We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You want Sugar? You're too late!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You want Sugar? You're too late!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Premier Inn. You pretty much know what to expect, just from those two words. This, like almost any other Premier Inn, is fantastic. Not much else to say really. Oh wait, there is something...

What makes it stand out is that this isn't any old (or new) Premier Inn. Oh no, this one has got some history too!

Remember the 1980's? A British company fronted by (Sir) Alan Sugar.... Produced cheap computers, fax machines and the like - even a dedicated emailing telephone. Amstrad.

This Premier Inn is the former HQ of Amstrad, and the outside is completely unchanged from those days. No longer though do the corridors echo to the sound of Sir Alan's shoes, but much more likely the sound of stilletto's - certainly on a weekend.

Brentwood is home to tv's TOWIE - and as a result all surrounding hotels (even the Travelodge!) are packed to the rafters on a weekend. Luckily the interior (unlike the exterior) has been completely re-engineered and even the late night drunken stumblings in the corridors are unlikely to disturb your dream time.

My wife and I enjoyed a sound nights sleep, on a busy Saturday night. And no, we weren't on the TOWIE trail!

Recommended

Room Tip: Unless you like to look out over a railway, ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    248
    63
    29
    24
See reviews for
159
171
37
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gifford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I'm working in Brentwood for a few months and needed somewhere to stay 3 or 4 nights a week. There isn't a lot of choice in the area so my options were limited. Having stayed in various Premier Inn's I know what to expect and this one is no different. Most PIs are purpose built places but this one is different as it is a converted 1960s office building. I've been told it was Alan Sugar's Amstrad Head Office. From the outside it does not look appealing as it still looks like a 60s office building. Inside it is more like a standard PI.

Once in a room you could be in any PI anywhere in the UK as they are clones of each other. This is no bad thing as you know what to expect i.e. comfy rooms, good sized bed and a decent bathroom.

The only negative is that the air con is ineffective and if the secondary glazing is opened to get fresh air there is a bit of noise from the railway.

The restaurant is okay and while it won't win any awards, the food is fine.

I've aleady done two weeks and after a break for Easter I'll be back again for 3 nights. I've taken advantage of some very good advance booking rates until the end of May so hopefully they will continue to deliver.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DiscoGaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

How refreshing to be greeted by a local, friendly young man on Reception when we arrived. He was very helpful and even offered to print off directions to Harry Potter World if we needed. We stayed for two nights and the staff were always smiling and genuinely helpful. The hotel was perfectly clean and we thought our family room was a generous size. The room was very warm during the night and unfortunately we couldn't lower the air conditioning control to make a great difference. Our room was at the end of a corridor in a quiet area and the staff on reception had thought out which rooms would be best suited for families. Altogether a great stay with secure parking on site and outstanding staff, cleanliness and 5 minute walk into Brentwood High Street certainly made our trip. Our daughters were very excited to bump into Joey Essex and Sam Faiers in Minnies Boutique which made their trip to Essex complete!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACole929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Enjoyed our stayed at premier Inn, good location, close to the transport links.
Decent breakfast and evening menu..
Rooms are clean and not at all noisey.
Comfortable beds and a decent t size room.
Would stay again if we were around.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed recently at this hotel and had the most amazing stay, very friendly staff and lovely comfortable room.
The staff were there for you 24 hours, the restaurant/bar experience was amazing. The hotel was in a prime location, it is walking distance to all amenities and bars, one of the best hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I requested a high floor room and away from the lifts as I am a light sleeper. And this is exactly what I got. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, Posters in the corridors are constantly reminding you that you are in a quiet zone and to be quiet. The beds are comfty and the card access to the lifts make you feel secure. Overall for a budget hotel I am very impressed and when you can book early for £29 ....its an absolute bargain!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I never write reviews, but i promised the staff i would. Some of the previous reviews had put me off the hotel. So i wasn't looking forward to our stay. Two adults & two teenagers on a TOWIE trip..what an excellent location this hotel is in Brentwood. Rooms are spacious & spotless, we had a family room on the 9th floor with fantastic views. Breakfast fantastic and the restaurant was modern & so clean. Parking is free and on the doorstep. All the staff including restaurant and reception staff are so helpful, they printed out other routes we needed for our 'tour'. The price was excellent value! My only gripe..not for us but for the hotel itself is that the outside is very dark and doesnt do the hotel itself justice..i would have probably drove past if i hadnt already booked it. My advice would be a bit more greenery, hanging baskets, maybe some lights just to make the entrance more welcoming :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annabelle M, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review on your stay here at Premier Inn Brentwood, and your amazing 5* star rating. I was pleased to that read you enjoyed the all-you-can-eat Premier Breakfast with us, as well as the view from the room - and I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the staff on site - they really appreciate positive feedback from our guests. I will be sure to pass your comments about our external entrance onto our onsite Maintence team. Thanks again, and I hope we get the chance to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
0.9 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.8 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone (Allington) Hotel
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
Address: 169 Kings Road, Brentwood CM14 4EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect spot for a weekend break or a spot of shopping, a short hop from the train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel Brentwood
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing