We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Undaal - CLOSED

Undaal
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This restaurant is well hidden in a small side street and is unimpressive from the outside but the inside is quite contemporary and has a nice relaxed atmosphere.
My partner wanted to try some of the rare meats (kangaroo, springbox etc) and Wagyu beef that they advertise, however, they did have any of this in stock when he inquired so he was very disappointed. The staff were all pleasant enough and made us feel welcome.
When the meal came they had missed one portion of rice of our order. The prices were reasonable but not sure if id go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susieholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul H, Guest Relations Manager at Undaal, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Hello Susie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, i am glad the atomosphere, inside decor and staff were to your liking... though I am sorry to hear that there were some minor issues on this occasion of no wild meats instock, i apologies for this due to a good xmas bookings our stock went fast and the supplier could not keep up! really sorry on this occassion. I hope you do visit us again and please say hello

Can you kindly contact us at: undaal@hotmail.co.uk so we can discuss further?

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Haadi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    2
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best by far...”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

After being a fan of another Indian restaurant for many years, stumbled upon Undaal by chance. Have never been anywhere else since.
From the first time of going in the staff are friendly and welcoming. Have even on occasion popped in to say hello when passing.
I have tried a different dish each time in dining and have eaten there with friends who all agree the food and service is excellent.
As mentioned in one review, don't be put off if sometimes it is not full - the welcome is second to none...

Helpful?
Thank Declan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul H, Guest Relations Manager at Undaal, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Hi Declan, Thank you for the wonderful review, we love the idea of of guest poping to say hello we like to call our guest friends and its a nice gesture. I am glad you have been enjoying the food and service with your friends and love coming back its our reward for the hard work team Undaal do 6 days a week.


Thank you
Undaal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“undall”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Discovered this great contempery styled restuarant just off the high st (nice to eat in a quite location without pass byers peering in). great menu varing from good old favorites, through to special dishes inc exotic meats! was lucky to be greeted by the owner, lovely guy who explained some of the specials, have returned many times, also had the sunday buffet, resonable price and still great food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul H, Guest Relations Manager at Undaal, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Hello Clifford,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We make an effort to please our guest and we are very grateful you have taken the time to share it with others. We happy to see u and serve you often it is a pleasure. Yes Ray loves his guest and spends time to explain and suggest our special menu.
Thank you for pointing out our buffet which one of the best in essex.


Thank you
Undaal Brentwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in Brentwood”
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

I've lived in Brentwood for over 10 years now and the Undaal has fast become our favourite restaurant, I go with my girlfriend and friends, we all have the same opinion.

Since opening it's been our Indian of choice, offering a menu and service head and shoulders above others in Brentwood. The staff are friendly and courteous and if you get the chance to speak to the owner/manager, he's a lovely man and will guide you easily through the menu and help you choose something even if you're spoilt for choices.

An all round great place to eat, it often seems quiet in the week, don't let that put you off!!

Helpful?
Thank joelsatterley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul H, Guest Relations Manager at Undaal, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Hello Joel,

Thank you for the lovely comments and we very happy to serve you often and being your choice for indian in Brentwood. I will pass your comments to Ray and the team.

Thank you

Undaal Brentwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Top quality!”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We have just recently moved to the area and this was the second Indian restaurant we have tried in the area. It is by far the best out of the two we havetried and one of the best Indian restaurants I have been to. The service was 5*, the food was a very pleasant surprise and the presentation was particularly impressive! Will definitely be back and very pleased to hear they do delivery service as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdul H, Guest Relations Manager at Undaal, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Hello Hannah,
Thank you for pointing out the best of Undaal the whole team at Undaal makes an extra effort to make sure all our guests are looked after and treated to 5* service and food, it is great to see it pays off. We hope to see you back very soon.


Thank you

Undaal Brentwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Undaal also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing