We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected the worst, received the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expected the worst, received the best.”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My friend and I stayed here for two nights at the end of April. We came all the way down from Edinburgh and we had checked the reviews after we had booked. We were extremely apprehensive and were expecting the worst due to the previous reviews. We arrived too early for check in and the receptionist informed us that had this been any other night she could have let us in but the hotel had been fully booked the previous evening. She was very helpful and felt that she did our best for us.

Upon arrival, the hotel lobby was clean and very modern with most of the guests appearing to be business people. Our second floor room was very spacious with a huge double bed. The television was a flat screen, bigger and better than we had seen in any other hotel. The bathroom was clean and the shower was brilliant. I cannot fault our room in any way. We were very happy with the price we paid and would DEFINITELY recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest
I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. Comments like yours are always very much appreciated especially since our main aim is to provide our guests with the highest level of guest care and comfort. I am pleased we succeeded in doing this and I like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Yours sincerely
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    183
    151
    75
    73
See reviews for
93
93
27
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portsmoouth UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed here last weekend as had a family wedding to attend in town. Managed to get our room early as had to be at wedding by 1230. They were very helpful in doing this (thank you Jessica)
Bar service was very slow but only one person on.
Room was comfortable. Tea coffee provided. Towels, soap, bath soak, shampoo.
Breakfast was lovely.
All in all a short stay and only in the hotel for around 8 hours as wedding on until 230 am. We paid 105 for the night including buffet breakfast which I thought was expensive but it did what we needed. No problems with any noise at night as people have mentioned. We were on the second floor. The security in the evening on the door were very thorough although they took ages to find our name on the list and it was freezing and raining hard!
Would definitely return

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that Jessica was able to allocate you a room early on arrival. All your other comments are also much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future. Kind regards.
Joost van spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I have stayed here before and stupidly decided to try again in April 2012. Arrived with my "guaranteed and hold for late arrival" reservation at around 10.00pm. I was informed that on that very day there had been a catastrophic "system collapse" and that there was no room for me! A room was available at Holiday Inn in Basildon! Having driven 140 miles in pouring rain I was not pleased and said so. I was offered a free drink! I replied that I would love a drink but I had to drive to Basildon!

What really annoys me is the patronising rubbish the desk guy come out with. "System collapse" - I think not! Dare I suggest a policy of overbooking predicated on the "some don't turn up" philosophy?

Holiday Inn proudly display that they are a partner hotel for the Olympics. If they cannot handle routine business on a midweek evening in April then how on earth are they going to cope during the Olympics?

Room Tip: Stay at Marygreen Manor or Premier Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1neilmckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,
I apologise most sincerely that a computer system error left us in the most unfortunate situation of not having enough rooms available for all arriving guests. As a result we were given no alternative but to make arrangements for some of our guests to stay at our sister Hotel in Basildon. I fully appreciate that this was most inconvenient, especially since you had already driven a long distance prior to your arrival at the hotel. I notice that you have stayed at the hotel previously. Should you visit the area again at some stage in the future may I kindly ask you to contact me directly so I can personally handle and oversee your requirements in an attempt to restore your confidence in the Hotel. Once again please accept my apologies for this isolated and regrettable incident.
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brentwood hotels

Show Prices
Felixstowe
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We could not fault the help and assistance that we were given from our first contact with the Events Co-ordinator to the time that we left on the Sunday after the Wedding celebrations . The staff helped the event to run exceptionally smoothly for the pre wedding drinks to the serving of our meal to cutting the cake and stting up for an evening of celebration . Courteous bar stafff helped to make a great day and we were not hurried out at the late hour of finnishing. So if you want to enjoy your daughter`s or son`s wedding I`d seriously recomend Brentwood Holiday Innand their team.

Room Tip: Rooms oawy from A12 are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenthegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear parents of the bride,
I am delighted to read your daughter’s wedding was such a great success. I very much appreciate your positive acknowledgement of our venue and indeed your praise for the service extended by my Team. We were delighted to host the wedding and I would like to thank you for having chosen the Holiday Inn Brentwood in the very first instance.
With my very best regards
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

When we arrived booking a hotel room for 3 of us girls, going out to the famous Sugar Hut, they said we hadn't made the booking for 3 and suddenly doubled the price, but after my friend got quite angry, they miraculously just changed the price again to the original?!!

The breakfast buffett is extremely overpriced!!! £15 a head and that doesnt even include hot chocolate, which you have to pay EXTRA for. The food was nice, but there is no way a small bowl of packet cereal and 2 eggs on toast is worth £15. Ridiculous.

However, parking is free, the staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable and clean.

There is security on the door at night to prevent groups of youths coming in at all hours.

The sofa bed was comfortable and they provided us robes on request.

I would stay here again, but I would double confirm the price in WRITING and pack my own breakfast. Also no herbal teas in rooms, so take your own.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffycloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for selecting to stay at the Holiday Inn Brentwood. Having been able to investigate the issue surrounding your reservation it appears that the discrepancy on your rate was caused by an administrational error. We will always honour the room rate anyone books with us and I am glad this was resolved at an early stage. I am delighted you otherwise enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and our rooms to be clean and comfortable.
Kind regards
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Oh my days, what can I say - my husband and I booked to stay here for one night, as we drove down to see family who live in the area and there was not enough room in their house so we voluntered to stay here, when arrived we where greeted by a red carpet with a group of youths drinking and smoking in the door way we navigated past them to the entrance - then when were greeted by the smell it was just unbearable, we were given our room card to a room on the ground floor overlooking the car park, on arrival into the room the smell was just horrific it was a damp, musty smell we never even put our bags down we left and slept on the floor at my family members house anything but stay there..
We did complain when we got home - but, never had a response back..

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Donna
Whilst I am naturally very sorry your arrival experience at the Hotel was not to the Hotels’ usual high standards I must express my disappointment that you only post your review now, some 8 MONTHS LATER! It is impossible to either investigate or comment on your experience at this late stage. Please note that today we certainly have no rooms in the hotel that smell of damp. In regards to other visitors to the Hotel smoking outside I would like to reassure you we will always try to minimise the disruption this causes to any one else visiting the hotel by asking smokers to move away from the immediate hotel entrance.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here with some friends after a night out at the sugat hut. It was fine for what we required however I wouldn't suggest staying here if you want a good nights sleep as its full of youngsters and so quite noisy! It seemed quite expensive too as we didn't even get breakfast included for the price of £90 for one night!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyh0lidays44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brentwood
1.7 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
960 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Brentwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon
8.5 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brentwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brentwood

Property: Holiday Inn Brentwood
Address: Brook Street | M25, Jct 28, Brentwood CM14 5NF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Borough of Brentwood > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brentwood 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Brentwood is located just off junction 28 of the M25 and only 1 mile away from Ford Motor Company in Warley, and 0.5 miles from British Telecom offices. Holiday Inn Brentwood is 15 minutes from Lakeside Shopping Centre, 25 minutes from Stansted Airport, 40 minutes from Central London and is the perfect choice for business and leisure travellers alike staying in and around Essex. At the Holiday Inn Brentwood all guest rooms have air conditioning and are non-smoking. Offering a choice of standard and executive bedrooms as well as Family and 2 Accessible Bedrooms. High Speed internet access is available in guest rooms, lounge and The Academy. We offer a la carte dining in our restaurant, 24 hour room service or bar snacks. Unwind after a hard days work in our fully equipped health club, including beauty and fitness facilities, indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Holiday Inn Brentwood is a popular venue for meetings and events and can accommodate a variety of functions in The Academy which can cater for 120 people theatre style, and offers breakout facilties. Events over the forthcoming months close to us:May - Southend Air ShowFree Car Parking available. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and conditions apply. Restaurant Closed on Sundays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Brentwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brentwood Hotel Brentwood
Brentwood Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brentwood Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing