We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”

Joy Fook Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #131 of 158 Restaurants in Brentwood
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Good food, great selection, restaurant located in a relaxing and beautiful location. Tasty yet healthier choice of not having your food drowned with MSG, sugar and salt. Definitely would recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Moy Ling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    42
    32
    35
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I gave a fairly poor review of this restaurant in January, but having tried it again this week I am happy to report a marked improvement. The quality of the food on offer was certainly back to its previously high standard. I found no fault with the service either, contrary to some other reviewers, and overall would rate this a good value for money venue. Some reviewers have criticised the decor, but again I do not find this justified. I would add that I do not go on disco nights (Friday and Saturday), where there is a help yourself buffet. It's actually cheaper on other nights, with waiter service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 135StephenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“immigration raid”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We visited on Friday 9th of May. On arrival we were greeted by immigration and asked to wait outside in our cars. When we were finally allowed in and showed to our table we were offered no apology or complimentary drinks. Meanwhile, immigration enforcement officers we still fingerprinting, searching and hand cuffing the illegal staff members in the middle of the restaurant? We waited yet longer without any staff approaching us for our drinks order let alone food. After some time it became clear that no food had even been cooked yet. WE LEFT....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“JOY FOOK !”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Food was lovely great selection , staff were friendly and helpful . Waitress spilt my drink , i complained to the other waiter and it was replaced swiftly . Food was hot and freshly cooked and tasted great . Dj could be a bit better!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrendous”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Staff ruder than rude! Food colder than cold... Dance floor empty! All in all rubbish restaurant! Not at all how I remember it back in the day! Will never come back! Gross!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joy Fook Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Joy Fook Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing