We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed family meal”

Toby Carvery Brentwood
Ranked #41 of 157 Restaurants in Brentwood
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Brentwood's favourite carvery restaurant.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed family meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Have been to Toby carvery many times, mostly the Thomas Kemble at Wickford, and we have never been disappointed. This was our second visit to the Artichoke and what a disappointment. Our first time there it was ok and I thought perhaps it was just a one off but after yesterday's visit we won't be going back. We arrived with our 8 year old grandson who usually tucks into his Toby meal with relish. We were told whilst we were queuing that if we wanted turkey it would be another 25 mins, people had to ask for potatoes because they hadn't put fresh out. Mash potato tasted very strange. Not up to the Toby usual standard.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Brentwood, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
We are very sorry to hear that the recent visit you had at Toby Brentwood was not as good as you would have expected. We want all our guests to be satisfied and we always welcome your feedback. We have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    134
    103
    51
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Roast dinner as it says on the tin (nothing special!)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

As carveries go this was not special but as the only one in the area it is very busy. If another opened I think people would go there!

The queue for food was far too long, people were complaining about the length of time we were waiting, circa 15-20 minutes in the snake style queuing system. By the time you get there hunger had built up.

I asked for a bit of each meat- beef, turkey, gammon and pork. The portions of meat were tiny and it appears they only offered certain people sausages which were kept hidden! The choice of veg was minimal- peas, sweetcorn, cauliflower cheese, broccoli, butternut squash, carrots, roast and mashed potatoes. I've been to a fair few carveries and this was the smallest choice ever seen.

All the waitresses seemed to be extremely busy at all times, out of courtesy it would have been nice if we were asked if everything was ok or if we needed any drinks, especially as we sat near the waitress' station. We had to keep asking them for things, even to clear our plates away and for dessert menus!

So overall very average food nothing to write home about and the service was non-existent.

Would not rush to come back there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Brentwood, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit. We have replied to you personally as all the feedback we receive helps us to improve our service and we assure you we will pay attention to your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some Poor quality food and NOT value for money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Ok, from the beginning. Seated at a table. Myself and my three boys decided we didn't want the carvery, just order from the menu. Waited half an hour. Went to see the floor manager as I was beginning to think we might have to pay at the bar (my first time visit). Answer no and member of staff served us (he hadn't seen us apparently). Ordered prawn cocktail x 3 and sweet potato soup, soup was reported as good but the prawn cocktails were from the 1980's. Better described as a lettuce cocktail with prawn sauce as most of the prawns were AWOL. At twelve pounds for three starters I reckoned each shrimp was about thirty pence. Onto the main. 1 x chicken breast salad, that had to be slices of Turkey as they had no chicken breast!!! 3 x pork and stuffing naps which were renamed on inspection as a stuffing bap with two thin layers of pork that weren't even visible from the outside. We compared the menu picture and it may as well been an omelette it was so different. Meal accompaniment roast potatoes and a Yorkshire pudding. This is an honest comment, the meals were like they had been made up of the leftovers from the carvery. Why didn't I complain? We waited about 45 minutes to get three prawn cocktails and soup( the restaurant wasn't full) and then another 20 for three baps with stuffing. The waiter was fairly much incompetent and in his own world (bearing in mind that 80% of the trade is to serve themselves at the buffet) and for any place that thinks it's ok to serve 'rip off' food would not even understand what the problem was or be interested in what I have to say. When I say rip off, I mean because they give you the least of amount of thinly sliced meat as they can get away with and load the plates up with potato and Yorkshire and veg. I would gladly pay extra if I was getting what was displayed on the menu. Never again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Brentwood, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
We appreciate your feedback following your visit last month to us in Brentwood. It certainly sounds as if we need to know more about this. We've requested some further details via personal email from you if you could look out for our message. Many thanks and our apologies for the issues experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Going down quicker than a lift in the Burj Khalifa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

It pains me to make this review but as the title suggests there are massive problems in the kitchen. Yes we know key members have staff have gone however remember all those Toby adverts on how to cook meat, roast potatoes and cook Yorkshire Puds . How about following the instructions !. This was our third visit in three weeks and to bluntly honest its not improving in fact its getting worse. To make things even worse the lad carving the meat looks like he is using a cheese grater, by close of business the amount of shredded meat in heaps on the carving deck which remained uncleaned all evening would have plated 50 dinners. The Cayenne pepper dusting on the Cauliflower cheese was thicker than the Tarmac on a lot of dodgy driveways. I could go on. I feel so sorry the waiteress/ waiters that we have know for many years who bare the brunt of the customers complaints and last night the amount of food left on plates was unbelievable.
Stop being so complacent and sort this problem now before the free fall turns into a crash

Helpful?
1 Thank fredEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've visited this Toby Carvery a number of times and have always been impressed with the meals. Staff always welcoming and helpful. Excellent breakfasts and roast dinners. Amazingly the choice and quality of vegetables was as good as the roasts. Great value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCGandCoLt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Brentwood, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - we're delighted to hear how much you enjoy your visits to us. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Brentwood also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Toby Carvery Brentwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing