choice for Christmas and New Year specifically because we do not overly dress our rooms with decorations but opt for a more subtle approach. So we always try to find a happy medium to suit all guests and allow guests to bring decorations if they wish.

The Kilns staff work very hard and we take pleasure in spending time with all our guests, it is always our priority to ensure you have an enjoyable dining experience with us and we hope that you will give us opportunity to prove ourselves to you if you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

After reading other reviews for the hotel I feel obligated to write a review and explain why I use the hotel so much; accommodation has all you need for a comfy nights stay, free internet and is clean and fresh. The staff are friendly, helpful and pleasant. After using chains for so long that fall down on one or more of these points most of the time this IS a gem of a place and long may it continue. Lastly the food, which comes in above ANY of the chains and many local restaurants in my book.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilns, Manager at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post such nice comments for The Kilns, we are pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us.

So many of our guests return to us on a regular basis and we can sincerely say that our team of staff take pleasure in spending time with all our guests and our priority is ensuring you have an enjoyable time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were so looking forward to an intimate Christmas dinner at the Kiln this year having previously had some fantastic Sunday lunches there. However regrettably things started to go wrong from our arrival, our table was booked for 3.30 but when we arrived a 3.15 the bar was already full with people waiting to be seated from earlier sittings and the bar ran out of glasses. We did eventually manage to get a drink and we're not seated at our table until 5.00 and at no point did anyone apologise for the delay. Our table was in the marquee which again was a big disappointment as had we known that we would be sitting in a tent on Christmas Day we would clearly not have booked. The Marquee did have a heater, that was either on or off so the temperature was up and down and we sat and ate our dinner with people on the surrounding tables wearing their coats.
The Marquee seated around 60 people however we only had two members of staff to cover us all, when we were seated the table only had forks so when the soup arrived for some of the starters there were no spoons, the whole meal was a constant request for missing cutlery. The food itself was enjoyable, although no Brussels with the turkey, yes some of us do like them, and one green bean made the vegetable selection disappointing. The two members of staff serving did their best to keep happy the number of dissatisfied tables around us and this should not be seen as a reflection upon them. The whole situation appeared to have been completely mis managed the first sitting ran on for far too long or wasn't allocated enough time and the additional seating created by the Marquee put too much pressure on the waitresses and the kitchen staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilns, Manager at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention your views from your reservation with us on Christmas day.

Unfortunately on Christmas day we had to contend with a number of issues which were out of our control. These were serious enough for us to consider having to cancel the day. However, it was decided that doing so was unacceptable.

Without going into details, we realise that these problems are not the concern of our guests and we had to do our best under the circumstances to continue with the day.

We have received many good reviews and thank you letters from guests for Christmas day, Christmas-eve and also Boxing Day, and if you have eaten with us in the past you will know that our standards are much higher than those experienced by you on the day, and for this we apologise.

The Kilns staff work very hard and we take pleasure in spending time with all our guests, it is always our priority to ensure you have an enjoyable dining experience with us and we hope that you will give us opportunity to prove ourselves to you if you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I also had Christmas dinner here. We were sat down to dinner 2 hours late with no explanation. The tent which in no way represented a restaurant was cold the table un - laid from its previous use and the basic cutlery, glasses & condiments missing. Food when it arrived was tasty. The Christmas hospitality was missing in a big way, no festive cheer left for the second sitting. If this is classed as petty then so be it but I think we had a right to have the same service as the first sitting

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tryaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilns, Manager at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention your views from your reservation with us on Christmas day.

Unfortunately on Christmas day we had to contend with a number of issues which were out of our control. These were serious enough for us to consider having to cancel the day. However, it was decided that doing so was unacceptable.

Without going into details, we realise that these problems are not the concern of our guests and we had to do our best under the circumstances to continue with the day.

We have received many good reviews and thank you letters from guests for Christmas day, Christmas-eve and also Boxing Day, and if you have eaten with us in the past you will know that our standards are much higher than those experienced by you on the day.

Please accept our apologies that the delay experienced for your seating time in the second sitting was prolonged much longer than we wished. Please be assured that we were working hard to keep to seating times and conclude dining for the first sitting's guests by their pre-agreed times and whilst ensuring all had a relaxed and festive environment.

The Kilns staff always work very hard and we take pleasure in spending time with all our guests, it is always our priority to ensure you have an enjoyable dining experience with us and we hope that you will give us opportunity to prove ourselves to you if you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.0 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
711 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
959 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
583 reviews
3.7 mi away
Devonshire Hotel
Devonshire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hornchurch
219 reviews
4.3 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Romford
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kilns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kilns Hotel

Property: The Kilns Hotel
Address: Warley Street | Great Warley, Brentwood CM13 3LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kilns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built Circa 16th century, The Kilns Hotel is a classical Grade II listed Queen Anne’s building having undergone many period changes over the years. A favorite with business travelers and people visiting friends or just Brentwood.The hotel retains much of its original charm and character. However, much of its period features have been lost over time but has now evolved into an extremely comfortable, modern and contemporary style petite hotel with an air of sophistication, rarely found outside central London.During your stay, you can experience our excellent food and selection of fine wines while dining at The White Napkin Restaurant and Bar (Essex Food & Drink Awards 2010/11 finalists) which can be used by our residents, and is open to non-residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Kilns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kilns Hotel Brentwood, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing