We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax so that we can.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alec's Restaurant

Alec's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 157 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relax so that we can.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I've been to Alex several times now the food, ambience, comfort and the setting of this restaurant is excellent. This is a true destination restaurant you go out of your way to get there, but its not a relaxing dining experience.

Great service should be almost invisible but there is an intensity that takes away from what should be a relaxed comfortable night out. There is a lot of hovering from the staff with the management keenly watching them. This in itself is not a problem until the hovering becomes over active and intrusive.

For example we ordered a bottle of sparkling water and a bottle of Sancerre. Just about every two sips someone appeared with the bottle to top up the glass. I understand restaurants want to push wine sales as its great revenue source but the whole experience just felt rushed and intrusive. Leaving the bottle of wine at the table may solve this problem and only interrupt to top up the glass from time to time leaving the customer mainly in control of the wine flow.

Our young male waiter was also a bit over enthusiastic and chatty. I appreciate good service but there is a line between good professional friendly service and an over familiar service that also appeared a little forced or directed.

This restaurant has lots going for it, the food is really great and there is a good wine list and the setting is perfect, but slow down relax more and remember sometimes for the customer "less is more".

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank amac-brentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    207
    90
    33
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent food, shame about Clientele”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Lovely location, stunning food, excellent service all marred by the other diners around me. Sorry, I am not really into TOWIE and I should have realised as this is only 15 mins from Brentwood High Street. Not my scene at all, but loved the food which is probably the best food for miles around. I'm told its quieter and less 'Essex' at lunch times mid-week. If you want to TOWIE watch then go on a Friday or Saturday night and enjoy the spectacle. Hopefully the owners will do well in this location and they will open elsewhere, further from TOWIE land, and then we less brash Essex girls can enjoy a civilised night out, away from the orange-skinned brigade.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jarfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chigwell England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We eat here a couple of weeks ago. Expensive (we had gift vouchers) from Christmas from my son and wife. Lovely food excellent service. Very good for a special event. You must book on a Saturday. Eat at 1830hrs restaurant was full!!! 2 courses drinks coffee £100. Very good but we still prefer the Blue Boar in Abridge.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Essexy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Shown to table no fuss, not sure if it was busy as faced the wall all night, Razor clams for starters massacred in garlic, Wife had Japanese prawns said they were nice. Had monkfish for main, again soaked in sauce and the portion was so small in 3 fork falls and it was gone! Wife had dover sole which was tasty and of good size. If the fish is fresh the taste will speak for itself you don't need to cover it in sauce. The dish comes without anything, everything is extra. Chips taste like oven chips, but the spinach was excellent. The service was very good, but as its over £50 per head without drink food should be better and bigger.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HOLYMOLEYBATMAN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for a special occasion !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

If u don't mind paying a bit more then this is the best restaurant in this area to go for a top class night out, lovely restaurant , top class food and service but u do pay for it !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunner140000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alec's Restaurant also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Alec's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing