We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great but at least the beer was cold”
Review of Hutton Junction

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hutton Junction
Ranked #63 of 159 Restaurants in Brentwood
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not great but at least the beer was cold”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Have been in and out of this Pub over the years with a few owners / managers. Went there for an evening and decided to have a try of the menu. I had tasty sounding Chick n Mushroom Pie and the GF had Salmon. The pie was soggy to say the least, not what I expected and little disappointed. I opened a tab behind the bar with a card and when it came to pay, I quickly checked the bill and noticed that additional drinks had been added. I pointed this out to the barmaid who never checked anything but just refunded me in cash for the 2 drinks. Never questioned me at all or checked. Mistake? maybe?
Will not rush back..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great local!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We love this place, the food is good and well priced, and we regularly head there after work for a drink and a bite to eat. The staff are friendly enough towards us now having visited many times, but it's not the friendliest of places which is a shame as that's my top wish from a local.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleEater01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great home cooked food.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We went there on the advice of our guest. We will be going back. The staff were very friendly and attentive - definitely not over zealous. The food was delicious and with pastry like that it has to be homemade and is certainly not microwaved! It is not "cheap" pub food by any means. The menu is extensive and there is plenty of choice. There was also a specials board which had a good selection.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kfowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely pub, lovely atmosphere lovely place”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Been here many times, food hit and miss, bar staff sometimes over zealous but interested in you and what you like , I live in Brentwood but chose to come here very time

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachelvicstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very poor quality microwave food”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Poor quality microwave and fryer food , which is ok I guess if its cheap but its not , service v poor and atmosphere very cold

Helpful?
2 Thank Shenfieldeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hutton Junction also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Hutton Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing