We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy Fish at its very best”
Review of Alec's Restaurant

Alec's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 159 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoy Fish at its very best”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Alec's Restaurant is located in the lovely hamlet of Navestock Side, opposite the cricket green which is reputed to be the oldest cricket green in the UK. The service is second to none, the food is beautifully presented and the views from the restaurant are stunning. You can watch the sun set in the distance while enjoying superb food in a relaxed atmosphere. It can be quite expensive if one gets carried away with the wine - but hey this I a restaurant for a special occasion - so enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieAnn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    212
    97
    35
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Dining oasis in the Essex countryside”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Heard much about Alec's so there was great expectation as we entered this once cosy pub. This it is certainly not now; blown away by a spacious, airy and delightfully decorated dining room. Wonderfully attentive staff and delicious food. A total delight.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A restaurant to get dressed up for. Been many times and never disappointed. The food is always fresh and well cooked. The decor is modern but welcoming with plenty of waiters around. Valentines day meal was very good value with a band playing in the background. I would recommend this restaurant to everybody

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lucydogKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality Food = Quality Prices”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Wall to Wall Fake Tan & Essex Bling here, but if you don't mind that and want to experience excellent Fine Dining then this is the place. As others have mentioned it is quite noisy but I think this adds to the atmosphere, also as others have mentioned they do try and hurry you along, however, a quiet word in the ear of one of our most delightful servers soon put paid to that, then things progressed at a more leisurely pace, leaving us to enjoy the Magnificent Fare on offer...but be aware this place isn't cheap, be prepared to spend serious money here, four of us went through the card leaving us with a bill just shy of £300.00. This was our first time here, but would we go back?...you bet, Alec, you have secured your place as one of our favourite restaurants in Essex...despite the Bling!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRockHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely food but very rushed!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Alecs recently and found it to be a very nice restaurant,the chef is obviously extremely talented as everything was delicious but we felt that the service was very rushed. We had 3 courses each,my baked cod was stand out for me but it was all very very tasty! We were only seated for a little over an hour by which time every course had been served and eaten. There was an ok atmosphere and all the staff were polite and helpful,we weren't 'rushed' exactly but every course seemed to arrive minutes after the previous was cleared. It was a lovely meal just not especially relaxing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Bahh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alec's Restaurant also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Alec's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing