We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite civilized in the middle of nowhere.”
Review of Alec's Restaurant

Alec's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 159 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
173 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Quite civilized in the middle of nowhere.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when friends asked us to join them at Alec's. It appeared in the midst of a pastoral countryside and then we were escorted into a rather nice dining room. You could dine outside, but we opted for the inside. The service was second to none and the food was simply delicious. I would have expected the service and food to be in an establishment in the center of London or New York City, but here it was in Brentwood. I had the cod which was superbly prepared and presented. Would we return? Without hesitation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChathamTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    210
    94
    33
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“terrible service”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I cannot believe the appalling service and customer service received yesterday (Sunday) a reservation was booked for 9 people for a 50th Birthday at 3.45pm
Firstly we arrived and told the table was not ready so we was asked to sit and wait, we ordered a drink and told we could not pay for the drinks but must go on tab arguing with a 78 year old who insisted and was eventually was allowed to pay.
We was then taken to the table which turned out to be two tables apart from one another, we was not happy about this and the staff was VERY rude to all the family saying the manager does not allow the table to be moved and that the kitchen would not cope with a table of 9 they also told my daughter who is 36 weeks pregnant that they did not care about our event and was not bothered if we stayed or go.
We went and can only praise a restaurant called the Masons in Brentwood who after a telephone conversation from my daughter put on a table for 9 even through the was busy and made us feel special and appreciated our custom.
In today’s climate you would think the restaurant would want to retain customers not send them away but they are the ones losing with us returning to the Mason’s having booked out the restaurant for another occasion.
I know I will not get a reply or comment to this as I see that Alec’s thinks that it is to good t5o reply to any comments good or bad

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
25 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK - East London/Essex Border
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Should be high on anyones list”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Can't believe I haven't reviewed before having eaten here a dozen or so times in last two years.
Simply put, if you enjoy good food, especially seafood, if you like attentive service and well spaced tables in a modern interior space then Alec's takes a lot of beating.
Sure there will be some negative reviews because everyone has different criteria, granted some of the portion sizes may appear small, and the décor is not to everyone's taste but each to their own. The set lunch menu is very good value for money, I have no reservations in singing the praises of the fish soup!. If you're not a fish or seafood lover then the steak is always cooked well.
If you want a dish cooked sans sauce or an element omitted, want more bread then simply ask.
Service is invariably timely, friendly and efficient.
You need to travel a far distance to do better

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ancient_Briton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch last week and I can only describe the whole experience as faultless. Beautiful surroundings, relaxed atmosphere with very friendly staff. And thankfully not the tango-tan-fest some other reviewers described! As for the food, just sublime. I can't recommend the seafood thermidor enough. Yes it's pricey, but that's why it's so damn good!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruairí Ó
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This really was a wonderful lunch, starters, mains,and sweet were all delicious. Staff were very attentive and the setting of the restaurant is good with plenty of parking space and nice views over the surrounding farmland. My only complaint would be the fish ( Skate ) that two of us had was the smallest piece of Skate I have ever had ( wing and middle ) I suppose that is the difference in price between the lunch menu and the a la carte.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ken b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alec's Restaurant also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Alec's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing