We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST INDIAN IN BRENTWOOD!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Headley Spice

The Headley Spice
Ranked #21 of 156 Restaurants in Brentwood
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“THE BEST INDIAN IN BRENTWOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great food, excellent prices, very good service and a great decor. This is by far the best Indian restaurant in the Brentwood area and never been disappointed. Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    79
    27
    15
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Style over substance!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I've been to the Headley a couple of times now, once when it opened a couple of years back & again a month out so ago.

First off, unusually for a lot of Indian (read Bangladeshi) restaurants, they have got the decor spot on! On our first visit, the place was coming perilously close to gauche in the decoration but they seem to have pulled that around & there is a nice "grown up" vibe.

OK, the food. I & three others started with "crab cakes." They were warm on one side, cold on the other & FROZEN in the middle. As our host had made a big thing about coming to this particular establishment I didn't say anything until the others chipped in about it. The lamb I then had was dry to the point of destruction as if it had been reheated. As for the rest, bog standard if not slightly below Indian fare. Usual range of generic sauces all done with little imagination, flair or care.

As a cabbie of 15 years in Brentwood I am consistently amazed how supposedly sophisticated people are taken in by truly abysmal food. I take enough people up to the restaurant so if must have something going for if but based on both my experiences I am genuinely at a loss to know what it is!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 98Pup100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Had a great evening. Had looked up reviews and was not sure what it would be like but food was great and service was excellent. The best service I have ever had in any restaurant very friendly. Will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Canary14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Try it to believe it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lovely food, beautiful decor especially the water feature. I will highly recommend it for all curry lovers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lovely ambience and really good food and friendly helpful service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

lovely setting - a pub well converted into a modern design with interesting water enclosed murals
in the background which are really restful as they float up and down. village pond outside and the common to the front. food is excellent and now we and the family all use it as our first choice restaurant. In Brentwood and Warley and Essex there are many indian restaurants,but the Headley Spice is a real class above the rest. i do recommend it .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Headley Spice also viewed

Brentwood, Essex
 
Brentwood, Essex
 
Brentwood, Essex
Brentwood, Essex
 

Been to The Headley Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing