We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful as always”
Review of Alec's Restaurant

Alec's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 159 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful as always”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We had a really easy breezy lovely lunch with friends over the bank holiday. Fabulous food, champagne cocktails and all service very discreet and very efficient. Our friends from Italy who are very discerning and sniffy about restaurants if there's any hint of bad service thought it was fabulous and want to come back again next time they're with us. Only downside is the loo is up a twisty twisty staircase and a long way away so you have to prepare yourself and your heels!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    210
    96
    34
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Alecs”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

set off with high expectations and wasn't disappointed, service,food and atmosphere first class.

Everthing was as it should be, Prawns were fantastic as was the wine. Not a place you can afford every week but worth it on special occasions.

Thank You

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“4th visit, 2nd review - this is a first class restaurant”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Last visit on Bank Holiday weekend for Sunday lunch on a table for 5.

Usual warm welcome, immaculately laid table and very good attentive service. What's very clear to me on all my visits is the level of staff training that goes on and on this visit the attention to detail and good observation by the staff proves it works and made you feel very relaxed knowing that someone was on hand very quickly if you needed anything.

The food!

From my own perspective - the starter was just brilliant - highly recommend the white crab meat, prawns and avocado. My choice of main might sound a bit pub lunch, but this was the best scampi I've ever tasted. Freshly cooked in a vet light batter with a homemade crunchy tartre source - delicious. Enough of the poetry, all of us enjoyed our food immensely. Another really good point was that the wait between courses was just right, no too long and not to quick, just another sign of a well managed restaurant.

Wine list and quality very reasonable. all at about £40 a head - you get what you pay for, has to be 5 stars!

Can't wait to go back in a couple of weeks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BOB O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is well worth a visit, food is excellent, service could not be faulted, seafood Thermidor was great, will definitely be returning

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KGD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a lovely meal here on Saturday and I couldn't fault the food or service one bit. Upon arrival our table was ready. The restaurant was busy and had a lovely feel - everybody seemed to be enjoying themselves. Our waitress was attentive and gave great recommendations on food choices.

The portions are quite large, so be aware when ordering sides - don't order too many!!

There's a great wine list (in my opinion anyway!), they had my favourite white followed by my favourite desert wine so I was very pleased. We shared a desert which was ample in size. Our meal for a bottle of wine, water, desert wine (glass), 2 starters, 2 mains, 3 sides and a desert was a very reasonable £130.

We're really looking forward to returning as some point soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToxicV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alec's Restaurant also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Alec's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing